All The Books I Can Read

1 girl….2 many books!

Some Of My Favourite Romances

on February 14, 2017

So it’s Valentine’s Day! To be honest, I’m not a huge celebrator of the day. We don’t really do anything for it. Today is also my stepdaughter’s birthday so it’s more about that. But I do love a good romance novel….of all types. Contemporary, historical, YA, fantasy…. So I thought that given today is the day of love, why not do a post celebrating some of my favourite books featuring romance? Not all of these books are strictly romances but they all contain romantic elements.

Contemporary

attachmentslickher-best-worst-mistakehating-gamein-at-the-deep-end

 

 

 

 

 

Attachments by Rainbow Rowell (my review) I read this book just over five years ago and it remains one of my favourites of all time. There’s so much humour and sweetness in this and it’s just one of those books that makes you feel happy about life.
Lick by Kylie Scott (my review) This book had angst and chemistry in spades. My favourite things! It was a great start to a series – the story wasn’t perfect but the interactions were amazing.
Her Best Worst Mistake by Sarah Mayberry (my review) This has one of my most-loved pairings…confident, sassy woman and uptight, slightly repressed (but perhaps dying not to be) male. I re-read this sooo many times. Violet and Martin are so wrong for each other that they’re perfect. Even writing this now has made me want to go and read this all over again.
The Hating Game by Sally Thorne (my review) My favourite book of 2016. Love love love.
In At The Deep End by Penelope Janu (my review) My most recent obsession. Like the two above, there’s a little of the uptight, controlled male here as well. It is my thing.

Rural 

promisesgirl-in-steel-capped-bootsoutback-blazevineyard-in-the-hillsred-sand-sunrise

 

 

 

 

 

Promises by Cathryn Hein (my review) Lots of lovely angst here. A modern-day Romeo and Juliet set in a horseracing world. Sophie and Aaron are from warring families and this is a slow burn romance peppered with lots of secrets and guilt. But also lovely, lovely things. And I also want to read this again.
The Girl In Steel Capped Boots by Loretta Hill (my review) Oh wow, it’s been five years since I read this! This for me was a ground-breaking rural. Who thought the Pilbarra could be so sexy? There was so much to love about city girl Lena negotiating her way as one of 4 women in a camp of 400 men, including one very demanding client. Ah, Lena and Dan.
Outback Blaze by Rachael Johns (my review) It was hard to pick which Bunyip Bay book to choose because I like them all for different reasons but I think Drew and Ruby are my favourites. I do like a man in a uniform 😉
The Vineyard In The Hills by Lily Malone (my review {note I read this when it was named So Far Into You}) Really enjoyed this one, set in the wine-making region of South Australia. Remy was an awesome character and I appreciated the way that Seth listened to her and the conflict wasn’t drawn out unnecessarily.
Red Sand Sunrise by Fiona McArthur (my review) Midwives, very rural Queensland and a “stern faced giant”. Obviously I was going to like this!

Romantic Suspense 

in-safe-handsburning-lieslegacy-of-hunters-ridgehalf-moon-baydead-heat

 

 

 

 

 

In Safe Hands by Lee Christine (my review) Awesomely paced thriller about a Sydney lawyer who posed for photographs over ten years ago, which are now coming back to haunt her. She has to engage a former SAS man to keep her safe and the chemistry is smoking. There are also other books that follow on from this, each probably as good as this one.
Burning Lies by Helene Young (my review) An undercover cop investigating a suspected arsonist and a damaged Border Watch worker who helps track things from the air. Gotta love a good undercover guy, especially one who needs reminding on just who he is and what his life could be.
Legacy Of Hunter’s Ridge by Sarah Barrie (my review) A heroine suffering from PTSD has to confront her fears. This was so well written. The cranky neighbour who comes to tell her off is a bit of a jerk at first but when he sees just how much she is struggling, it’s the beginning of something new. There are also more books that follow on from this.
Half Moon Bay by Helene Young (my review) It was impossible not to include two books by Helene Young here. I really could’ve included more but restricted myself to my two favourites. This competes with Burning Lies and I often can’t decide which one I like the most. This one felt like home to me….it’s set in an area very similar and quite close to the one I grew up in.
Dead Heat by Bronwyn Parry (my review) A former undercover cop now detective in a quiet (ha) rural posting and a National Parks Ranger. Lots of crime and mystery but just enough romance as well.

Historical 

firebirdwild-girlEleven Scandals To Startsilent-on-the-moorseduction-of-the-crimson-rose

 

 

 

 

 

The Firebird by Susanna Kearsley (my review) I could’ve included this either here or in contemporary as it’s a blend and to be honest, it’s the contemporary romance that interests me the most. But the historical portions of Susanna Kearsley’s books are so incredible. This one is intricate and fascinating. But I just love Nicola and Rob.
The Wild Girl by Kate Forsyth (my review) Kate Forsyth just writes amazing, beautiful books. Every single time I get lost in these stories.
Eleven Scandals To Start To Win A Duke’s Heart by Sarah MacLean (my review) Sassy impetuous heroine. Stuffy, repressed Duke. Enough said.
Silent On The Moor by Deanna Raybourn (my review) The third in the Lady Julia Grey series, aka the one where things happen. The chemistry is angsty and electric and there are huge amounts of will they or won’t they etc. It’s my favourite in the series.
The Seduction Of The Crimson Rose (my review) I liked this one a lot because it was interesting to see two fundamentally selfish and basically unlikable people become better for knowing each other. Both Lord Vaughn and Mary are haughty and sarcastic but they’re also very fun together. Loved their banter and what each was willing to sacrifice.

Young Adult 

forget-youevery-breathsaving-francescaraw-blueanna-and-the-french-kisswhere-she-went

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Forget You by Jennifer Echols (my review) Zoey you are so wonderfully clueless…and Doug is basically just wonderful. A bit of an ass at times but god what he put up with haha. I love these two. I imagine them as mid-20 somethings now, teaching swim teams or something.
Every Breath (the whole series really) by Ellie Marney (my review) Rachel and Mycroft are basically everything. Ellie Marney might write the best sexual tension I’ve ever read in my life. I love this whole series.
Saving Francesca by Melina Marchetta (my review) Two words: Will Trombal
Raw Blue by Kirsty Eagar (my review) Carly and Ryan oh my gosh. I love this book so much. It’s that little bit something different, my first foray into stuff that was a bit edgier. Neither Carly nor Ryan were the type of YA characters I was used to. This pulled me so far outside the box and it was amazing.
Anna & the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins (my review) You know I was fully prepared not to like this one because of the circumstances with St Clair and also because the title (and original cover) were hella lame. But I was wrong. So very, very wrong.
Where She Went by Gayle Forman (my review) The guitar moment. I will never forget that! This gave me everything I needed after If I Stay 

Fantasy/Sci-fi/Paranormal etc

captive-princeshadowfeverworking-stiffcrosstalk

 

 

 

 

 

Captive Prince by C.S. Pacat (my review) I like books that surprise me and this book (this series actually) really surprised me. So much chemistry and intrigue. It has all of the feels!
Shadowfever by Karen Marie Moning (my review) I love this whole series (ok, books 1-5, the more recent ones are a total hot mess) but I picked the final one because it’s my favourite. After the shocking end of 4, I needed 5 to be everything and I feel like it pretty much was.
Working Stiff by Rachel Caine (my review) and the other 2 books in the Revivalist series. To be honest, sometimes there are books that you just like. They just somehow have something that appeals and for me this series was one of those. I found the whole serum thing really interesting and poor Bryn and Patrick went through sooo much.
Crosstalk by Connie Willis (my review) Telepathy books…..there’s just something about them that works for me. I loved this….actually I still re-read bits of it occasionally when I’m in between books.

And there we go. To be honest it was pretty hard to keep each little category capped at a handful of titles because I quite easily could’ve included many more. For me, nearly all of these books could be termed as comfort reads, ones I can go to and pick up any time, open to any random page and just start reading. They’re all stories that have stayed with me and made me want to revisit them over and over again. Sometimes I do just that…..and writing this post has made me want to do it with so many more! I have at least 10 books that I want to re-read desperately from this post now!

If you have a favourite romance (or book with romantic elements) let me know in the comments! Especially if it’s one I haven’t read, because I’m always in need of more recommendations.

Happy Valentine’s Day, lovers!

4 responses to “Some Of My Favourite Romances

  1. You might want to try the Maverick Billionaires series by Bella Andre and Jennifer Skully. They have written 3 so far, with a 4th coming up in the next month or 2. It’s really an excellent series.

  2. Thanks so much Bree! I’m really glad this book has stayed with you! 🙂

  3. Sarah Barrie says:

    Thanks Bree! It was lovely to see Legacy listed in your rom sus category 🙂

  4. Marg Bates says:

    Lots of great reads here.

Leave a Reply

