All The Books I Can Read

1 girl….2 many books!

My Favourite Fiction Reads of 2016

on December 23, 2016

Welcome to Part 2 of my favourite reads of 2016. This time we’re tackling adult fiction as I had too many faves to put them all in one post. I was just looking at my list as I went to write this and I’ve realised that although there are some different kinds of reads here, a lot of them have something in common.

Legacy Of Hunter's Ridge

The Legacy Of Hunter’s Ridge by Sarah Barrie. Harlequin AUS. My review.

This was my first 5-star read all the way back in January of this year. I really enjoyed this romantic suspense featuring a heroine with post-traumatic stress disorder who had suffered an horrific tragedy. When her mother-in-law has to go into care, Alissa must go and sort out the property and face some of her greatest fears. She also has to deal with a cantankerous neighbour and some very strange happenings going on. It was super enjoyable and there’s another book (set in Hunter’s Ridge featuring a different couple) that I must read at some stage.

image001

King’s Rising by C.S. Pacat. Penguin Books AUS. My review.

Squee! I loved this series. So much so that I actually read the first two books before the third came out to refresh my memory with all the dynamics and mind-trickery etc. Reading the three together was a really awesome experience and I just liked everything about these. So much chemistry but also plot and world building. They’re just really fun and clever and I can’t wait to read something else by C.S. Pacat.

my-brilliant-friend

The Neapolitan Quartet  by Elena Ferrante (translated by Ann Goldstein). Text Publishing.

I’d actually owned this book for about a year before I got around to reading it. Once I started this series, I found that I couldn’t stop and read all four very quickly. I didn’t review them because, well what could I say that hadn’t already been said? Pretty much everyone was reading these. I have been bugging my husband to read them ever since and he keeps telling me ‘one day’.

Eleven Scandals To StartEleven Scandals To Start To Win A Duke’s Heart by Sarah MacLean. Hachette Digital. My (mini) review.

I’d heard good things about this series for a while but had never gotten around to reading them. Browsing iBooks one day, I impulse-clicked the entire lot and I knew immediately this one was going to be my favourite. I’m a bit of a fan of romances where the hero is a bit uptight and repressed. I loved Juliana and Simon. I can reread this one again and again.

Dirty

Dirty by Kylie Scott. Pan MacMillan AUS. My review.

This was one of those books that was funny and enjoyable and I could ignore a few niggly things because I liked the characters so much. As fun as Vaughan and Lydia were (and they were lots of fun) I found myself really intrigued by a secondary story line that was running throughout the book featuring Vaughan’s sister Nell. That had so much angsty potential and it kept me hooked.

Who's That Girl

Who’s That Girl by Mhairi McFarlane. Harper Collins AUS. My review.

Going through all of these books is making me want to read them again. I adored this book. When one of the characters is famous/well known, it’s really hard to get it right but this one was just perfect. The ending gave me a bit of anxiety though!

The Hating Game

The Hating Game by Sally Thorne. Hachette AUS. My review.

Perfection. If I could I would put this book in everyone’s hands. Absolutely my favourite book of the year.

art-of-keeping-secrets

The Art Of Keeping Secrets by Rachael Johns. Harlequin AUS. My review.

Sometimes when an author leaves their comfort zone behind and tries something new, it can’t live up to their previous work. Not the case here….. the deeper Rachael Johns goes the better she gets. This was amazingly believable and showcased human nature and friendships at their most beautiful….and their most ugly.

crosstalk

Crosstalk by Connie Willis. Hachette AUS. My review.

I am somewhat obsessed with this book. I just loved everything about it: the concept, the execution, Briddey and CB, everything.

southern-ruby

Southern Ruby by Belinda Alexandra. Harper Collins AUS.

This one just scrapes in as I only finished it on Wednesday and haven’t had a chance to write a review for it yet. It’s a historical/contemporary blend and they are some of my faves…… this one is set mostly in New Orleans as it goes through some very turbulent times from attempting to dismantle segregation right up until Hurricane Katrina. It’s about 500p but I was hooked for every one of them.

And so that’s the end of Part 2 of my favourite reads for the year. I read a lot of really good books in 2016 and I kind of have a good feeling about 2017. But I said before I dived into listing the reads, that a lot of them had something in common……and that was the fact that I’d class a lot of them as comfort reads. Ones I could pick up whenever I felt down or in a bit of a slump, open them up anywhere and dive in. Quite a few of the books in this list fit nicely into that category and I think it really says something about what I was looking for in particular this year. I really couldn’t deal with depressing and sad books in 2016. In fact if I started a book and it hit me with something like dying family members or surprise cancer it got unceremoniously tossed aside. What I wanted were feel-good, happy reads for the most part. I think that’s still true even now. Perhaps it’s the way 2016 played out….I don’t think it was the best year in lots of ways and escape into warm fuzzy fiction is a good way to deal when real life is a bit depressing!

So long, 2016. Thanks for some good reads but ultimately, I don’t think I’ll really miss you!

One response to “My Favourite Fiction Reads of 2016

  1. Deborah says:

    The Art of Keeping Secrets was the first of Rachael’s books I’ve read and I really really enjoyed it!

Leave a Reply

