All The Books I Can Read

1 girl….2 many books!

Top 10 Tuesday 19th January

on January 19, 2016

TTT

Top 10 Tuesday is a weekly meme created and hosted by the Broke & the Bookish. Today’s topic:

Books Recently Added To My TBR

image

The Eye Of The Sheep by Sophie Laguna. Picked this up in a funky little bookstore/cafe combo on my recent holiday. It’s the winner of the 2015 Miles Franklin award, probably Australia’s highest literary honour. I’ve always been a bit curious about it and so when I saw this new B-format version I grabbed it.

The Beast’s Garden by Kate Forsyth. This one was on my wishlist or books I wanted Santa to bring me last year. Santa didn’t bring me any books but I did get some Christmas $$$ so I bought this one in the same bookstore as The Eye Of  The Sheep. 

The Landing by Susan Johnson. I read Susan Johnson’s last novel, My Hundred Lovers and I really liked it. It was something different for me and so I thought I would get this one as well.

The Lake House by Kate Morton. Also on my pre-Christmas wishlist and purchased with Christmas dollars. I love the books I’ve read by Kate Morton so far and I’ve heard some really good things about this one.

The Mime Order by Samantha Shannon. Time to see what happens next in the Bone Season series.

image (1)

On holidays my husband and I also spent a really nice hour or so browsing a second hand bookstore near the beach. All four of the books in the pic above I got there.

The Grapes Of Wrath by John Steinbeck. Never read Steinbeck before. Always been kind of curious, especially about this one. So when I saw it, I had to get it.

Stay With Me by Maureen McCarthy. An Aussie YA title I found. The YA section wasn’t big, it was mostly a few titles stashed in with the general fiction but I remember seeing this on plenty of blogs when it was published last year and I was a big fan of McCarthy’s Queen Kat, Carmel & St Jude Get A Life when I was in high school. And so it came home with me.

Citadel by Kate Mosse. A book I must’ve seen dozens of times and looked at and thought about buying when it first came out. 1942. Nazi-occupied France. Sounds like something I’d love. So now I finally have it!

The Distant Hours by Kate Morton. Hardbacks are a bit of a rarity in Australia, you don’t see a beautiful hardback version very often. And this is an extraordinarily beautiful version and it’s a massive chunkster! I do like value for money as well.

No Baggage

No Baggage by Clara Bensen. This arrived on my doorstep yesterday and I’m intrigued. It’s the memoir of a woman who, in the aftermath of a quarter-life crisis goes on a travel experiment spanning 8 countries in 3 weeks with no baggage, no reservations, no plans etc. It  sounds like lots of fun and I love travel memoirs. Mostly because I’m an armchair traveler who has never left her home country.

Those are some of the books I’ve added to my TBR just recently. I have a few others from NetGalley etc that I’m also looking forward to but given I bought most of these (except the last one) from actual bookshops, I thought I’d detail them here because they reminded me how much pleasure I find in actually browsing a real bookshop. We don’t really have any near me anymore, which is such a shame. I do most of my bookshopping online and although the final product is the same, the actual feel of purchasing isn’t the same. There’s nothing quite like being surrounded by books!

Looking forward to seeing what is on everyone else’s list and maybe adding a few titles to my wishlist for the next time I get to visit a bookstore.

9 responses to “Top 10 Tuesday 19th January

  1. Yay for Kate Morton’s The Lake House, I also recently got my hands on it as well! *high fives* Can’t wait to read it…I hope you enjoy Kate Mosse’s Citadel, I really enjoyed her Languedoc trilogy 🙂

    My TTT

  2. I’ve just picked up a copy of The Mime Order – I can’t wait to see what happens next! 🙂

    Check out my TTT and Music Monday.

  3. Ria Sanive says:

    Ahh, The LakeHouse! I have heard about it but haven’t read. I will grab a copy if I can find one. Hope you enjoy all the books!

    My TTT

    Happy Reading!

  4. ChrissiReads says:

    No Baggage looks like a good read! I hope that you enjoy these books when you get around to them!

  5. Lily Malone says:

    I bought The Eye Of The Sheep because I thought it was time I got a bit literary, just to see what literary means these days… 😉

  6. Kate W says:

    Yay for The Eye of the Sheep – it’s spectacular.

    I think I am the only person in the world who couldn’t get into The Lake House – I haven’t given up on it completely, just taking a break. Will give it another go soon and see if it turns the corner for me.

  7. kgriffin3227 says:

    I really want to read The Lake House too. I love Kate Morton’s books, though I haven’t read one in a long time. Here’s my TTT. Happy reading!

  8. Deborah says:

    A few there I’ve read and I was a latecomer to The Eye of the Sheep but love love loved it!

  9. Bethany says:

    John Steinbeck is an acquired taste. I would recommend Of Mice and Men, as it’s more readable. Grapes of Wrath is intense for your first Steinbeck.

Leave a Reply

