All The Books I Can Read

1 girl….2 many books!

November Reading Wrap Up

on December 1, 2016

Total Books Read: 9
Fiction: 9
Non-Fiction: 0
Library Books: 0
Books On My TBR List: 1
Books in a Series: 7
Authors I’d Never Read Before: 5
Male/Female Authors: 0/9
Kindle Books: 6
Books I Owned or Bought: 5
Favourite Book(s): Rebel Of The Sands by Alwyn Hamilton
Least Favourite Books: The Earl’s Desire by Alexia Praks
Books That Qualify For Challenges: 2

I knew when I wrote my October reading wrap up that November was going to be pretty much a bust in terms of getting much reading/reviewing done and it was! I only read 9 books for the entire month and only managed to get one review up. However a few of the books I read were December releases and I am sitting down today to smash out 3-4 reviews and 2 sets of author questions for some exciting stuff I have coming up.

In terms of what I read – it was a mixed bag. No 5-star reads, which in the year of 5-star reads is quite unusual. However 5 of the books I read were really good, solid 4-star reads which is awesome.

This month my youngest graduated kinder (pre-school). Next year he is off to “big school” and we have been involved in a whirlwind of transition sessions at the school, uniform buying (ye gods, that’ll send me broke), end of year kinder concerts and basically, things that are breaking my heart. He’s too little, I’m not ready for this yet! He looks so ridiculously small in his school uniform and he’s such a shy and self-conscious little fellow that my heart is full of fear for how he will adjust. Academically he’s very ready. He’s teaching himself to read, he can write quite well, he knows his numbers and understands the basics of simple arithmetic. He knows the date and month, the seasons etc. But socially, he’s very shy and the school he’s going to is very large. There will be around 200 students in his year alone and the grand total of students at the school will probably tip over 2000. Even after a year at kinder, his circle of friends is small and he’s not the sort to go up and introduce himself and ask to play. But although at his first transition session he was super nervous, yesterday during his second he went off with the teacher without a backward glance, waving goodbye which makes me super hopeful. I think he will love the school work – he just needs a few kids to help him feel at ease socially and he should thrive. Ugh, this parenting stuff is stressful! You never think of worrying about stuff like this.

Back to books! My Dec TBR pile is a little bit exciting! In fact it’s so exciting I am going to post a picture of it.

img_4051It’s a conservative 6 books but I always end up reading a couple of eBooks too so I thought I would try and keep it from being overwhelming given I anticipate December will be a bit busy with holiday-type things! Apart from A Court of Thorns & Roses they are all books I have received for review.

Hope you all had a good November reading month….. If you’ve read anything on my December TBR or plan to read something on there, be sure to let me know! And if you plan on reading anything else, be sure to let me know that too.

7 responses to “November Reading Wrap Up

  1. Lily Malone says:

    Oh, Bree – I’m not sure about books but your post about kindergarten and big school hit my heart. He will be okay! Kids have a great way of adjusting and you’re right, it will only need one or two little friends to set him on his way.
    Good luck 🙂

    • Thanks Lily! With Child #1 I didn’t have this worry as he’s an incredibly social animal – the more people around him the better! When I pick him up from school, kids of all ages and random teachers are always saying hi to him or calling out to him, etc. But Child #2 is totally different and I just hope he finds those core friendships to help him find his zone.

  2. I like how you broke it down at the very beginning. That was cool! (May steal it! LOL). 9 books isn’t bad, especially when you consider how many people might not even read one or two a month! And 5 new authors you’ve never read before is great!

    November 2016 Wrap Up

  3. Deborah says:

    One of my girlfriend’s son is off to school (prep) next year and she said the same thing re cost – not just uniforms but the extras they need. She’s trying to get what she can second hand, but…

    And 9 books is still a pretty good reading month!

    • Ugh, yes and it all comes at the worst time of year either during or just after the Christmas period! We have entirely new uniforms for my youngest and the oldest also needs a few new bits and pieces to replace what he’s outgrown. Then there’s fees, then there’s the oldest’s device program fee (govt subsidised iPad for learning etc).

      It never ends lol

Leave a Reply

