All The Books I Can Read

1 girl….2 many books!

Review: Curious Minds by Janet Evanovich & Phoef Sutton

on August 16, 2016

Curious MindsCurious Minds (Knight & Moon #1)
Janet Evanovich & Phoef Sutton
Headline Review
2016, 336p
Copy courtesy of Hachette AUS via NetGalley

Blurb {from the publisher/Goodreads.com}:

They couldn’t be less compatible, but they make a great team…

Emerson Knight is introverted, eccentric, and has little-to-no sense of social etiquette. Good thing he’s also brilliant, rich and (some people might say) handsome.

Riley Moon has just graduated from Harvard. Her assertive (some people might say aggressive) spitfire attitude has helped land a dream job at Blane-Grunwald bank. At least, Riley Moon thinks it’s her dream job until she is given her first assignment: babysitting Emerson Knight.

An inquiry about missing Knight money leads to a missing man, missing gold and a life-and-death race across the country. Through the streets of Washington D.C., and down into the underground vault of the Federal Reserve in New York City, an evil plan is exposed. A plan so sinister that only a megalomaniac could think it up, and only the unlikely duo of the irrepressibly charming Emerson Knight and the tenacious Riley Moon could hope to stop it…

Oh Janet Evanovich. I have such mixed feelings about you. Fond nostalgia mixed with disappointment. If anyone had asked me between the years 2000-2006 what my favourite author was, I would’ve said Janet Evanovich with absolutely zero hesitation. I loved the Stephanie Plum books until probably number eleven but I hung in there, buying them until I think, 16 or 17. And then I read them from my local library until 21 and then I just gave up completely. I got sick of rating them 1 star and being disappointed with pretty much each installment. It was time to cut my losses.

But apparently I can’t fully quit Evanovich because the promise of a new series has me clicking the request button on NetGalley to see what is being offered up. Perhaps the fact that it’s….co-written? (I don’t even know how this works) with someone else, will mean that the crazy Evanovich things that bug me (old people, fat jokes, animal moments) will be missing from this new offering.

I’ve read a slew of books recently with characters that are brilliant but “eccentric”. Emerson Knight is one of these – he’s inherited a ginormous amount of money which is held in the form of gold bars. He wants to view these gold bars and his bank sends a junior representative in Riley Moon to tell him that nope, you can’t just go and look at them but sure, they’re totally safe. Emerson isn’t the sort of person who just accepts being told these things, he is determined to go and see them for himself. He suspects shenanigans are afoot and it turns out the bank seems to have misplaced a few other things, like employees. Emerson is determined to track down his missing money manager and his gold and he decides that seeing as Riley is there, she’s going to help him.

This was okay. I didn’t love it, didn’t hate it. It was just….alright.  I think it had some potential, had they decided to make the mystery really meaty and interesting but in the end, it didn’t play out that way and I guess of course it didn’t play out that way because this is a ‘funny’ book, not a serious book. A lot of the focus is on how mismatched Emerson and Riley are. Emerson is good looking but socially awkward and a bit odd. Riley is super focused and determined to work her way up the ladder. She has two degrees and is amazingly grateful to have landed a position at the bank. She doesn’t want to do anything to jeopardise her future there but unfortunately for her Emerson doesn’t care too much about that and just merrily barrels along, thinking up crazy plots and schemes. He has a lot of random contacts in a lot of places which enables him to pull many things off with barely a hitch. Reading this book requires you let a lot go and don’t worry about why they weren’t arrested seven million times.

Riley and Emerson do have an interesting dynamic and I did like a few of their scenes together. This is the first in a series, so I’m unsure of exactly how it will progress but there’s a very slight undercurrent of possible romantic tension. It’s not very well developed yet, more like the hint that it might be. I hope however, if that’s the direction they choose to go in, that a third person isn’t introduced to make it a triangle. I really don’t think anyone wants Stephanie-Morelli-Ranger Mk II to spin out for another infinity number of books. The two of them being so different could make for very interesting times ahead if that’s the direction they choose. If not – I’m happy for it to be a friendship dynamic.

I have to say, I was interested enough in this to read the next one, just to see how it goes. So I guess Janet Evanovich’s name still has some sort of power over me because I probably wouldn’t have even glanced at it without it. The second I don’t enjoy one, that’s it though. I’m not hanging in hoping for it to get better for a half dozen books like I did when the Stephanie Plum novels went haywire!

6/10

Book #143 of 2016

One response to “Review: Curious Minds by Janet Evanovich & Phoef Sutton

  1. Marg Bates says:

    It might be interesting to see if there is a sequel published. there was at least one Evanovich co-written first books in a series that didn’t go anywhere.

Leave a Reply

