All The Books I Can Read

1 girl….2 many books!

April Reading Wrap Up

on May 1, 2024

Total Books Read: 16
Fiction: 14
Non-Fiction: 2
Library Books: 8
Books On My TBR List: 7
Books in a Series: 5
Authors I’d Never Read Before: 4
Male/Female Authors: 
1.5/14.5 (one book by a M/F pairing)
Kindle Books: 5
Audiobooks: 1
Books I Owned or Bought: 6
Favourite Book(s): The Grazier’s Son by Cathryn Hein & The Love Hypothesis by Ali Hazelwood (re-read)
Least Favourite Books: Do Your Worst by Rosie Dana & Butcher & Blackbird by Brynne Weaver (which was a DNF)
Books That Qualify For Challenges: 3

As I expected, April was definitely a slower reading month, for a couple of reasons. Firstly things started getting pretty busy with uni, I had several assignments to submit this month and a lot of reading to do for both of those which meant that I felt less like reading for pleasure. Secondly we also had a wedding in the family – one of my stepdaughters got married midway-ish through the month and we had a few days where we had to prep for that, spending time getting outfits, my husband also cooked for some of the reception, etc. It was a lovely wedding, we all had a wonderful time. But I definitely did noticeably less reading this month. To be honest I only “read” 14 books – one of the books I finished in April was an audiobook and one book I DNF’d although it ends up getting counted in my stats. May is actually the finish of the uni semester (it always goes so fast!) so I have 2x 2500 word final essays and one other 1000 word assessment all due this month. So to be honest, I don’t expect a lot of reading to happen in May either. I’ve actually returned a lot of my library books in anticipation of the fact that I probably just won’t be able to get to them. I am listening to another audiobook at the moment but I’ve only listened to about a third of it so it won’t be finished until probably the end of the first week in May.

I feel like it was a good mix of reading this month – 8 library books, 8 non-library books, 5 ebooks, 1 audio and the rest print. Some were ARCs, some I owned. I also completed my 3 April TBR Jar prompts: read a book beginning with D – Do Your Worst by Rosie Danan. Unfortunately this one wasn’t for me, but I did finish it. Read a book by a favourite author – this was fortuitous because one of my favourite authors, Cathryn Hein, had her first new book out in quite a while in April so I picked that one, The Grazier’s Son and it ended up being my favourite read of the month. The 3rd and final prompt was read a book off the display shelf at your local library and I chose A Feather So Black by Lyra Selene from the display shelf at my local branch and well, it has a very pretty cover.

2024 Challenge Check in!

2024 Non Fiction Reading Challenge: 2/6

2024 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge: 9/15

24 in 2024: 6/24

Good progress made in my challenges. I completed 2 books towards my 2024 Non Fiction Reading Challenge, hosted by Shelleyrae @ Book’d Out: Counting The Cost by Jill Duggar and The Life Of Birds by David Attenborough. The latter I listened to on audio (as I like to do with all of Attenborough’s books) because it’s read by the author and he’s just wonderful to listen to. The audio I’m listening to at the moment will also be able to be counted towards that challenge as well. I only read one towards my 24 in 2024 but…..progress is progress! I didn’t read a historical fiction book for this month but I’m comfortably ahead in that challenge.

Onto the May TBR:

Keeping it small this month. Very excited for the new Lisa Ireland novel, that will probably be my first read of May. I do have a few other books, I still have a couple out from the library and there’s a few books from my March and April TBR’s that I didn’t get to that I’d like to find the time for. But I know how much work I’m going to have to do this month and it’s definitely going to have an impact on my reading time so I don’t want to put too much pressure on myself or I’ll end up feeling overwhelmed and read nothing.

And of course, there’s the TBR Jar May prompts! Ideally I’d be able to fit these into books I already have earmarked to read so….let’s see what we get!

Read a a debut novel
Read a book by an author from Western Australia
Read a popular YA fiction novel

Well, it looks like A Letter To The Luminous Deep is a debut novel, so I should be able to count that book for that prompt. I’m sure I have something from a WA author somewhere on my shelf – if nothing else my husband owns a dozen Tim Winton books I’ve never read, he’s from Perth. But I’m sure I have something on my own shelf, somewhere! I just have to do some research. I have a Craig Silvey book on my shelf, I think he’s from WA? I also have My Place and I believe Sally Morgan is also from WA. So I have options in my home and should also be able to knock a book off my specific TBR shelf, which is the point! As for read a popular YA book….I don’t have much unread YA on my shelves. I do have a couple….I’m not sure how popular they’re classed as, haha. I’ll have to see.

Hope you all had a lovely reading April and have some exciting books for May.


2 responses to “April Reading Wrap Up

  1. Susan says:

    I’m impressed that your “slow” reading month included finishing 16 books – in between school and life. Wow!

    Susan

    http://www.blogginboutbooks.com

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.