All The Books I Can Read

1 girl….2 many books!

Review: No Strings Attached by Julie Moffett

on July 7, 2016

No Strings AttachedNo Strings Attached (Lexi Carmichael #8)
Julie Moffett
Carina Press
2016, eBook
Copy courtesy of the publisher via NetGalley

Blurb {from the publisher/Goodreads.com}:

Oops, I did it again…

Leave it to me, Lexi Carmichael, to become a target for an elite organization of cyber criminals simply by being in the wrong place at the right time. As if I weren’t already freaking out about planning my best friend’s bachelorette party, I now have to keep my eyes peeled for people trying to kill me.

After accidentally intercepting a dangerous hack into the NSA and discovering the involvement of a foreign country in said hack, things begin to get seriously complicated. Diplomats, danger and spies, oh, my!

With Slash and my loyal friends by my side, I’m in a race against time to stop a team of sophisticated hackers on a deadly mission. My team of geeks is brilliant…but derailing an international plot for revenge will take everything we’ve got.

There’s something to be said for a comforting series. The sort where each new installment is exciting and you know what you’re mostly going to get but that’s the drawcard. This is such a series for me. To be honest, the previous book was probably for me, the weakest installment but this one? This is definitely one of the best so it was awesome to see such a strong return to form.

Lexi is so much fun and I love that in this book, she really shines. She’s smart, that’s always reinforced in each book but I think this one is the best example of the fact that Lexi can and will step up and lead when she has to. She doesn’t need to play second fiddle to Slash and his amazing coding/hacking abilities, she’s right up there with him and when Slash is incapacitated for part of this book, Lexi effortlessly finishes what the two of them started.

This book also has some great growth for Slash and Lexi’s relationship. Slash’s suggestion of how to deal with the cyber threat doesn’t sit well with Lexi and I think that highlights the differences in their personalities. Lexi is a sunny personality, the light side and she retains that despite all that has happened to her in the previous books. Slash is more a darker personality – which is I think, why he’s drawn to Lexi in the first place. She has that sort of innocence and positive outlook on the world that he needs and the two of them balance each other out very well in this book. They have some really good discussions about their work and the sort of action they might need to take. I have also really enjoyed Lexi’s growing confidence in Slash’s feelings for her and her understanding of how relationships work. She doesn’t seem to require so much assistance from Basia these days to analyse every single thing (thankfully!) and she appears more comfortable with the intimacies of sharing your life with someone. She still queries things and there’s an internal thought process but Slash has gone from someone she was kind of in awe of to her boyfriend. The guy she loves, not an untouchable figure that she can’t quite believe wants to be with her. I really appreciate that their relationship is steady and that there aren’t constant flirtations with other characters or weird break ups and getting back together.

The plot in this one was super fun and involved Lexi doing a lot of things that didn’t feel like as much of a stretch as some other novels (rescuing people in Africa, traipsing through an Indonesian jungle, etc). I found it just as action packed, despite the fact that it all takes place close to home and it just felt like a more accurate reflection of their jobs and Slash’s vague role at the NSA. This book lifted the curtain a little on that and definitely gave a strong idea of what his career might be like moving forward, as well as how their relationship will advance too. I’m not sure how long the series is going to keep pretending that Lexi works with/for Finn, she is hardly ever there! She always manages to get herself involved in something crazy. Finn as a character has really dropped off too but to be honest I don’t think that really matters for the series at all. The core group for me is Lexi, Slash and the Zimmerman twins. I don’t even find Basia a necessary part but given she’s Lexi’s best friend and that she’s marrying a Zimmerman, I’m sure she’ll always continue to be around.

The next installment is due out in January next year (another thing I like, you’re never waiting super long for the next one) and I’m pretty excited about some of the directions that the series has gone in. This one is definitely my favourite and I think, the best written of the series.

9/10

Book #130 of 2016

Leave a Reply

