All The Books I Can Read

1 girl….2 many books!

Top 10 Tuesday 11th July

on July 11, 2023

Hello and welcome to another Top 10 Tuesday! Hosted by Jana @ That Artsy Reader Girl and featuring a different bookish theme each week, I’ve been taking part in this for as long as I can remember. This week we are getting a freebie topic and look, we are halfway through the year. I wanted to take a look at some books I want to read before the end of 2023 – will this help keep me accountable? Not if my seasonal TBR’s are anything to go on but…..let’s do it anyway. Criteria for this one are books that are already on my shelf – not counting anything I haven’t bought yet or that isn’t released. I was supposed to be reading more from my shelves this year but let’s face it, I have FOMO.

Ten Books To Read Before The End Of 2023

Winterkeep by Kristin Cashore.

I loved Graceling, Fire and Bitterblue. I was so happy when I found out that there were going to be more books in this world! This is on my 23 in 2023 challenge list and I really want to make sure I get to this one because there has been another book published since I bought this.

The Winners by Fredrik Backman

Book #3 in the Beartown trilogy. I love books 1&2 so much. This is a big chunkster but that’s not what kind of stops me from picking it up. It’s more the fact that Backman books tend to destroy me emotionally as well. I love them but I tend to bawl my eyes out all the way through them and look, I need to be prepared for that. This is also on my 23 in 2023 challenge list and I’m way behind in that so…..this would also really help.

The Uncaged Sky by Kylie Moore-Gilbert

This is a memoir of an Australian academic who was detained in an Iranian jail on suspicion of being an Israeli spy for….a long time. Ok it says it on the cover. 804 days. I have actually started this but it gave me anxiety, even though I know she survives obviously, she’s now back in Australia. She was released in a prisoner swap. There’s a lot of weird shit, the deeper you go. I want to read this, it is one that would count for two challenges I’m doing this year but once again, I need to be okay with the subject matter.

The Serpent And The Wings Of Night by Carissa Broadbent

Everyone and their mother is reading this or has just finished it at the moment, it seems like. And like I said above, FOMO. I’ve actually read another book set in this world (but with a….different group of vampires I think? There are like 2-3 different groups or something) and it was okay. This is getting a lot of good reports though, especially the romance, although both this book and the next are quite long. Around 600p I think, which I don’t mind if it hooks me in.

Indigo Ridge by Devney Perry

First in a small town, romantic suspense series about a bunch of siblings? I think? I’ve heard some good things and I like an interconnected series. I’d also like to read these on KU before they get yanked off it like pretty much everything else that even gets a whiff of popularity.

The Poisonwood Bible by Barbara Kingsolver

I read Demon Copperhead last year and I’ve also read Kingsolver’s memoir on growing food. We own so many other books of hers and I need to go back and start reading them.

In A Jam by Kate Canterbary

I’ve heard a lot of good things about this book and this author in general. It also seems to have a lot of the tropes I enjoy in romance (marriage of convenience, he falls first, etc). I’ve had it from KU for a while, I need to finally read it!

Along For The Ride by Mimi Grace

I’m not sure why I haven’t read this yet! It seems 100% my jam. A road trip book (love!), enemies to lovers, sign me up. Definitely need to prioritise this.

The Magpie Lord by K.J. Charles

I forget why and when I got this – must’ve read a recommendation somewhere. And it definitely sounds like something I’d love – m/m romance, maybe Victorian times? Magic, evil things. It’s also a series too, so if I like it, there’s more.

Furyborn by Claire LeGrand

I’ve had this one on the TBR shelf for a while and I’d like to read it to see if I like it and want to continue with the series. If not, I’ll donate it. I’m about to do a big cull of my shelves in the coming weeks and I have a few books like this, where I want to read them and see if they’re worth keeping and going on with.

Will I read all of these? Will I read any of these? Who knows?! That’s the beauty of it haha. Hopefully I do get to some of them, just so I can tick some books off my challenges, switch out some KU books and decide if I want to keep some others. If you’ve read any of these, be sure to let me know which ones I should definitely push to the top of my (overflowing) pile.


32 responses to “Top 10 Tuesday 11th July

  1. Rissi JC says:

    Hope you enjoy all of these. It’s always fun to look at the books we still hope to read. 🙂

  2. Hope you love these – and there are a few there I may drop onto my TBR especially The Serpent and the Wings of Night which sounds like it could be fun.
    I decided to go for books set in Rome for my freebie!

    • Everyone really does seem to be loving The Serpent & the Wings of Night and the whole romantic fantasy is really doing it for me atm! Hopefully it’s worth the 1200p investment.

  3. Anne Bennett says:

    I’ve been thinking it is time for a poisonwood Bible reread. Thanks for the reminder.

    • Oh I love when I get inspired to pick up a book for a reread. It doesn’t happen as often anymore, with so many new books but every now and then, the urge is there. Enjoy!

  4. Sue says:

    Ha ha, we all have overflowing piles or downloads of books tbr! In my case I will probably never ever read them all before I drop off the planet! It’s a ‘thing’ & I love it! I haven’t read any of your list but what stood out was ‘The Uncaged Sky’. My kind of book & in my online library. Yay! Great reviews on Apple Books too. Thank you or possibly not!!!!

    • Yeah I’d like to say “I hope you enjoy!” but it doesn’t sound like the sort of book that you read to enjoy – more one you read to understand how things happen in the world and as a….caution for the future, if you were to travel to certain places.

  5. Lexlingua says:

    I picked the same TBR theme for this week’s TTT freebie. And somehow, I totally forgot that I still had to read The Serpent And The Wings Of Night. I liked the first book, though can’t say I expected that ending – so I do want to know what happens next!

  6. Marg says:

    I really liked Along for the Ride! Totally your jam!

  7. lydiaschoch says:

    I hope you love all of them.

    Here is my Top Ten Tuesday post.

  8. I hope you love them! The Poisonwood Bible is on my TBR for this year too.

  9. Aymee says:

    Lots of good ones on your list today! Hope you’re able to read them all before long.

    Here is our Top Ten Tuesday. Thank you!

  10. Jody says:

    Interesting list. For my TTT freebie this week, I posted books I have had on my Kindle forever that I have not read yet. Happy reading, Bree 📚🌞💜

    • One day I’ll have to dive deep into my Kindle and look at the books I’ve had on there as well! They do tend to accumulate and I forget about the ones further down.

  11. I hope you enjoy all of them-when and if you read them!
    My TTT: https://jjbookblog.wordpress.com/2023/07/11/top-ten-tuesday-428/

  12. Susan says:

    I hope you enjoy all these if/when you get to them!

    Happy TTT!

    Susan
    http://www.blogginboutbooks.com

  13. Molly's Book Nook says:

    I keep seeing Teh Serpent and the Wings of Night. I want to read it!

    My TTT: https://www.mollysbooknook.com/top-ten-tuesday-22/

  14. In a Jam was fantastic and I also liked Indigo Ridge. Nice list!

    Here’s my TTT post.

  15. melaxinyi says:

    I just bought and read the indigo ridge! It was a nice easy one.. and.. i just bought along for the ride (it looks like she has other cute looking books too.. have you read any others by her?), and the magpie lord… will be interesting to see how those go
    and no.. i dont have holidays right now.. but.. i need something to force my attention away from the hectic work times!. thanks for sharing this!

  16. melaxinyi says:

    oh dear I just went .. bought and read the second one in that eden series… it is so cute and fun to read through!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.