All The Books I Can Read

1 girl….2 many books!

Review: No Living Soul by Julie Moffett

on January 3, 2017

no-living-soulNo Living Soul (Lexi Carmichael #9)
Julie Moffett
Carina Press
2016, eBook
Copy courtesy of the publisher via NetGalley

Blurb {from the publisher/Goodreads.com}:

Although I never expected it, my work as a computer geek has me traveling around the world, solving mysteries and fighting bad guys. Sometimes with my friends, but always with trouble by my side. So you’d think by now, I would’ve expected to be plagued by danger when I headed to Egypt with my best friend, Elvis Zimmerman, and boyfriend, Slash, to help track down Elvis’s missing and estranged father. Nope.

Genius runs in the family, and we quickly discovered Elvis’s father is hot on the trail of an ancient and elusive artifact. One that people are willing to kill to find. Tombs, tablets, scarabs, and code come together as we follow a set of clues that has been waiting millennia to be discovered. Cracking code is my speciality, but I never expected to tackle one from fifteen hundred years before the advent of written language.

But the sands of time are running out. We are facing death as it was before the pyramids even existed. If the artifact falls into the wrong hands, we won’t be able to rewrite history. So it’s up to us to find and safeguard the secret to ensure no living soul ever encounters it…again.

This series is still going strong, book 9 now and it continues to be a model of consistency in terms of how much I enjoy each one. I know I sing Lexi’s praises in each book but she is quite refreshing. Yep she’s socially clueless (and sometimes some of these moments are a bit OTT) but she’s so competent at her job that I really enjoy that whole aspect of it. She has great intuition and she rarely needs help. She’s no damsel in distress.

The books alternate action close to home with ones that are set overseas and this is one of the latter with much of the action taking place in Egypt. Apart from a bit of skepticism about Slash getting the okay from his FBI minders to even do this trip (Egypt is not exactly described as the safest of foreign locations for tourists, let alone ones that the American government like to keep their eye on) I was able to sink into this story pretty easily. I found the introduction of the Zimmerman twins’ father really interesting as there’s still quite a lot we don’t know about them, despite both of them being so close to Lexi. Particularly Elvis, who plays rather a large role in this story.

Her relationship with Slash continues to evolve (the two are about to begin living together) and although Lexi has a couple of moments of insecurity in Egypt she kind of still just gets on with things instead of allowing it to dictate her every thought and action. The thing with these two is there’s still a lot of delayed communication which can be a bit frustrating and Lexi has a tendency to kind of jump the gun and think the worse, probably because this is her first real proper relationship. There are times when she is bluntly honest with Slash and yet other times she sits on things when getting them out into the open would’ve been much better.

I find these books just really easy…..something that I can pick up and know that I’ll enjoy it, find the story something that holds my interest. I can also go back and reread most of them, which I’ve done several times to relive the evolution of her relationship with Slash which has been a really fun ride. He’s the one that I’ve liked the best from the 2nd or 3rd book.

Bring on book 10.

8/10

Book #188 of 2016

Leave a Reply

