All The Books I Can Read

1 girl….2 many books!

Top 10 Tuesday 17th January

on January 17, 2017

TTT

Tuesday has rolled around again, so it’s time for Top 10 Tuesday, hosted by The Broke & The Bookish. This week, our topic is……..

Top 10 Underrated Books Read In 2016

This one had me thinking a bit…..underrated is something that everyone can have their own definition for. What I consider to be underrated might be well popular to someone else, etc. For me, I picked some books (well actually, a lot of these were series’) where I didn’t read any reviews for them or just didn’t really see them around much. Doesn’t mean they aren’t being read or reviewed though.

  1. Confessions Of A Slightly Neurotic Hitwoman series, by J.B. Lynn (qualifying to mean books 1-13. I didn’t like book 14 or the direction I think it might be going in now). I underrated this myself actually. I picked it up because the title of the first book was funny, but I have to admit, I thought it was going to be a bit lame. The heroine can understand animals, after something happens to her and she gets a knock on the head. However I ended up becoming slightly obsessed with this series and read all 14 of the ones released when I started in something really stupid, like 3 days! They were exactly what I needed at the time….
  2. Headline In High Heels series by LynDee Walker. A smart and funny series about a crime reporter who always gets the scoop. The sexy slightly-probably-most-likely-ok-definitely-a-criminal Mafia love interest adds a lot of elements. Mostly I’m just super grateful for a competent heroine who is excellent at her job and isn’t bumbling through life.
  3. Southern Ghost Hunter series by Angie Fox. I’m not really a ‘ghost’ sort of person, but I really enjoy these. Love Frankie in all his gangster, Prohibition-era glory and Verity and Ellis have chemistry. Can’t wait for the next one.
  4. Rose Strickland Mysteries by Terri L. Austin. I like these because they’re a bit familiar but also a bit different. Rose is a waitress putting herself through community college after her rich family cut her off for not wanting to attend the college of their choice. She becomes a bit of an amateur private investigator, searching for a missing friend of hers which leads to her crossing paths with an enigmatic and dangerous sort of man. They’re fun. There’s only 4 so far, I hope there’ll be another.
  5. A Kiss From Mr Fitzgerald by Natasha Lester. I loved this story about a woman fighting to become a doctor in 1922s Manhattan. I hope it gets some recognition in the rest of the world.
  6. Melody Bittersweet and the Girls’ Ghostbusting Agency by Kitty French. Oops, another book with ghosts. Not bad for someone who says that she doesn’t really like books with ghosts! I hope there’s a 2nd novel very soon.
  7. An Isolated Incident by Emily Maguire. Another Aussie book, a crime where the focus was more on the fascination and media obsession with a pretty victim. It was very powerful and Emily Maguire is a fantastic writer. All of her books are underrated to me.
  8. A Few Good Women by Camilla Chafer. The 9th (and most recent) in the Lexi Graves series. Another series I devoured and now I have to wait for each new one to come out. I hate waiting! Lol. This series is super fun and one of the rare instances I seem to have picked the correct ‘ship to champion.

I think that’s really about it for my ‘underrated’ books in 2016. I read a few others that I don’t think have perhaps gotten the attention they deserve but they were only released in the last 2 months of 2016 so perhaps it’s a bit early to tell!

What about you? What do you consider to be underrated?

5 responses to “Top 10 Tuesday 17th January

  1. ChrissiReads says:

    I think it is really interesting to think about what is underrated as it really is down to personal opinion! I haven’t read any of these books so they’re definitely not talked about as much! I’m glad that you enjoyed them so much!

    • Agreed. I tried to choose a few that I thought didn’t have a huge amount of ratings/reviews on goodreads but were still easily accessible (probably except the Australian title). But ultimately everyone is going to have a different opinion on what they feel underrated means.

  2. LHauser27 says:

    Hi, A Kiss From Mr. Fitzgerald looks like something I want to try! 🙂 Thanks for the rec!
    My TTT
    Leslie

  3. Lauren K says:

    A Kiss from Mr Fitzgerald is on my TBR pile. It looks great!

Leave a Reply

