All The Books I Can Read

1 girl….2 many books!

Top 10 Tuesday 19th July

on July 19, 2022

Hello and welcome back to another Top 10 Tuesday, hosted by Jana @ That Artsy Reader Girl. There’s a different bookish themed topic each week but sometimes we get to do our own topic and today is one of those days! I’m going to keep it simple, hoping that sharing these might give me some help in deciding in which order to read them:

My 10 Newest Additions To My Bookshelf!

Gild by Raven Kennedy

I bought this because there’s so much hype. But I’ve also read that the first book is meh and you’ve just got to push through that because 2&3 are amazing. But I don’t really want to push through “meh” books to start a series just to get to good things, lol. They should all be good! At least these were cheap to buy and the covers are nice.

Furyborn by Claire Legrand

I…honestly don’t know why I threw this into my cart the day I was doing some shopping haha. Maybe it came up in the recommended – I do like the cover though. And I was looking for a new fantasy (new to me, these books aren’t really new) that I could sink my teeth into. So I decided to try this.

Sorcery Of Thorns by Margaret Rogerson

Also not a new one but this is a book I’ve eyed a few times over the years but I finally decided to buy it after hearing someone really rave about it – in fact say it was the best book they’d read in 2022. So hopefully I love it too.

Everyone In My Family Has Killed Someone by Benjamin Stevenson

This sounds like so much fun! I’ve heard some good things – it’s about a family reunion where apparently, all of the attendees have one thing in common, apart from being family and that’s that they’ve all killed someone. I think people start dying at the reunion so….yeah. Hopefully this is great!

The Uncaged Sky: My 804 Days In An Iranian Prison by Kylie Moore-Gilbert

Kylie Moore-Gilbert is an Australian-British academic who was jailed in Iran on an espionage charge. She was released via a prisoner swap in 2020 after 804 days, during which she received psychological torture and solitary confinement. This is bound to be….harrowing. But I’m very interested in reading it.

You Made A Fool Of Death With Your Beauty by Akwaeke Emezi

Heard really good things about this in a lot of different places (podcasts, BookTube, instagram) so I am curious to try it for myself.

Bedtime Story by Chloe Hooper

This interests me for lots of reasons – Hooper is an Australian author of both non-fiction and fiction and I’ve read quite a few of her previous books. This is a sort of memoir in a way, which she wrote when her partner and father of her two young children, was diagnosed with leukaemia. My husband has also been diagnosed with cancer, although a different type, for the first time when our children were 6 and 3 and there were many times when I thought I might have to try and explain the unexplainable to them.

The Widow Of Walcha by Emma Partridge

Non-fiction that I picked up on audiobook after Audible enticed me back with 2 months for 0.99c lol. This is about a woman named Natasha who marries Matthew, a nice country grazier in rural New South Wales (Australia) and within months, he’s signed over his multi-million dollar property into her name. Not long later, he’s dead in an apparent suicide…in an interesting twist, the paramedic first on the scene is the former husband of Natasha…..who she once tried to kill. I’m from NSW although I live in another state now and I remember this case quite well – I like listening to non-fiction on audio, so I got this for when I’m doing computer work and just need something to keep me occupied.

Lessons In Chemistry by Bonnie Garmus

Very excited for this, it looks cute but also different! Sometimes it’s hard to find something that feels fresh.

Every Summer After by Carley Fortune

It’s really cold and quite bleak here at the moment, this is a very summery looking read that might help me feel a little less like this winter will never end! This seems like a second chance lovers story set in a picturesque location – hopefully it delivers all the feels!

And these are the 10 newest books to my shelves…..if you’ve read any, let me know – what should I prioritise? Is there anything there that is must read right now?!


36 responses to “Top 10 Tuesday 19th July

  1. Great list – I have Lessons in Chemistry on my TBR AND I’ve read Sorcery of Thorns – I liked it a lot….it seems we have similar taste, so I’m guessing you’ll enjoy it. A few others I’ve heard of but….I have to draw the line SOMEwhere, right? Right??? 🙂
    here’s me: https://www.bookshelfjourneys.com/post/ttt-evocative-novels-list

    • Glad to see you enjoyed Sorcery of Thorns! Hopefully we both really love Lessons In Chemistry too. Haha I’ve never really been too good at drawing a line although I do try!

  2. Lessons in Chemistry is new on my shelf as well and I can’t wait to read it. Everyone in my family has killed someone can only be an interesting read…

    Happy TTT!

    https://elzareads.com/top-ten-tuesday-the-cat-and-the-fox-terrier/

    • Lots of people super curious and excited about Lessons in Chemistry so I’m hoping that seems to live up to the hype we all have for it! I think Everyone In My Family….. sounds amazing so that is definitely going to be one I pick up really soon.

  3. Emily Jane says:

    These all look interesting so I can understand why you are having trouble, however I want to read Lessons in Chemistry. I will hopefully get it for Christmas ready to read either at the end of the year or at the beginning of next year!

    Have a great week!

    Emily @ Budget Tales Book Blog
    My post:

    Top Ten Tuesday – Storylines/Settings That Make Me Think Of Summer

  4. Rae | HerSerialLife.com says:

    Great list. Nice take on this week’s freebie prompt. I read two of these books (Gild and Sorcery of Thorns) and have You Made A Fool Of Death With Your Beauty on my TBR. I’m also tempted to add Lessons in Chemistry

    Here is my TTT: https://herseriallife.com/top-12-best-sequels-read-2022/

    Have a great week 🌴

  5. lydiaschoch says:

    Bedtime Story sure sounds good. I hope your husband is doing well now.

    My post: https://lydiaschoch.com/top-ten-tuesday-an-outdoor-adventures-reading-list/

  6. Marg says:

    I want to read Lessons in Chemistry!

  7. Sorcery of Thorns was one of the victims of my reading slump in 2021, I was enjoying it but it was just taking me so long to get through, so I put it aside. I’m hoping I’ll be able to finish it this year, because I wasn’t too far from the end.
    My TTT: https://jjbookblog.wordpress.com/2022/07/19/top-ten-tuesday-377/

  8. Great List! I want to pick up Sorcery of Thorns. Here is my post-https://paigesofnovels.wordpress.com/2022/07/19/top-ten-nine-tuesday-a-bookish-dnd-party/.

  9. Aymee says:

    I think I need to read Everyone In My Family Has Killed Someone – that’s such a great title.

    Here is our Top Ten Tuesday. Thank you!

  10. My daughter loved Rogerson’s book. I hope you do, too.

  11. buffywnabe says:

    Great choice of topic! I did read and enjoy Furyborn, need to read on in the series though. Great picks!
    https://lisalovesliterature.bookblog.io/2022/07/19/top-ten-tuesday-topic-freebie-ten-romance-authors-i-still-need-to-meet/

  12. sorcery of thorns has been on my shelf for so long. hopping to get to it by the end of the year.

    my TTT: https://blessedmommysc.blogspot.com/2022/07/top-ten-tuesday-10-authors-i-want-to.html

  13. Leslie says:

    Great topic! Lessons in Chemistry is one that I’ve recently acquired! Have a great week!

    My Top Ten!

  14. I need to read Sorcery of Thorns asap. Thanks for sharing!

    Check out my TTT

  15. Lessons in Chemistry is on my list, and you’ve got several others that are going on my list!

    Stop by and see my (very first!) Top Ten Tuesday.

  16. I love this topic for a top ten list! You have so many great options – You Made A Fool Of Death With Your Beauty looks like such a good read.
    Take care! And have a great week!

  17. Great list! The only book on here that I’ve read is Sorcery of Thorns and I loved it so much but I do have quite a few of these on my TBR. I’m especially looking forward to Every Summer After, Lessons in Chemistry, and You Made A Fool of Death!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.