All The Books I Can Read

1 girl….2 many books!

September Reading Wrap Up

on October 1, 2016

Total Books Read: 9
Fiction: 9
Non-Fiction: 0
Library Books: 0
Books On My TBR List: 3
Books in a Series: 6
Authors I’d Never Read Before: 3
Male/Female Authors: 0/9
Kindle Books: 9
Books I Owned or Bought: 5
Favourite Book(s): The Art Of Keeping Secrets, by Rachael Johns & Crosstalk by Connie Willis
Least Favourite Books: Call Of The Dragon by Elianne Adams
Books That Qualify For Challenges: 2

Ok so September all round was a reading fail. It was kind of a blogging fail too – I had wanted to get back into the swing of things posting 2-3x every week but seeing as how I read so little, I ended up posting way less than I wanted to. However, I do kind of have excuses….

Firstly, my parents spent a week at our place for the 5th birthday of my youngest and I spent pretty much no time reading or on the computer while they were there. Secondly about two days before they arrived, I made a snap decision to go back with them to their place when they left ours, taking my two kids for a holiday. The weather at home was crappy and miserable and the weather where my parents live is amazeballs so we’ve been here the past week and it has been fabulous! 24 and sunny EVERY FREAKING DAY and so we’ve been going out visiting parks and family and just generally soaking up the sun. I’ve read a couple of books since I arrived here (couple is right, I’ve just checked and it’s 2. And one of those was yesterday!) but mostly I haven’t really been concerned with reading. I’ve been doing other things.

In last month’s reading wrap up, I singled out a handful of books I wanted to get read in September. Just going to throw it out there, that was also an epic fail. I actually didn’t complete a single one of them. I started one but it got on my nerves after a dozen pages (funny that, it was actually called Nerve) and I threw it on the DNF pile. I’m here for another week and the books I singled out last month are all physical copies that are back at home so it’ll still be a while before I get to any of those! I only have my iPad with me but I have a couple of interesting sounding books from NetGalley and iBooks so maybe I’ll get a couple books read this week. But maybe I won’t.

Last month I also mentioned that I intended to do a bookcull. That was going to be my project the second week of the Victorian school holidays but then I decided to go on vacation instead so that didn’t get done either. Instead I will be getting stuck into that when I get home and I’m even more determined now to bring some order to my chaotic and overflowing shelves. As I’m reading a bit less these days I’m acquiring books at a bit of a slower rate too so I’m hoping I can get numbers down to a manageable level and even have some room to continue adding new books. That might be a bit of a stretch, as I’ve pretty much run out of places to put bookshelves in my house but I’m really starting to change my attitude about book hoarding and just be about keeping books that I really love. I’m much more receptive to eBooks now than I was because I can have sooooo many of them and they don’t take up any physical space.

Not going to pick some books to read this month – I think I’ll try that again next month when I’m back at home for the entire month and have my TBR pile easy at hand.

4 responses to “September Reading Wrap Up

  1. Kate W says:

    Yeah, as soon as I make a list of books to read, they’re usually the last ones to get read!

  2. Susan Legg says:

    I’m actually thrilled that your book reading resume failed this last month. There others things in life apart from reading altho it takes up a huge part of my life, but just sometimes we need a break, so good for you, please don’t sound guilty but enjoy other things in life that come out of the blue. Always look forward to your opinions & so far have never been disappointed. Till next month…

  3. Deborah says:

    Oh yes, travel and holidays make it hard to keep to set plans! I had a mixed reading month last month – in terms of productivity, but enjoyed most of what I read!

  4. Enjoy your holidays Bree 🙂 I actually just underwent a huge book cull myself, boxed up about 100 books to donate. It felt great!

Leave a Reply

