All The Books I Can Read

1 girl….2 many books!

Review: Crown Of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas

on June 27, 2017

Crown Of Midnight (Throne Of Glass #2)
Sarah J. Maas
Bloomsbury ANZ
2013, 418p
Purchased personal copy

Blurb {from the publisher/Goodreads.com}:

Crowned by Evil.
Bound by Duty.
Divided by Love.

Celaena Sardothien, royal assassin, is the King of Adarlan’s deadliest weapon. She must win her freedom through his enemies’ blood – but she cannot bear to kill for the crown. And every death Celaena fakes, every lie she tells, put those she loves at risk.

Torn between her two protectors – a captain and a prince – and battling a dark force far greater than the king, Celaena must decide what she will fight for: her liberty, her heart or the fate of a kingdom…

This book is four years old but hey I’m only reading it now so perhaps there are plenty of others out there as slow as me when it comes to this particular party. If there are, I’m going to chuck a general ***SPOILERS*** warning here because I want to talk about a few things that it might be impossible to do so without spoiling or at least strongly suggesting things that ruin the plot or spoil surprises.

We pick up a little while after Celaena has started her role as the King’s Assassin and one of the things I mentioned in yesterday’s revisiting of Throne Of Glass would be how that was portrayed. Celaena is supposed to be a trained assassin, offing whoever she is paid to do but that’s a little hard to swallow in a main character and Maas took the route I expected in making Celaena sort of doing her job but also not really? Okay pretty much completely not doing her job but appearing as though she were doing her job. I’m in two minds about this. The King is evil, that’s already quite established and probably all the people he’s paying Celaena to murder are innocent and have most likely done nothing to warrant having an assassin sent after them. But at the same time it makes Celaena a confused character. She’s a trained killer who doesn’t really want to kill anyone. She has a soul, maybe? Or a heart? And yet she went years murdering people apparently, so who was she murdering? Only bad people? Is she more a Robin Hood type of assassin? It doesn’t seem likely. Am I supposed to fear her or not? Sometimes it seems like the author isn’t sure and therefore I’m not really sure either. She doesn’t really come across as all that fearsome….unless someone pisses her off.

The love triangle kind of backs off a bit in this one, with Crown Prince Dorien kind of bowing out but also not? He sort of thinks about it, like he feels he might do that but then he tends to get all sorts of jealous and invested every time he sees her. Chaol and Celaena on the other hand, progress a lot in this novel and then backslide like times a million. I’m still really not invested in either of these options and I find it irritating whenever Chaol feels the need to protect Celaena, like she’s some sort of helpless damsel in distress, telling her to be careful and wanting to go with her or have her not do things.

Get past that stuff and once again, I really like the story that’s going on. The King is becoming more and more evil, Celaena is reluctantly drawn in to things again that she’d rather not be involved in but it appears that she’s not going to really have much choice. These are the aspects of this series that I really enjoy – loved finding out a bit more about what the King is doing/is looking for and now that is Celaena’s task as well. We also find out quite a lot more about Celaena herself, both in terms of an ability she has and her true heritage. I think the groundwork was laid significantly that I already knew most of it – however the whole Fae thing I wasn’t really expecting at all. So good inclusion there. I like it. I like that Celaena sort of has this switch that gets flicked inside of her when she goes on a killing spree. It’s kind of when I find her most interesting. That and when she’s figuring stuff out, unravelling mysteries. Is it odd that one of my favourite characters in this book was a door knocker? (Um, not a sentence I ever thought I’d write).

I honestly think I’m going to enjoy this series much more by having the first five to read so close like this because it’s starting to build really well. I’m glad I don’t have to wait a year for the next book although I can’t pick it up to read straight away because I do have a review book that I have to read first! However I’m excited to get to the next book, the ending of this one actually felt very strong, like it makes you want to roll straight on to the next one. Celaena is heading far away, separating her from both Dorien and Chaol, which I’m actually all for. I really like Chaol’s conflict at the end of this novel – what he’d done in order to protect her vs what he found out, which could *will* change everything. Chaol is best when he’s agonising internally over every single little thing about his duty and his desires, rather than staring at Celaena with moon eyes. He sacrificed something in this book and I’m interested to see where that goes.

I enjoyed this. All the story arcs are tracking along nicely so far. Bring on book 3 (after my review book).

8/10

Book #110 of 2017

 

One response to “Review: Crown Of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas

  1. I have seen this author a bunch, including from another blogger. It could be something I look into.

Leave a Reply

