All The Books I Can Read

1 girl….2 many books!

Wrap Up: #TheReadingQuest Challenge

on September 10, 2017

So today is the 10th of September, the last day of #TheReadingQuest Challenge. It’s almost lunch time here and I don’t anticipate reading another book for this challenge so I’m going to go ahead and wrap up what I read and my points.

I chose the Mage character path after some consideration – it was the path that I thought I could best tackle based on the books I had on my TBR pile and I’m happy to say that I read all five books required to tick that off as complete. I also read books that counted towards 4 side challenges which brings me to 9 books read in total over the 4 week period of the challenge. Here are the books I read for the challenge:

So I read 8 physical books and one eBook. The five books I read for the Mage character path were:

Graceling by Kristin Cashore – Read the first book in a series 352p
Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard – Read a book set in a different world 383p
Song Of Achilles by Madeline Miller – Read a book based on mythology 352p
Akarnae by Lynette Noni – Read a book that contains magic 436p
Illuminae by Amy Kaufman and Jay Kristoff – Read a book with a one word title 599p

And the four side challenges I completed:

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas – Read whatever you want 438p
City Of Ashes by Cassandra Clare – Respawn: Read a book you previously dnf’d 411p
Fire by Kristin Cashore –  Expansion challenge: read a companion novel 384p
Gemina by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff – Grind challenge (500+ pages) 659p

I really enjoyed participating in this challenge. Sometimes my TBR bookshelf is so big that I just lack focus and can’t decide what to read and occasionally I just end up not picking up anything. Creating a specific, focused TBR pile before the challenge and having it sitting there made it much easier and I found I had renewed enthusiasm for tackling books on my shelf that I might not have actually even looked twice at when looking for something to read.

For this challenge, 7 of the 9 books I read have been sitting on my TBR shelf for months. Some for even years. I think I bought the first few Mortal Instruments books when I was pregnant with my youngest son and he’s about to turn six this month! I also read one library book and one book that I purchased because of this challenge – I’d read Graceling and after completing that I bought Fire and Bitterblue immediately. Now I’m kind of annoyed because as you can see in the pic above, my copy of Graceling is an eBook and I really want a physical copy to match the other two in the series.

I also tried new things during this challenge – people have long been singing the praises of the Illuminae Files to me but I had not made the plunge because I wasn’t sure if they’d be my thing. I picked up the first one at random from the library but without this challenge to assign it to, it’s possible I’d have just returned it unread because I have so many other books sitting around. Now I’ve read the first two (in a matter of a couple of days) and am eagerly awaiting the third book, which still doesn’t come out for months.

I shouldn’t need an excuse to tackle books from my TBR but sometimes I just do need something to push me to choose something that’s been published for a while versus something that has just been, or is about to be released. It’s made me realise just how many books I buy and hoard without reading. And once I do finally tackle some of them through something like this, I remember why I bought them in the first place and wonder why the heck I let them sit on a shelf unread for so long. So I’m trying, trying harder to incorporate books I’ve owned for a long time and not read yet, into my monthly TBR piles. I’m aiming to start small, one book that I’ve owned for 6+ months but I found that balancing review copies with books for this challenge during the four weeks had the added bonus of keeping my mind refreshed.

Once again, a huge thank you must go out to Aentee from Read At Midnight for creating and hosting this challenge. I’ve had a fabulous time participating and I would love to do something like this again in the future, should it ever happen. Also big thanks to CW from Read, Think, Ponder who created the amazing artwork for the challenge and allowed people to use it to make their own character cards, etc. Here’s my final board:

I’m going to keep an eye on it. There are books I have that fit quite a few of these categories and even though the challenge is ending today, I might use these categories here as motivation for pulling future reads off my TBR shelf.

Leave a Reply

