All The Books I Can Read

1 girl….2 many books!

Review: Breaking Him by Sherilee Gray

on September 14, 2016

breaking-himBreaking Him
Sherilee Gray
Entangled Publishing LLC
2016, eBook
Copy courtesy of the publisher via NetGalley

Blurb {from the publisher/Goodreads.com}:

Folks in town call him a monster—say he’s dangerous. But I know him simply as Elijah Hays, the quiet, gentle giant who works with the horses on my ranch. I can feel him watching me, that steady intense gaze making me crave things I don’t quite understand, burn in a way that frightens me. He’s always kept his distance…until that night.

I remember him coming to my rescue, me following him into the barn, giving him his first taste of a woman, and his inexperienced yet barely reined touch turning me to ash.

Now all I can think about is exposing the dark desire I see deep inside him—having him turn those dark desires on me. That low, gritty voice rasping orders in my ear. Those huge, rough hands holding me down when a storm blows in.

I want his surrender. His control. I want to break him…and have him break me…

I like trying to find romance books that are kind of outside the box – different types of heroes, heroines or a twist on classic tropes. I requested this book because it has a virgin hero, which is not something I come across a lot of in reading. They’re out there, if you look for them but when one crosses my path I find it intriguing. Romance has traditionally revolved around many a “manwhore or rogue/sexually inexperienced female” pairing so something that throws that upside down is fun.

The thing is, I think it’s only fun in idea. Because there’s not a lot about Elijah here that actually really fits him being not just a virgin but a man who has had basically no sexual experience with a woman ever. There’s a kissing scene where it’s quite obvious for a few moments that it’s his first kiss, where Abigail is leading and coaxing him into it but then basically Elijah becomes……every other hero, ever. I’m not even sure there was a point to making him so inexperienced because he morphs into a bossypants with stamina up the wazoo and dominant tendencies in about three and a half minutes. I’d have liked that to play out a little slower, because Abigail in the beginning was a great sexually confident character who does initiate their first encounters but then it becomes about him “punishing” her, spanking her etc and omg haven’t I read this two thousand times already? I’d have found it more interesting and more fitting if Abigail had continued a more dominant role for longer.

I did find Elijah’s background very interesting but it wasn’t really explored enough to make it anything other than a vague part of the book. It could’ve been something that was really expanded upon, both his experiences and other people’s reactions to it as well as what it was like for him to be given a chance on Abigail’s ranch. Super hot sex is all well and good (and there is a lot of sex) but it’s also about creating an emotional connection between the characters, a deep sharing of thoughts, history and feelings and I just didn’t feel like the story did enough for me there. It merely skimmed over things and parts of the word count seemed a bit wasted on weird things like the scenario with the bank manager and Abigail’s less-than-supportive friend. Also there were things that were wrapped up rather quickly, such as Elijah’s road to acceptance within the community.

This one was just okay for me.

4/10

Book #166 of 2016

 

Leave a Reply

