All The Books I Can Read

1 girl….2 many books!

Top 10 Most Popular Reviews Of 2016

on December 21, 2016

For a bit of fun, I thought it might be interesting to take a look at the posts I wrote this year that ended up being the most popular – and I’ll just use page views as that marker. I’m curious to see which ones were clicked on the most. I didn’t write as many reviews this year as I have in previous years so my stats are probably well down on what they would’ve been but I’ll take the top 10 in order that were posted in 2016. Maybe I’ll do another post about the most popular pages overall since I began the blog. There are reviews that I wrote years ago that still outscore reviews written this year or last year for page views in 2016. Which is a bit weird!

The most popular page for views this year was my Read in 2016 page where I list everything I’ve read and it’s a good place to jump to reviews as I link them all up. The second most popular post (not review) was my interview with Australian author C.S. Pacat, which was posted around the time as the release of the third book in her amazing Captive Prince series. The third most popular post of 2016 is the first one that’s a review so……here are the top 10 reviews of 2016!

  1. Maestra by L.S. Hilton. Hmm lol. It’s interesting that the review that garnered the most page hits was for a book that I did……not like very much. This book was hyped a lot but I found it ultimately disappointing with an irritating main character (at one point I was actually itching for her to be caught) and then the annoying realisation that it was the first in a series and if I wanted to find out more, I’d have to read more books. Yeah, I’m not going to be reading any more books.
  2. The Paris Secret by Karen Swan. I really enjoyed this book! Set in Paris with the discovery of an apartment that has been locked up since WWII, filled with valuable paintings and artifacts. It was loosely based on a real discovery and I found it a fascinating and enjoyable story.
  3. Outback Sisters by Rachael Johns. This one was way back in February! The 4th book in the super popular Bunyip Bay series, this was another one I really liked.
  4. Happy People Read & Drink Coffee by Agnes Martin-Lugand. This one was a bit of a surprise! This was a book that seemed to really divide people. I know a few that loathed it. I actually really liked it – although I didn’t find it a comfortable read for most of the time. The main character is experiencing a really gut-wrenching sort of grief that is difficult to bear witness to. And it features people at some of their ugliest moments. But it was intriguing and I really want to find out what happens next.
  5. The Hating Game by Sally Thorne. Squee! This one was probably my favourite read of the whole year. I loved it so much. I’ve reread it numerous times. I cannot wait for this author’s next book.
  6. The Edge Of The Fall by Kate Williams. A book I read without realising that it was part of a series, or linked books. I didn’t mind it but the fact that I felt a bit left out of the family dynamics meant it was only a so-so read for me. I might’ve liked it more if I’d read the previous book.
  7. Who’s That Girl? by Mhairi McFarlane. Another book that I adored. This was that perfect execution of ordinary girl meets hot famous actor guy. It really worked. And I’ve been reminded that I need to read more of her books.
  8. The Chosen by Kristina Ohlsson. The 5th installment in a Swedish crime series. I really like this series. I always look forward to receiving the new one in the mail. They’re very well thought out mysteries with lead characters that aren’t in love or fighting simmering sexual tension. It’s refreshing.
  9. Summer Skin by Kirsty Eagar. Aussie YA perfection. This book was the bomb. There aren’t enough books depicting those university years with time in residential colleges. This book brought back so much of my own experience, well over a decade ago now.
  10. King’s Rising by C.S. Pacat. I already mentioned my interview with the author was to coincide with this release. This series was not something I probably would’ve picked up on my own. But the publicist convinced me to read it with a great pitch and I am so grateful because I adored these books.

I think the top 10 threw up an interesting mix. There’s plenty of Aussie stuff of course but there’s a few books set elsewhere and two titles that have been translated into English from another language. There’s m/f romance and m/m romance, adult fiction, crime, fantasy, YA, books I loved, books I didn’t love…..the only thing that seems to be lacking is a male author! In previous years I’ve consciously tried to improve my male/female imbalance (skewed heavily towards women authors) but this year I didn’t bother at all and you can really tell. I’m not far off calculating my final stats for 2016 and I can’t wait to see what my male/female author breakdown is. I know I’ve written quite a few monthly wrap ups where I haven’t read a single male author for that month.

Tomorrow & Friday I’ll have a 2 part post on my fave reads of 2016…. Tomorrow will be fave YA and Friday fave adult fiction.

One response to “Top 10 Most Popular Reviews Of 2016

  1. Deborah says:

    An interesting list and only ONE book here I’ve read. I’ve got a couple of others but am yet to get to them… have heard good things about The Hating Game though.

Leave a Reply

