All The Books I Can Read

1 girl….2 many books!

Top 10 Tuesday 24th January

on January 24, 2017

TTT

It’s Tuesday! And that means it’s time once again for Top 10 Tuesday, hosted by The Broke & the Bookish. This week is a freebie week, so we can choose whatever topic we like. I had a bit of a think about this throughout the week and last night something popped into my head so I decided to go with it.

Top 10 Series I’ve Fallen Behind On/Haven’t Completed

  1. Black Dagger Brotherhood by J.R. Ward. To be honest, this is kind of intentional. The series has kind of always been hit and miss with me – some books are fantastic but others just never seem to quite cut it. However I did intend to read the books about the previous couples….I read The King and then there was one with Rhage and Mary that I wanted to read but just haven’t gotten around to it.
  2. Weather Warden by Rachel Caine. I own all of these and have read the first 2 or 3. I’m not sure why I haven’t read the rest because I really like them.
  3. The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer. I think I read the first 2 of these and I thought they were amazing but never went any further.
  4. The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon. I even have no excuse for this one. I’ve read the first book and I own the second book. It’s sitting on the top shelf of one of my bookcases, the shelf specifically for “books that came out a while ago now that I haven’t got to that I still really want to”. I think part of the trouble might be it’s been so long since I read the first and it was quite a complex story, that jumping into book 2 might be like going in blind.
  5. Cormoran Strike by Robert Galbraith/J.K. Rowling. To be 100% honest with everyone, the first book in this series was the first book I ever read by J.K. Rowling. I’ve never read any Harry Potter. I enjoyed The Cuckoo’s Calling and was pretty excited it was going to be a series……and now I have yet to read the next 2 books and I think another one is coming out later this year.
  6. The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare. This series has its critics but it also has a lot of devotees. I own the first 4 or 5, I got them really cheap at a discount book warehouse years ago. I’ve read the first one and it was okay although the ending was a painfully obvious ploy. I feel as though I should read the rest, I mean I own them and all. Just haven’t yet.
  7. Divergent by Veronica Roth. Haha this is bad. I’ve still only read the first book.
  8. Daughter Of Smoke And Bone by Laini Taylor. Another one where I’ve only read the first book and now I fear that it’s going to be the same problem as the Bone Season series. It’s been so long since I read the first book that I’ve probably forgotten most of it and I’d have to read it again before I read the rest.
  9. Throne Of Glass by Sarah J Maas. This is basically the story of my life: I read the first book. I liked it. For some reason I never end up reading the rest. How many books are there in this series now? Seems like every time I turn around people are going crazy about the latest one coming out.
  10. The Iron Fey by Julie Kagawa. I actually managed to read more than one of this series but for some reason I haven’t read the third book in this or the series that came after it, The Call of the Forgotten. Maybe I have an aversion to finishing series’?

And so these are the ‘big’ series that I think I need to get moving on and finish or get myself up to date….although it’s the age-old problem of a chronic reader: too many books, so little time! Which ones do you think I should make a special effort on? Let me know!

9 responses to “Top 10 Tuesday 24th January

  1. Emma says:

    We have some similar books on our unread series list. I’ve read the same books as you in the The Lunar Chronicles, Throne of Glass, and The Mortal Instruments. With Divergent I read Insurgent and was spoiled on the the last book, so I saw no point in reading it and I wasn’t really invested in it either.

  2. I totally hear ya when it comes to series. Throne of Glass is one I plan to tackle this year. Another I want to get finished is Shatter Me. Good luck getting caught up!

  3. I wish I would have thought of this one lol, because I have so many series I am behind on! I love the Lunar Chronicles, actually caught up on that one. You are in for a treat if you have only read 2. My favorite was Cress. I hope you enjoy the series! Happy reading.

  4. ChrissiReads says:

    I highly recommend carrying on with The Lunar Chronicles. It’s amazing!

  5. Mariela says:

    We did a similar post this week. Series we plan on finish them.
    My TTT,

  6. Marg says:

    You know that I am going to recommend the Cormoran Strike books!!

  7. I have fallen quite behind on TOG as well. I binge read the first two books then fell behind on book three. I’ll probably wait till the next book comes out so I can binge read them all 🙂

    My TTT

  8. Sebastian says:

    I really hope you keep reading the Cormoran Strike series. To be honest I didn’t enjoy the second books as much as the first one but the third one was fantastic and definitely my favorite book in the series yet. I can’t wait to get my hands on book 4!

  9. I read the first Lunar Chronicles book last year, but haven’t got to the second one yet. The last TOG book comes out in September, so you could always binge them all when it’s out!
    My TTT: https://jjbookblog.wordpress.com/2017/01/24/top-ten-tuesday-93/

Leave a Reply

