All The Books I Can Read

1 girl….2 many books!

January Reading Wrap Up

on January 31, 2017

Total Books Read: 21
Fiction: 21
Non-Fiction: 0
Library Books: 0
Books On My TBR List: 6
Books in a Series: 12
Authors I’d Never Read Before: 10
Male/Female Authors: 0/21
Kindle Books: 9
Books I Owned or Bought: 6
Favourite Book(s): In At The Deep End by Penelope Janu, To The Bright Edge Of The World by Eowyn Ivey, Tell The Truth Shame The Devil by Melina Marchetta and The Golden Child by Wendy James
Least Favourite Books: It’s Just A Little Crush by Caroline Fardig
Books That Qualify For Challenges: 7

I’m pretty happy – 2017 got off to the sort of reading start that I was really hoping for and  the sort of blogging start as well. I read 21 books – some really hot summer days spent inside with the air con on definitely contributed to that I think, as well as my kids being on school holidays and not having to do the school runs and pick ups. I could read late at night as well and sleep in a bit but that’s over now! My eldest goes back to school today (starting year 3) and my youngest starts on Thursday (prep….sob).

January produced 4x 5-star reads to start the year and on the whole, was full of really awesome books. Paper books vs eBooks were pretty balanced although I am once again, heavily skewed towards female authors – didn’t manage to read a single male author in January!

I also posted 25 blog posts in January…..which might be more than I made for most of the second half of 2016, lol. I got quite a few reviews up as well as a couple of author interviews – Victoria Purman, Tricia Stringer and Penelope Janu. 

The last couple of months I’ve been putting together TBR piles for myself in order to try and cut down on my indecision. It’s working really well so I’m going to keep doing it…..I try to include review books, something I’ve bought and something that’s been on my shelf a while that I really want to get to. Here’s my TBR pile for February:

img_4567The bottom 4 are books I have received for review….. The Ninth Grave was actually on the January TBR I made for myself and was the only book I didn’t get to. However, that was because I discovered that it was the second in a series and I wanted to try and find the first one to read before I picked it up. In this pile, Love, Lies & Linguine is also the second book in a series and I’ve been told that it stands up reliably alone, however I might source my local library for the first books in both of those, which is why I’ve only got 6 books in the pile. The Beasts Garden I’ve owned for over a year now and I’ve read a few really amazing reviews of it lately. I’ve read a lot of other Kate Forsyth books so it’s one of those ones that I really need to get to. I got Fearless by Fiona Higgins for Christmas and I’m curious. There are other books that get added to the TRB pile as they arrive and there are eBooks to read as well.

2017 Challenge Updates:
Australian Women Writers Challenge: 7 books/o classics so far
European Reading Challenge: 0/3 books so far

Begin as you mean to go on and all that……hopefully this is something I’ll be able to mostly keep up 🙂

What was your favourite read in January? Let me know!

 

8 responses to “January Reading Wrap Up

  1. Lily Malone says:

    I’ve had a good reading month too. No classics, but I read a couple of literary fiction books (that’s my challenge area to read more this year) including The Natural Way of Things.

  2. My year of reading and refilling the creative well has begun. But I am a slow reader, so only two – Jo JO Moyes and I only learned about Lucy Diamond recently. Shell Cottage was fabulous.

    • This will be my first Lucy Diamond book so it makes me happy to hear you’ve liked some of her previous work. I’m looking forward to this one.

      JoJo Moyes writes some amazing books.

  3. Marg says:

    21 books is good!!

  4. Deborah says:

    Wow 21 books is HUGE! I would have been lucky to read half of that I think! I recognise a couple in the pile!

Leave a Reply

