All The Books I Can Read

1 girl….2 many books!

Review: Burning Moon by Jo Watson

on July 12, 2017

Burning Moon (Destination Love #1)
Jo Watson
Headline Eternal
2016, 304p
Freebie on iBooks

Blurb {from the publisher/Goodreads.com}:

Chase your dreams. Dance under the stars. Fall in love at the festival of Burning Moon.

WARNING: Being jilted at the altar in front of 500 wedding guests can lead to irrational behaviour, such as going on your honeymoon to Thailand alone.

On the way to paradise, symptoms may include getting arrested, setting yourself on fire, turning up on a ‘Missing Poster’ and going viral.

Side-effects may include desert island stranding, star gazing and jungle trekking.

Recovery will lead to partying the night away at Burning Moon festival – and falling in love with the person you least expect…

Hmmm.

I read this because I actually spotted the second one while browsing iBooks and when I went to have a look at the first I discovered that I already had it. I download stacks of free books every week and then generally pick through when I’m looking for something and choose ones to read at random. I was looking for something to read before bed and this isn’t too long so I ended up finishing it in one night.

Lily is humiliatingly dumped by her fiance just before she’s about to walk down the aisle to marry him, leaving her a simple note and disappearing off the face of the earth. Lily wallows for a while before she makes a snap decision to fly to Thailand on her own and go on the honeymoon they were supposed to have. On the plane she makes eye contact with a man and he pops up several times both on the flight and after. Damien shows Lily a completely different holiday to the one she was expecting and along the way she completely realigns what it is she wants out of life and especially love.

I love the idea of this. I really do. Just the execution didn’t work for me personally.

One of the things I really don’t like is that sort of wacky, crazy comedy where everything is exaggerated for ridiculous effect and this book contains a lot of that. Lily is basically a walking disaster in the way that makes you wonder how she’s even made it to mid-20s without suddenly becoming a headline in the Darwin Awards. There were a few things I just had trouble buying, even given Lily’s disturbed state of mind.

The other thing is the speed. I’m all for getting over the douchebag that dumped you five minutes before you were due to walk down the aisle but everything happens so quickly. She invites Damien to stay with her in her luxurious honeymoon suite when they get off the plane, she’s having a bath (which is in the main part of the suite) trusting him to just keep his back turned, then she’s following him to some party. The whole thing takes place over a few days and then she loves him so much by the end of that that it overshadows her life for the entire next year. It just felt so rushed and even though there were some times where the chemistry showed flickers of promise, everything was happening so fast that I didn’t really have time to sit back and enjoy it developing.

I liked Damien, although the fact that he was super rich felt superfluous to the plot really, I wasn’t even sure why it was there given he was basically backpacking his way around the world without a $ to his name. When Lily invites him to stay with her it’s because he hasn’t got any money yet to pay for accommodation and needs to go and sort that out somehow, obviously working odd jobs to scrape together enough cash to tide him over until his next flight. All the flights are prebooked in advance but he seems to wing it in between which just made me feel anxious because I’m old now and the time where I find it romantic to just drift around the world without money or plans is now long gone. Actually to be honest, I’m not sure there was ever a time in my life when I would’ve been on board with that sort of lifestyle. I’m not as organised and uptight as Lily but I’d certainly like to arrive in a foreign country and know that I had enough money to pay for somewhere to sleep that night. Damien was interesting though in that he wasn’t quite a typical love interest character – bit gothy, the complete opposite of what Lily thought she really wanted in life. He was nothing like her former fiance, nothing like what she’d pictured for herself and it made her think about why she had such definite ideas about what she’d wanted and how set the plan had been for her life. Damien was like the opposite of a plan. He seemed pretty together and knew what he wanted to do. The conflict felt a bit contrived but mostly what I didn’t like about this book was Lily. She read quite immature and I think she needed that year to really grow up and figure out what would make her truly happy, not what she thought she should do with her life.

This was okay, it was different reading a book mostly set in Thailand. I’ve never been there but despite the hoards of Aussies that go every year I’ve never really read anything that takes place there. However, it could’ve been anywhere with a beach really. But I didn’t love it. Too much just didn’t really work for me or required too much suspension of disbelief.

4/10

Book #118 of 2017

Leave a Reply

