All The Books I Can Read

1 girl….2 many books!

April Reading Wrap Up

on May 7, 2016

Total Books Read: 17
Fiction: 17
Non-Fiction: 0
Library Books: 0
Books On My TBR List: 2
Books in a Series: 12
Authors I’d Never Read Before: 8
Male/Female Authors: 0/17
Kindle Books: 15
Books I Owned or Bought: 9
Favourite Book(s): Dirty by Kylie Scott, Who’s That Girl by Mhairi McFarlane
Books That Qualify For Challenges: 1

This has been a rough week. So much so that it took me 7 days to notice that I hadn’t done an April wrap up of my reading yet. The reason it’s been so rough? On Monday I received news that a friend of mine had passed away. Now we weren’t super close friends. We met in 2014 when our sons were both in prep and became friends, inviting each other to their birthdays, etc. We became friendly…..we probably would’ve become much closer friends had she not been diagnosed with cancer that year. It was a grim diagnosis from the very beginning and she fought to beat it but just 18 months later she lost her fight. She was only 38 years old and leaves behind a husband and 2 children who are 8 and 6. Yesterday I went to her funeral which was a mix of heartbreak and genuinely fond, happy remembrance. She chose the music and when Pink’s “Get This Party Started” kicked off the funeral, you knew you were in for some laughs, even through the sadness.  She was a strong, genuinely good person and I’m glad I knew her. I was very affected by her death, I think perhaps because it hits so very close to home. We are similar in age. Our kids are almost the same ages. I can’t imagine what it must’ve been like for her, during those months after they realised there was really nothing they could do to fight anymore, medically. To look at your children and realise you won’t even know what they will look like as adults…..is a horror I cannot even contemplate. Children shouldn’t lose their mothers, ever. Her 8yo was brave enough to get up and speak a few sentences yesterday, a testament I think, to the wonderful job they’ve done with him. I’ve every confidence that her husband can continue alone – he’s a fantastic dad. But he shouldn’t have to.

In between all of that I’ve been sick. Nothing too bad, just a minor cold but I’ve been taking refuge from it and the sadness I’ve been feeling in reading…..so I think in May so far I’ve read almost as many books, if not more as I did in the entirety of April! So the next wrap up I write will be a big one but to be honest…..there wasn’t a lot in April that really stood out for me. I had 2 books that I really loved, mentioned above. Both were five star reads for me and there were a few 4s as well. Books that I enjoyed but to be honest, probably couldn’t tell you much about them now.

4 responses to “April Reading Wrap Up

  1. Kate W says:

    Heartbreaking.

  2. Kazen says:

    What a month – I’m glad reading has been a welcoming refuge for you. I’m looking forward to your May reviews… there must been some good books in there if you blew through them so quickly! 😉

  3. Deborah says:

    Sorry to hear about your friend. Even if we don’t know someone well, losing a contemporary or acquaintance can be hard. as I think It reminds us of our own mortality.

Leave a Reply

