All The Books I Can Read

1 girl….2 many books!

Top 10 Tuesday 8th March

on March 8, 2016

TTT

Top 10 Tuesday is a weekly book-related meme created and hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic:

10 Characters Everyone Loves…But I Just Don’t Get

  1. I would imagine I am going to alienate a lot of people with this one but honestly, top of my list is Jamie Fraser from the Outlander novels. I just don’t get it. A 23yo virgin that has to beat his wife in a scene so that people think he has her under control. And this guy is a sex symbol? Okaaaaaay.
  2. Lula from the Stephanie Plum novels. Lula was a little amusing when she first began showing up but she’s become far too big and taken over far too much of the story line (and I use that word loosely). I don’t find her at all funny anymore. At all.
  3. Bryce Clark from the Temptation series by K.M. Golland. A self-confessed internet stalker who systematically broke up a marriage in order to inexplicably get who and what he wanted. Nope, no thanks.
  4. Everyone in the Shatter Me books by Tehereh Mafi. The first book really got on my nerves not only in the way it was written but also the three characters. But I’m clearly alone here as there’s plenty of love, especially for everyone’s little favourite sociopath, Warner.
  5. Dani in Karen Marie Moning’s Fever novels. I think I was the only one who cheered when I found out the narrative was going back to Mac. I cannot stand Dani and being in her head for most of Iced was something akin to torture. I don’t like the newest incarnation of her either. I keep hoping that she doesn’t pick up the full time narration again….ever.
  6. Cage York from various Sea Breeze novels, by Abbi Glines. Two words: Massive. Douche.
  7. Mal from Play, by Kylie Scott. I really loved the first book in the Stage Dive series and I liked the appearances Mal made in that book. So I was looking forward to him getting his own book only when he did, I discovered that I couldn’t stand him. A hyperactive manchild.
  8. Clay from the Otherworld series by Kelley Armstrong. I tried reading the first novel of this series, Bitten because I knew so many people who loved it and assured it me it was amazing. Unfortunately it ended up being a DNF because I hated Clay so much.
  9. Death in the Arcana Chronicles by Kresley Cole. Boo hoo, he’s immortal and lonely. I got the feeling I was really supposed to become team Death after bk2 but I just didn’t care.
  10. Mr Rochester in Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte. Yeah, perhaps this is a controversial one to end with as well but I was never entirely sure what the big deal was. And that was before the secret in the attic was revealed!

There we go – 10 characters that seem quite well loved or really popular that I just don’t really understand! Looking forward to finding out if there are any like-minded souls out there or if everyone thinks I’m crazy!

 

6 responses to “Top 10 Tuesday 8th March

  1. I am a die-hard Jane Eyre fan. However, I do believe that I wouldn’t be if she hadn’t left him in the dust. I’m not surprised to read his name on this list because…he’s kind of not entirely like-able. He has to be taken down quite a few notches before he’s worthy enough to be with Jane. Cool list!

  2. I 100% agree with you about Shatter Me – I was so mad I was almost seeing red by the time I got to the end of that one. I also agree with you about Mr. Rochester – don’t get me wrong I like Jane Eyre – mostly for Jane. Like Jess above me, I wouldn’t have been upset if she left him in the dust.

    Check out my TTT.

  3. ChrissiReads says:

    ‘everyone’s favourite sociopath Warner’ that really made me laugh! 😀 Great list!

  4. I haven’t read most of these but I did enjoy the Shatter Me series, though there is some love/hate with many characters. Haven’t read the Outlander books but I do love the show, though I think the love is the Scot thing 😉 My Top Ten

  5. Aditi says:

    I’ve read the first of the Shatter Me series, and I really liked it! I haven’t read most of the others, but Outlander is WAY op on my TBR!

    Have a lovely week! New Follower

  6. Carrie says:

    ha! I’m inclined to agree with you about Mr. Rochester. My TTT

Leave a Reply

