All The Books I Can Read

1 girl….2 many books!

Review: The Glass Series by Maria V. Snyder

on April 10, 2020

Storm Glass (Glass #1)
Maria V. Snyder
Harlequin Teen AUS
2009, 488p
Read from my TBR shelves

Blurb {from the publisher/}:


As a glassmaker and a magician-in-training, Opal Cowen understands trial by fire. Now it’s time to test her mettle. Someone has sabotaged the Stormdancer clan, killing their most powerful magicians. The Stormdancers – particularly the mysterious and mercurial Kade – require Opal’s unique talents to prevent it from happening again.

But when the mission goes wrong, Opal must tap into a new kind of power as stunningly potent as it is frightening. And the deeper she delves into the mystery, the more distorted things appear.

With lives hanging in the balance Opal and Kade must learn to control unknown powers… powers that could lead disaster beyond anything they’ve ever seen.

Sea Glass (Glass #2)
Maria V. Snyder
Harlequin Teen AUS
2010, 379p
Read from my TBR shelves

Blurb {from the publisher/}:

From one-trick wonder to wielder of terrifying powers.

Not bad for a student.

Glass magician Opal Cowan’s newfound ability to steal a magician’s powers has made her too powerful in the eyes of the council… Despite being under house arrest, Opal travels to the Moon Clan’s lands in search of Ulrick, the man she thinks she loves. Thinks because she is sure another man, now her prisoner, has switched souls with Ulrick.

In hostile territory, without proof or allies, Opal isn’t sure whom to trust. She can’t forget Kade, the handsome Stormdancer who doesn’t want to let her get close. And now everyone is after Opal’s special powers for their own deadly gain…

Spy Glass (Glass #3)
Maria V. Snyder
Harlequin Teen AUS
2010, 424p
Read from my TBR shelves

Blurb {from the publisher/}:

Opal Cowan had been willing to make the ultimate sacrifice to save her friends and rid the world of blood magic. Though she survives, she is forever changed…

Opal Cowan has lost her powers. More than that, she is now immune to magic. Opal is an outsider looking in, spying through the glass on those with the powers she once had, powers that make a difference to the world and were her whole world…

Until spying through the glass becomes her new power. Suddenly, the beautiful pieces she makes flash in the presence of magic. And then she discovers that someone has stolen some of her blood and that fi nding it might let her regain her powers. Or learn if she’s lost them forever…

I thought it would be easier to just review this series as a whole….firstly because it cuts down on the amount of posts I’m doing on books by the same author and also because I inhaled these in a couple of days and well, now the books are kind of just like 1 large book so it’s easier this way.

We met Opal in the second novel of the Study series, when Yelena was at the Citadel trying to master her magic. Opal was the sister of someone Yelena tried desperately to help and she ended up suffering as well. She has a unique form of magic in that she can breathe her magic into her glass creations. Yelena discovered how to use them as communication devices and when her own series starts, Opal is at the Citadel, producing glass sculptures and infusing them with her magic so that certain people can use them to communicate long distance.

Opal goes through a lot in these books. She’s grown up in the shadow of a beautiful older sister and was also the sister of a teen who was kidnapped and abused horrifically and then eventually murdered. Opal herself was kidnapped and forced to betray someone in order to gain her freedom. She has a lot of angst and guilt and perhaps even a lot of self pity wrapped up inside of her. It takes a lot of things happening to Opal for her to gain her confidence in herself I think – she discovers more elements to her magic, sacrifices it all, becomes immune in a way similar to Valek and then in the last volume, addicted to a powerful form of blood magic and manipulated and abused again. In fact it actually got the stage where I wondered if Opal could actually suffer much more. She’s constantly kidnapped or attacked, tortured more than once and someone even swaps bodies with her boyfriend without her realising it.

One of the things I mentioned about the Study series that I liked, was that the romance was clearcut and only had one real outcome. This series is not like that at all and I have to admit, I am still a bit conflicted about things. When Opal’s eventual choice first entered the books, I was intrigued. I liked the idea of him and her actual boyfriend didn’t particularly excite me, I found him sullen and with a giant chip on his shoulder but perhaps Opal didn’t realise with her quite low self esteem and lack of confidence, that she could do better. She did eventually move on, after that boyfriend swapped bodies with someone else but that’s when I wasn’t overall sure about my original choice. Turns out he had quite a dark past – really dark, actually. And I get that there were certainly reasons that explained his behaviour. He had to do a lot to redeem himself and when he fell in love with Opal, it was with the realisation that he would probably not actually get to have her, due to what he’d done in the past, including a lot of things he’d done to Opal herself. It would be hard, you would think, to choose a partner that has the face of the man that tortured you relentlessly. This is a complex situation and involves a lot of personal growth for both Opal and her eventual choice as well as an overcoming of their pasts and letting things go.

There’s a lot of the darker side of magic in this series, not so much like Yelena’s magic. Dark rituals that should’ve been left long behind, which a rogue group has resurrected. The sort of magic that makes you understand why the Commander in Ixia seeks to stamp everyone who is a magician out. I liked the fact that magic has been portrayed as complex and diverse and for every Yelena, there’s someone who seeks to use it for power or glory. There are people who will abuse situations in all walks of life and those who possess magic in this world are no different.

I enjoyed this series a lot – but by the end of the third book, I was ready for Opal to be happy! She deserves it. The next book returns to focus more on Yelena, so I’m excited about that.

8/10 (all 3)

Book #s 57, 58 & 59 of 2020


4 responses to “Review: The Glass Series by Maria V. Snyder

  1. Marg says:

    See now I am going to have to drag out my books and see where I was up to.Maybe after my next book.

  2. I always meant to read these, I did really enjoy the Study series.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: