All The Books I Can Read

1 girl….2 many books!

August Reading Wrap Up

on September 1, 2016

Total Books Read: 18
Fiction: 18
Non-Fiction: 0
Library Books: 0
Books On My TBR List: 5
Books in a Series: 8
Authors I’d Never Read Before: 9
Male/Female Authors: 0/18
Kindle Books: 13
Books I Owned or Bought: 12
Favourite Book(s): An Isolated Incident by Emily Maguire and Lethal Lifestyles by LynDee Walker
Least Favourite Books: Happy Pants Café by Mimi Jean Pamfiloff
Books That Qualify For Challenges: 4

All in all August wasn’t too bad a month for reading. Read a few books that I really liked and quite a few that were pretty good. I also acquired a few new books as well that I’m pretty excited to get to. I attended the first 2 days of the Melbourne Writers Fest (still have 3 more to go, Fri/Sat/Sun) and I’m sure that I’ll pick up another book or two while I’m there. I’ll do a little wrap up post of my MWF sessions soon, they’ve all been excellent so far.

I’m going to try something a little different this month and single out 5 or so books that I want to read in September. The first 3 are books I purchased last week at MWF:

  • A Mother’s Story by Rosie Batty with Bryce Corbett
  • Tell The Truth, Shame The Devil by Melina Marchetta
  • Black Rock City by A.S. Patric

A couple of books for review that I didn’t get to in August:

  • Nerve by Jeanne Ryan
  • Barbed Wire & Cherry Blossoms by Anita Heiss

And one that’s been on my shelf a while:

  • The Beast’s Garden by Kate Forsyth

Let’s see how I go! Sometimes I feel like I spend so long trying to decide what book to read that it all becomes too hopeless and I just give up and go and do something else. Hopefully by having a few that I want to get through this month it will eliminate some of that indecisiveness and give me something to pick up without staring at my shelves or the books on my iPad for ages. Obviously there are other books that I’ll be reading too, but I’ve singled these ones out specifically as ones I want to read to give me some direction at times when I’m being ridiculously indecisive.

Which kind of brings me to something else I intend to do this month and that is a book cull. Those words frighten me but it’s getting to the stage where I cannot physically fit any more bookshelves into my house and the way in which they are precariously and haphazardly crammed with books is beginning to bother me. I look at them and I feel stressed and annoyed because I know that if I want to find a certain book, it’s going to take a long time and an annoying amount of shuffling books around to do it. I know there are books that are on my shelves that I didn’t care for, or will never read again. Some I never read in the first place because they just weren’t my thing. They deserve to go on to better homes where they’ll be appreciated and I need some space so that I can arrange things to be more tidy and less chaotic. So sometime in September I am going to pull every book out of my 6 bookshelves double and triple stacked and look at it with an attempt at impartiality. Did I love it? Will I read it again one day? Do I really want to keep it? If I can’t answer yes to those 3 questions, it has to go. If I haven’t read it (and believe me, there are hundreds of those) then I have to do my best to decide if I will read it one day or if it’s just a “maybe”. Then I also have to take into consideration my husband’s thoughts on lots of books too. It’s going to be a fun* project!

*= may not actually be fun

 

One response to “August Reading Wrap Up

  1. poseidons99 says:

    good luck on culling! (:

Leave a Reply

