All The Books I Can Read

1 girl….2 many books!

Review: It Started With A Tweet by Anna Bell

on December 28, 2017

It Started With A Tweet
Anna Bell
Bonnier Zaffre Publishing
2017, 416p
Copy courtesy of the publisher via NetGalley

Blurb {from the publisher/Goodreads.com}:

Can Daisy Hobson log off for love…?

Could you survive a digital detox? This hilarious new romantic comedy from the author of The Bucket List to Mend a Broken Heart is perfect for fans of Lucy Diamond and Sophie Kinsella.

Daisy Hobson lives her whole life online. A marketing manager by day, she tweets her friends, instagrams every meal and arranges (frankly, appalling) dates on Tinder. But when her social media obsession causes her to make a catastrophic mistake at work, Daisy finds her life going into free-fall . . . 

Her sister Rosie thinks she has the answer to all of Daisy’s problems – a digital detox in a remote cottage in Cumbria, that she just happens to need help doing up. Soon, too, Daisy finds herself with two welcome distractions: sexy French exchange-help Alexis, and Jack, the brusque and rugged man-next-door, who keeps accidentally rescuing her.

But can Daisy, a London girl, ever really settle into life in a tiny, isolated village? And, more importantly, can she survive without her phone?

I have to admit, I read this about six weeks ago because I was looking for a bit of a light in between two other novels but because I’m hopeless, I didn’t write the review straight away. So now even though I remember that I enjoyed this, I’m struggling to recall much about it….which makes me wonder how much I really liked it if nothing is really sticking in my mind that clearly.

Daisy works as a marketing media manager so she spends her days (and her nights) constantly connected and online. Her job is to be on social media but she is also addicted herself, uploading pictures of her meals or her cocktails to instagram and trawling Tinder searching for the one. When she accidentally tweets something quite risque from her work account, it goes ‘viral’ and Daisy finds her life upside down. Her sister Rosie decides that Daisy needs a break from all her technology and she kind of railroads her into a DIY project, hoping that the two sisters might be able to connect whilst doing it. At first Daisy is angry, resentful and like a junkie craving her fix. She desperately wants her phone (which is somewhere inaccessible thanks to Rosie) and will stop at nothing to try and get online.

I can relate to Daisy actually. I’m pretty attached to my phone and spend a lot of the day checking facebook and instagram, getting angry scrolling through twitter and the idea of a digital detox is kind of refreshing. It’s hard though because a phone can be a lot of things to many people. I live interstate from my family so it’s a way to keep up with their lives. Without my phone I’d miss birth announcements, photos of my growing nieces and god how could I survive without my mother documenting pretty much everything she does on facebook from getting their roof resprayed to what happened at work that day. In an increasingly busy (and shrinking) world, social media gives many people a way to keep in touch with friends and family, converse with like minded strangers, access news and current events easily and generally just locate information. Unfortunately where there’s a positive there’s always a negative and social media can be at times, a very disturbing place. When something picks up traction it can be very difficult to hide from it and it can have severe consequences on the people affected. In this case, Daisy makes a gross error by tweeting something crass from her professional account rather than her personal account and has to suffer the consequences, one of them being the loss of her job.

I really enjoyed when Daisy’s sister dragged her away from the city and technology to detox a bit and learn to prioritise her life and think about what makes her happy. At times Daisy was petulant and annoying and her sister bossy and patronising but the relationship rang very true for bickering sisters. I liked their journey towards understanding each other, confiding in each other and finding out what they truly enjoyed doing together. Both of them put in a lot of hard work as well and it was probably quite satisfying for them to achieve the things they did.

Whilst in the wilderness, Daisy meets one of her neighbours, Jack and although they start doing a few cute things like leaving each other letters and meeting up for walks, it didn’t really have enough for me. I like the romance thread to be a bit stronger and even though this is Daisy’s journey of self discovery, Jack is a part of her journey and I wanted a bit more detail of what was happening between them, especially towards the end. Lots more detail, actually! Jack was an interesting character and I liked him and enjoyed his and Daisy’s interactions with each other. Several other locals added some colour as well and it was surprising just how Daisy’s wants changed the more time she spent in a place that she hadn’t even wanted to go and when she went back to London, the way in which she viewed social interactions was very different.

All in all I did enjoy this – it was fun and full of humour, just wish there was a little more meat to the romance.

7/10

Book #183 of 2017

 

 

Advertisements

One response to “Review: It Started With A Tweet by Anna Bell

  1. This sounds great 🙂 I need to check it out!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: