All The Books I Can Read

1 girl….2 many books!

August Reading Wrap Up

on September 1, 2017

Total Books Read: 20
Fiction: 17
Non-Fiction: 3
Library Books: 1
Books On My TBR List: 7
Books in a Series: 11
Authors I’d Never Read Before: 12
Male/Female Authors: 7/13
Kindle Books: 5
Books I Owned or Bought: 11
Favourite Book(s): Illuminae Gemina by Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff
Least Favourite Books: Two Cabins One Lake by Shaye Marlow
Books That Qualify For Challenges: 10

So August was probably my best reading month in quite a while. I read 20 books and 2 of them were around 600p each so were almost double the size of an average book. I had a couple of 5-star reads and quite a lot of 4-star reads so the quality of reads was also really high.

I attribute my higher than usual number of reads to joining #TheReadingQuest in August. So far for that challenge I’ve completed 6 books – four from my character path and two side quests. I’m probably not going to get through all the books I had set aside for this quest (it ends on September 10th) but I need one more book to finish my side path and then I would like to read at least one, hopefully two from the side challenges.

I’m really guilty of seeing all of these books and going “Oh I must have that book!”, buying it and then it sits on my shelf for ages, sometimes years because, other books. I have the attention span of a gnat sometimes when it comes to books and I think blogging is kind of a part of the problem because there are so many new books released all the time and it’s so easy to get distracted by the shiny new ones and forget about the ones you already have. No one can read every book released every month, there are always ones that are going to get pushed aside but not because you don’t want to read them. Simply because you don’t have enough time to read them! I have books I bought years ago that I’m still super keen to read. And that’s why this challenge has been so good……it was in part to help diminish books from the TBR pile, so I made my pile up from books that I already owned on my shelf and one library book. So for the challenge I have now read five books from my shelf that have been sitting there for varying lengths of time, including a couple that have been there for about five years. It’s done a lot to renew my enthusiasm for some of these books – one book was from an old series and now I want to catch up and read the rest. I need something like this every month, something to both push me out of my comfort zone but also get me to embrace the books I already own. It’s been really good and I’ve enjoyed it. Of course it’s also led to me making more book purchases but it’s okay. I’m totally allowed because I read some off my TBR shelf…..right?

Going to make a tentative September pile here….

The top 2 are books that I plan to read for #TheReadingQuest Challenge….. A Gathering Of Shadows by V.E. Schwab will complete my character path and The Hate U Give is my free choice read. The bottom three are review books. And….there are also the books that I’ve recently purchased:

The Wrath & the Dawn I came across somewhere and I ordered this really pretty hardback from overseas. I also ordered The Rose & the Dagger in the matching hardback but it’s not here yet. I have heard good things but I just saw these versions and thought they were really pretty. And I like the names. I ordered Fire and Bitterblue which are books 2&3 in the Graceling Realm series. I read the first book in August and loved it. I also bought the small version of King’s Cage today – I’d been holding off on buying it until this one came out so it would match my versions of Red Queen and Glass Sword. And I picked up Take Three Girls by 3 Australian women YA authors – Cath Crowley, Simmone Howell and Fiona Wood. Been looking forward to this one for a while and it’ll probably be the first one that I read. I’m not sure if I’ll read all of these this month (haha, probably not – I’ll need a future #TheReadingQuest Challenge to get me picking them up off my shelf!) but I’ll definitely read some. And probably the next in the Mortal Instruments series as well.

If you’ve read any of the books above, feel free to tell me which and whether or not I should push them to the top of the pile. Hope you all had a fab reading August.

Leave a Reply

