All The Books I Can Read

1 girl….2 many books!

Prioritising My Reads: What To Read Next? iBooks Edition Pt1

on December 20, 2016

I’m a fan of  a freebie. Who isn’t? You don’t get much for free in this world these days but a bit of an exception to that is iBooks. They have a handy-dandy chart of top ranking free books. Now, these are always going to be a mixed bag. Lots are self-published, picked out as freebies by the author for a bit of promotion. Often they’re the first book in a series, hoping that the freebie first book will suck you in to buying all the rest. This is a tactic that has worked on me quite a bit, I must say. But there’s also a lot of traditionally published freebies and cheapies. Especially around this time of year, where there are lots of summer reading promos, books ranging from 0.99c – $4.99. I’m a big buyer of discounted books on iBooks. In fact quite often I’ll load up a promo of 10 or so books that are priced at $5 and under and buy them all.

Which means I end up with a lot of books on my iPad. That’s okay, it’s pretty well established that I’m a book hoarder. Paperback and eBook form. But sometimes it means that I can’t really decide what it is that I want to read. I’m confronted by too much choice. Or I can’t remember anything about a book after I’ve clicked buy and it just sits there forever because I can’t remember what it is or what it’s about and I’m too lazy to go and look it up on Goodreads. I thought as a bit of fun I’d investigate my iBooks library, pick out some books and create a reference post to help me remember what they are and get me to read them. Because I know I’ve got some interesting things on here, some good books that I picked up because I’d heard good things about them or knew of them but hadn’t gotten around to reading them or buying them in paperback form. So….let’s see what we have.

cast-in-shadow

Cast In Shadow (Book #1 Chronicles of Elantra) by Michelle Sagara.

This one was a freebie I got recently….might’ve been the book of the week or something that iBooks chooses. I know someone who adores this series and has always talked about it. I have to admit, it’s not from a genre I read a lot of and to get started is a big investment – if I love this, the series is already up to #14 or something. This is both good and bad. If I like it then yay! there are lots more. And I love me a good reading binge. But if I like it then I need to shell out quite a bit of money at once in order to have said binge.

a-girl-in-time

A Girl In Time by John Birmingham.

John Birmingham is a long-standing Aussie author. He’s written books like He Died With A Felafel In His Hand, which was turned into a movie starring Noah Taylor in 2001, the Axis of Time series (of which I annoyingly own 2&3) and the Dave Hooper books. He’s also super funny and I follow him on twitter. I believe that this is a foray into self-publishing and it was only recently released. When a prolific author turns to self-publishing, I get curious. So I’d really like to give this a go and see what it’s like.

graceling

Graceling (Graceling Realm #1) by Kristin Cashore.

Bought for around $4.99 because hey I know this book! It’s one of those ones I saw around a lot a few years ago and the third in the series, Bitterblue was super popular on my twitter and blog feed there for a while. But I’d never gotten around to reading it. So I figured here was a chance to pick it up and be able to give it a go at some stage.

snow-like-ashes

Snow Like Ashes (Snow Like Ashes #1) by Sara Raasch.

About the same as above. I think both of these were like a “first in a YA series” promotion type thing. Recently my local shopping centre got a proper bookstore again after a couple of years of not having one. I was in there with my kids not long after they opened, getting them to pick a book each and ended up browsing the YA shelves. I was torn between a couple of books and this was one of them. I ended up picking something else to buy but it was only days later that I was able to buy the eBook version of this one.

seven-sistersThe Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) by Lucinda Riley.

Pretty sure this was a freebie pick of the week. Earlier this year I think it was or maybe last year, I received the second book in this series for review but didn’t end up reading it as I hadn’t read this first book. The series sounded pretty interesting though and it obviously stuck in my mind so when I saw this I decided to grab it so that I could read both books. Of course, that’s easier said than done. The second book is a brick and Goodreads informs me that this one weighs in at over 600p as well. Used to be I loved a good brick – more bang for the buck. But I do admit that these days, sometimes I gravitate towards reads that I know I can knock over quickly – I think this started when I had kids. A book that you could knock over while the baby was sleeping was invaluable. Still, it’s on my radar.

ross-poldark

Ross Poldark (Poldark #1) by Winston Graham.

Pretty sure this was a freebie. I’ve heard some really good things about this series – actually my mother used to read them years ago. I think there was a bit of a resurgence in popularity to coincide with a BBC television series that aired last year. I’ve never seen the BBC do a bad job of any adaptation. Actually, having re-read the description of this I really want to read it. Maybe I’ll read it next. In brief, Ross Poldark returns to England after the American War of Independence to find his father has died and his fiancee Elizabeth has assumed he died and is now engaged to his cousin. There’s some stuff about mines as well. Sign me up. This is a series that stretches to about 12 books (each focusing on a different person I think) so could be another long haul read.

beautiful-bastard

Beautiful Bastard (Beautiful Bastard #1) by Christina Lauren.

Freebie. I’ve heard a lot about these books but I’ve just never gotten around to reading them. I’m not even sure if they’re my sort of thing but I feel like freebies give you the freedom to try anything, even things that you aren’t sure if you’ll like. I download lots of different books that aren’t the normal sort of books I gravitate to, just to see. Sometimes I find a real gem and it’s a good way to spread my reading wings a little bit.

all-is-not-forgotten

All Is Not Forgotten by Wendy Walker.

Finally another stand alone book! Most of what I’ve picked out here seems to be a first in a series book. This is an interesting looking thriller/mystery about a girl who was attacked and then given a drug to make her forget her memory. This has a massive impact on not only her but also her parents as well. I’d forgotten this book was even on here. I really need to organise my iBooks collection in some way.

ember-in-the-ashes

An Ember In The Ashes (An Ember In The Ashes #1) by Sabaa Tahir

Pretty sure this came as a recommendation from an author friend of mine and it seems solidly popular with my Goodreads friend list too. Seems be a sort of Rome-type of world, a slave and a soldier. I’m not sure it’s breaking much new ground but not everything needs to. It’s got enough good press for me to want to give it a try.

disruption

Disruption (Disruption #1) by Jessica Shirvington

I don’t know much about this one but it kind of reminds me of the Matched trilogy from the description, which states that what if a microchip could identify your perfect match? A world where “M-Bands” have become mandatory, they promised an improvement on the smart phone and now control everything. Doesn’t sound too bad.

Okay going to have end this here and maybe call it part 1 because I still have a lot of unexplored titles in my library! Hopefully though, this investigation has dug up a few that I will actually get around to reading in the coming months because they all sound good.

This post has taken me a lot longer to write than I anticipated because I kept getting distracted trawling through Goodreads, looking at books in the series I’ve featured here, trying to find out if the Poldark tv series aired here, looking at what specials iBooks is running at the moment and re-reading several bits from books in my eLibrary that I liked. Also I checked a few times if new installments of series I’m up to date on are out yet. None of them were. Now I’m going to go and crash out on the couch with one of the books I’ve picked out to highlight in this post….I just have to decide which one!

2 responses to “Prioritising My Reads: What To Read Next? iBooks Edition Pt1

  1. Tien says:

    Ha! I love freebies too! Don’t have iBooks though so usually my freebies are kindles. Of the above, I’ve only read Graceling & Disruption and loved them both so enjoy!

Leave a Reply

