All The Books I Can Read

1 girl….2 many books!

February Reading Wrap Up

on March 1, 2016

Total Books Read: 19
Fiction: 19
Non-Fiction: 0
Library Books: 0
Books On My TBR List: 4
Books in a Series: 11
Authors I’d Never Read Before: 6
Male/Female Authors: 0/19
Kindle Books: 5
Books I Owned or Bought: 7
Favourite Book(s): Kings Rising by C.S. Pacat, My Brilliant Friend by Elena Ferrante, April’s Rainbow by Cathryn Hein, The Story Of A New Name by Elena Ferrante, Those Who Leave And Those Who Stay by Elena Ferrante, The Story Of The Lost Child by Elena Ferrante, Summer Skin by Kirsty Eagar, Already Dead by Jaye Ford, Outback Sisters by Rachael Johns, Darkest Place by Jaye Ford and The Yearbook Committee by Sarah Ayoub.
Least Favourite Book(s):  January by Audrey Carlan
Books That Qualify For Challenges: 10

What a month February was!

Out of 19 books read, I rated 11 of them 5 stars on Goodreads which translates to a 9 or 10 on my blog. I actually think this is something of a record since I began blogging almost 6 years ago. When I did my 2015 wrap up, I only rated about 20 books for the whole year 5 starts on Goodreads….so in one month I recorded more than half of my entire tally for the previous year.

In February I finally succumbed to curiosity and the hype to pick up the first book in the Neapolitan Quartet by Elena Ferrante. This books, translated from Italian in stunning form have been making big waves around for a while now and I’d bought the first one almost a year ago. Thankfully I found 2&3 in my local bookstore for an excellent price and then made a trip to Melbourne to pick up the 4th book.  I started the first book on the 8th of February and finished the 4th on the 17th with a couple of novellas thrown in between them to break it up a bit. All four of them are amazing – books 1&2 in particular are really something else. I haven’t bothered to really sit down and review them because they’ve been reviewed many times critically but if you’ve read them, feel free to leave me any thoughts in the comments….and if you haven’t, do yourself a favour and pick up the first book. They are compelling, unputdownable reading.

February also saw some good Aussie YA in the form of newly published books Summer Skin by Kirsty Eagar and The Yearbook Committee by Sarah Ayoub. I am a big Kirsty Eagar fan and Sarah Ayoub’s first book was fantastic so I was really excited about these two and super happy that both of them lived up to expectations. I also read 2 books by Australian suspense author Jaye Ford, Already Dead which has been hiding on my kindle since last year and her new release, Darkest Place. Both were awesome.

One thing I have noticed is that I’ve read 34 books for 2016 and none of them are by a male author. Last year I tried hard to improve my male/female ratios. I’m like the opposite of the New York Review of Books, etc. I read so many more female authors than I do male authors but obviously I’m not going too well with improving my numbers of books read by male authors this year!

First day of March today and this month has a lot to live up to! Given February was such a standout I don’t expect March to get to the same heights but I’m hoping that it will bring a few more 5 star reads. I have a list of books that I would really love to buy but I’m limiting myself to one purchase each time I visit a bookstore so it’s going to take me a while to get through them. My wishlist is as follows:

  • Your Heart Is A Muscle The Size Of A Fist by Sunil Yapa
  • A Little Life by Hanya Yanagihara
  • An Ember In The Ashes by Sabaa Tahir
  • Reckless by Hasan Ali Toptas
  • A Kiss For Mr Fitzgerald by Natasha Lester
  • The Other Side of the World by Stephanie Bishop*
  • Hope Farm by Peggy Frew*
  • The World Without Us by Mireille Juchau*
  • Anchor Point by Alice Robinson*
  • The Sidekicks by Will Kostakis

*  = longlisted for the Stella Prize 2016. I’ll wait for the shortlist to be announced because I’m hoping to read it this year and so I’ll have to buy those listed on the shortlist first.

Hope everyone else had a wonderful reading month!

 

4 responses to “February Reading Wrap Up

  1. michelletw says:

    What a great month. I love reading your monthly wrapups, they inspire me to want to write one… but I never do and probably never will.

    An Ember In the Ashes and A Kiss from Mr Fitzgerald are both books I loved, I hope you enjoy them.

  2. Looks like a fantastic month.

    19 books is amazing…I manage three or four a month. 🙂

    Have a wonderful week, and I hope March is a great reading month too.

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    My Blog

  3. Yvo says:

    Looks like you had a great reading month! I have A Little Life and An Ember In The Ashes waiting to be read on my shelves; hopefully I will be able to get to them some time this year. Happy reading!

  4. lou johnson says:

    You could redress the odds and challenge your genre preference too if you try Adrian Simon’s, memoir, Milk-Blood. http://www.theauthorpeople.com/milk-blood I’d be very happy to send you an ebook or paperback. Cheers Lou

    Sent from my Iphone

    >

Leave a Reply

