All The Books I Can Read

1 girl….2 many books!

October Reading Wrap Up

on November 4, 2016

Total Books Read: 16
Fiction: 16
Non-Fiction: 0
Library Books: 0
Books On My TBR List: 3
Books in a Series: 10
Authors I’d Never Read Before: 4
Male/Female Authors: 0/16
Kindle Books: 14
Books I Owned or Bought: 10
Favourite Book(s): Frankie, by Shivaun Plozza
Least Favourite Books: The Gift Of A Lifetime, by Melissa Hill
Books That Qualify For Challenges: 4

Oh hayfever, how I hate you.

Spring has come late to my area of the world and with it, violent hayfever. Not only do I get it but both of my kids are affected too, which makes life pretty difficult at this time of year. Over the counter stuff really only does so much (ie not much) and the lack of sleep, itchy eyes, blocked and yet somehow also running noses are the pits. A side effect of that is that I find concentrating on things such as reading pretty difficult as my eyes get very sore. In fact at the moment, one of them is swollen and bloodshot – must’ve burst some blood vessels at some stage lol. It’s awful.

The positives – October wasn’t a bad reading month! 16 books is about as good as it gets for me these days and I read a few really good ones. Apart from my fave listed up there, I also really liked A Few Good Women by Camilla Chafer, Santa and the Saddler by Cathryn Hein, Bellwether by Connie Willis and a super exciting book, The Pretty Delicious Cafe by Danielle Hawkins. I looove her books and that one, which is out later this month, was a super lovely surprise from the fabulous people at Harper Collins AU. I didn’t even know she had a new book out and I absolutely had to read it as soon as it arrived.

I talked in my last couple of reading wrap ups about doing a book cull and I actually did it! I culled probably close to 300ish titles from my shelves. To be honest, about 40 of those were Tom Clancy and Clive Cussler novels that I was sent for review that I just never read because they’re not my thing. Quite a few of them were nice hardbacks as well – just not the sort of books I like to read. And they’re bricks, lol. There was recently a drive in my neighbourhood to donate clothing, toys and books for hampers and things to be made up for Christmas so I donated probably 100 or more to that. I sent pics of everything I was culling to a friend of mine and she picked whatever she wanted – which ended up being about 3-4 boxes worth! I also made up a box of younger-level YA for her daughter, who is about 11 and a mad reader.

I still have some work to do regarding my shelves. I didn’t go in depth into my shelves, I just pulled out books I knew from first glance that I haven’t and never will read or didn’t like. There are others that I need to decide and there’s one shelf (my TBR shelf) that I didn’t tackle at all yet. I will do a second cull in the coming months and look to further reduce my numbers. I’ve already made some more shelf space though, which is exciting.

I don’t know how my reading will go this month – as the year gets closer to the end, things are getting insanely busy. My kids have birthday parties (plural) what seems like every day of every weekend. My youngest has group OT as well as prep transition days and end of year kinder concerts and it feels like each day is packed with things. If I make it through a book or two a week, I think I’ll be happy.

One response to “October Reading Wrap Up

  1. Deborah says:

    The good thing about moving every so often is that it makes me do a cull of my books (and other stuff). I’m running out of space and don’t really want to buy more shelves so it’s forced me to make some tough choices.

    I’ve also donated a heap of new releases I’ve read / reviewed or not read to a book sale for a local hospital.

Leave a Reply

