All The Books I Can Read

1 girl….2 many books!

December & Year of 2016 Reading Wrap Up

on January 1, 2017

December wrap up……

Total Books Read: 15
Fiction: 14
Non-Fiction: 1
Library Books: 0
Books On My TBR List: 3
Books in a Series: 4
Authors I’d Never Read Before: 11
Male/Female Authors: 3/12
Kindle Books: 4
Books I Owned or Bought: 4
Favourite Book(s): Southern Ruby by Belinda Alexandra
Least Favourite Books: I rated nothing below a 3 so I really don’t have a least favourite book this month
Books That Qualify For Challenges: 6

I consider December the ‘return of the male author’! I read 3 books by male authors in that month which was more than I read for the entire rest of the year. December was a very solid month to finish out the year – I read a lot of books that I really enjoyed and nothing was really below average. Pretty much everything I read I have to do a review for so now I have a lot of reviews to sit down and write over the next few days.

2016 Overall Reading Wrap Up…….

Total Books Read: 219
Authors I’d Never Read Before: 101
Male/Female Authors: 5/214
Kindle Books: 161
Most Prolific Reading Month: May – 47 books
Least Prolific Reading Month: November – 9 books

Overall I’m pretty happy with my year in reading. I’ve read more books in previous years but I’ve read less books too. This was a particularly busy year with lots of commitments for my kids and it seemed to just fly. I honestly seem to have just lost a big chunk somewhere along the way.

Where I am disappointed with myself is my reviewing. I definitely didn’t do anywhere near as much reviewing as normal and I’m definitely looking to improve that in 2017. I think I made a pretty good effort in December – I posted 7 reviews and quite a few other posts as well about challenges joined, etc. I’d really love to be able to keep that sort of schedule up!

Last monthly wrap up, I posted a picture of my TBR for December and I’m super happy that I actually read every book that I’d picked out! I’d tried that once before this year and read none of them but I actually found that it helped me in December in cutting down on my indecision and also helping keep books I had for review organised. I made myself another TBR stack for January:

img_4258

December’s TBR had 6 books on it I think, January’s was a little more ambitious at 9 – considering I’ll have more books arriving in January, there’s impulse buys and clicks on NetGalley and iBooks lol. But because I was pretty organised in December, I finished my TBR pile and actually started in on January’s early. I’ve actually read 3 books from this pile already. Most are review copies but the bottom book was a “blind date with a book” I picked up from my local bookstore. I had 3 words to go on describing it. It’s always a bit of a gamble for me doing something like that because I own soooo many books already. The three words were: Alaska. Intricate. Myth. I was intrigued because anything with Alaska, I am so there. It turned out to be The Bright Edge of the World by Eowyn Ivey. I actually have her previous book on my shelf as well so I was incredibly pleased with how my ‘blind date’ turned out! I’m looking forward to reading it.

I haven’t actually made any reading/blogging goals for 2017 yet so I think this week I am going to sit down and have a think about that and hopefully have a post up later in the week about where I want to take the blog this year.

Happy New Year to everyone out there, thank to everyone that read my reviews and to those who left comments, shared books they loved with me or discussed books. I hope you all had an amazing reading year in 2016 and that 2017 brings lots of exciting new books!

 

2 responses to “December & Year of 2016 Reading Wrap Up

  1. wow Bree, what a year you had. I only wish I could get my figures even close to that. x
    Good Luck for you 2017 goals.

  2. Lauren K says:

    Congrats on a great reading year, Bree! You read about as many books in December as I did all year! 😦

Leave a Reply

