All The Books I Can Read

1 girl….2 many books!

Signing Up For…….#TheReadingQuest Challenge

on August 3, 2017

Recently I came across #TheReadingQuest Challenge on twitter and decided to check it out. It looked like a lot of fun, definitely quite different to the challenges I’m already signed up for and I thought it might be a good way to both a) push myself out of my comfort zone and b) help tackle some of the books on my TBR. I’m not going to go into all of the details, for that you can visit the awesome host Aentee at Read At Midnight for that. She has a very comprehensive sign up post here which provides you with everything you need to know.

Basically the challenge runs something like a video game combined with book bingo. You choose a character and move around the board based on that character, ticking off books in categories. There are side challenges and other characters that you can look into after you complete your initial challenge. For books completed you gain XP and HP just like a video game character would. Firstly, choose your character (the character illustrations are from CW at Read, Think Ponder).

 

Here’s the board….

I have chosen the Mage character. So my journey is the dotted yellow one and here is my tentative list of books for the Mage’s journey (subject to change because I can be indecisive like that):

  • Read a book with a one word title: Illuminae by Jay Kristoff & Amie Kaufman
  • Read a book that contains magic: A Gathering Of Shadows by V.E. Schwab
  • Read a book based on mythology: The Song Of Achilles by Madeline Miller
  • Read a book set in a different world: Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard
  • Read a book first in a series: Graceling by Kristin Cashore

The blue squares in the middle are side challenges and I have a couple of ideas for these….although I haven’t yet decided on a book for every category.

  • Potions {a book concocted by 2+ authors}: Team Human by Justine Larbaleister & Sarah Rees Brennan
  • Multiplayer {buddy read a book}:
  • Grind {book w/ 500+ pages}: The Diviners by Libba Bray
  • Time Warp {book set in the past or future}: The Beast’s Garden by Kate Forsyth
  • Open World {read whatever you want}: The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas
  • Respawn {read a book you previously DNF’d}: City Of Ashes by Cassandra Clare
  • Expansion {read a companion novel or short story}:
  • Mini game {read a graphic novel, novella or poem collection}:
  • Animal companion {book referencing an animal in the title}: Wolf Hall by Hilary Mantel

The challenge runs from August 13th – September 10th. To be honest I’m not sure I’ll get through all the books I have listed here – it’s a pretty huge stack (I’ll put a picture on my twitter and instagram, I am 1girl2manybooks on twitter and @breelletee on insta).

Thank you to Aentee for creating and hosting – can’t wait to get started!

 

4 responses to “Signing Up For…….#TheReadingQuest Challenge

  1. That does look like an awful lot of fun. Good luck.

  2. ILLUMINAE is A-MA-ZING! I hope you love it as much as I did! I really want to read the Diviners and A Gathering of Shadows as well. Good luck, and happy reading 🙂

    Here’s my TBR!

    • Thank you for stopping by! I have heard a lot of really positive things about the Illuminae series so I’m pretty excited to finally be giving it a go. Off to check out your pile!

  3. I’m participating in this challenge too, though I’m the knight. I personally loved City of Ashes, so I hope you’re able to finish it and enjoy it this time around! Best of luck!

Leave a Reply

