All The Books I Can Read

1 girl….2 many books!

October Reading Wrap Up

on November 3, 2017

Total Books Read: 18
Fiction: 16
Non-Fiction: 2
Library Books: 0
Books On My TBR List: 3
Books in a Series: 8
Authors I’d Never Read Before: 11
Male/Female Authors: 2/16
Kindle Books: 6
Books I Owned or Bought: 5
Favourite Book(s): The Greatest Gift by Rachael Johns, The Drifter by Anthea Hodgson
Least Favourite Books: Kidnapped By The Alien Barbarian by Ella Mansfield
Books That Qualify For Challenges: 6

This wrap up has gone up a few days later than usual because for the past 3-4 days I’ve been absolutely wiped out by some weird flu virus thing that gave me all of the aches and painful joints that usually announce the arrival of a virus but none of the actual flu part. I spent nearly 48 hours in bed basically unable to move or find a comfortable way to lie that didn’t hurt basically everywhere. Today is the first day I’ve been able to get up and not feel like I was hit by a truck since Monday and it’s the first day I’ve been able to use my laptop since then too.

October was a decent reading month, 18 titles added to the tally which is good. My last book in October brought me up to 180 books read for the year. I can’t believe there’s only two months to go in 2017. It seems like only a few weeks ago that I was making plans for this year and now it’s nearly gone.

For November I think I have a grand total of 3 review books that I’ve received and so I plan to read a lot of my own books. Because I’ve been sick I haven’t bothered to actually make a TBR pile yet – I will probably do that over the weekend. I have a few recent purchases that I’d really like to get to this month like Little Fires Everywhere by Celeste Ng, Nevermoor by Jessica Townsend and What Happened by Hilary Rodham Clinton. Plus there’s some not so recent purchases still hanging out on my shelves like A Little Life. It’s definitely time to start thinking about holiday reading. My kids only have about 6 weeks left of school.

Speaking of kids, in October I also read my first ever Harry Potter novel. I bought the boxset for my 9yo in an attempt to encourage him to read. His teacher is really pushing him to explore different books and challenge himself as he gets bored easily and so she helped him a choose a few books to read and one was a Harry Potter novel. I found a really decently priced boxset and he is now onto book 3 and I’ve finished the first book. Perhaps because I’m older reading it for the first time, I didn’t love it. I did enjoy it and I understand why kids see a lot in it. Harry is a likeable and also relatable hero but I wasn’t overly blown away by the writing. However because my son is very keen for me to read them too so we can talk about them and then watch the movies together, I will read on. I’m pacing myself because I don’t want to overtake him so I haven’t even started the second one yet.

I have a couple of really fun bookish events coming up in November which I’ll be posting more about as they happen. Hope you all had a great reading month for October.

One response to “October Reading Wrap Up

  1. Ocean Bream says:

    How on earth do you get the time to read all these books in a month?! Please share your secrets, I haven’t been able to read seven books all year! Harry Potter was mind-blowing for me at eight years old but way too childish at 23 🙂 Sorry to hear of your flu, I hope you feel even better in the upcoming week.

Leave a Reply

