All The Books I Can Read

1 girl….2 many books!

Reading Challenge 2016: Australian Women Writers Challenge

on January 16, 2016

AWWC2016

I’m a little late with this but I am once again signing up for the Australian Women Writers Challenge for 2016. In previous years I’ve read a lot of books for this challenge and I’m sure I will again this year – it’s the sort of challenge I don’t have to seek out titles for, they’re just what I read. I’ll still be counting my books towards the challenge and trying to keep up with linking my reviews on the site but this year I’m also going to try something new.

I need to try and diversify my reading – it’s one of my personal reading goals for 2016, so that means more literary fiction, more classics, more stuff like fantasy and science fiction, more crime – basically more everything except contemporary fiction, YA and romance, lol. I’d like to try some authors of different backgrounds and books that feature more diversity within their characters.

2016 is all about quality and diversity for me, not quantity. If you have any suggestions of must reads or books you know are coming out that you think might fit, please leave them in the comments.

Note to self: pay off my library fine so I can go back to using it.

8 responses to “Reading Challenge 2016: Australian Women Writers Challenge

  1. Great to have you signing up again, Bree, and what a great goal: quality, not quantity, and more diversity. Good luck. I look forward to seeing what you read.

  2. Kate W says:

    More literary fiction? Start with joining in the Stella Prize shortlist reading group (happens in March/April) – great online discussions and a good mix of literature.

    • I definitely hope to do that…..I usually have other books to read as well so I’m not sure if I’ll be able to keep up but reading the shortlist does sound like an excellent way to help achieve my goals this year.

  3. Sue Legg says:

    You have caused me to purchase so many books on line this year! Thank you so much. Fabulous to hear the new year resolutions on reading material in 2016. Look forward to it immensely & happy reading yourself.

    • Haha I could say sorry for that…..but I’m not really sorry πŸ˜‰ I hope you have enjoyed the ones you’ve bought! Thanks for reading and hopefully I find some books for you to try in 2016 as well!

  4. Coffee2words says:

    If you haven’t read them yet, C.S Pacat’s Captive Prince trilogy is amazing. Dianne F Gray does a few different genres, Wolf Pear is a mystery/crime and Soul’s Child is paranormal. Vanessa Skye’s The Enemy Inside trilogy is a gritty, gripping police procedural with a difference. Ann Somerville’s Unnatural Selection Series is a M/M paranormal romance. That’s just a few I’ve read for the AWW challenges over the years that aren’t YA contemporary or romance πŸ™‚

    • I have read the first 2 C.S Pacat books, eagerly awaiting the third! In fact I’m going to skim 1&2 again just so I don’t forget anything. Thanks for the other recommendations, they’re unfamiliar to me so I’ll be sure to look them up.

Leave a Reply

