All The Books I Can Read

1 girl….2 many books!

December Reading Wrap Up & 2015 Year In Review

on December 31, 2015

Total Books Read: 30
Fiction: 30
Non-Fiction: 0
Library Books: 0
Books On My TBR List: 3
Books in a Series: 19
Authors I’d Never Read Before: 14
Male/Female Authors: 0/30
Kindle Books: 25
Books I Owned or Bought: 2
Favourite Book(s): Outback Promise, by Maggie Bolitho
Least Favourite Book(s):  A couple in the Down and Dusty anthology
Books That Qualify For Challenges: 22

December figures look good but they’re pretty misleading! About 8 of the titles were around 10k words and there were at least 3 other novellas in there too so in terms of full length books, it is probably only around 17 or 18 titles, which is on average with what I’ve been reading the past few months. I’ve been reading a lot at night, so tends to be stuff on my iPad, quick reads that I can just churn through to wind down before sleep.

For 2015, I read 210 books for the entire year. Last year I had a few more stats than that but this year I had a few months off from my monthly wrap ups so to be honest, I’m not sure of the break downs between male/female authors, how many were eBooks, authors I’d never read before etc and given I’m on holidays and writing these posts between trips to visit family or going swimming etc, I really can’t be bothered trawling back through my wrap up posts and the missing data on Goodreads to figure them out. 2015 is just going to have to be the year I didn’t keep up with my records…perhaps something to add on to my 2016 goals (which will be posted tomorrow).

All in all though, I’m happy with the books I read this year. I read more books just to read, ones that were quick and easy because they were what I needed at the time. Next year I hope to get back into a bit of reading diversity, trying some different things and hopefully next year will give me the headspace to do that! I’d like the stress of this year to vanish with it at midnight tonight and not follow me into 2016!

Thanks to my Australian Women Writers Challenge wrap up post, I have a few ideas about how to adapt that challenge to suit me next year and I’ll be looking for a few other challenges over the next couple of weeks.

2 responses to “December Reading Wrap Up & 2015 Year In Review

  1. sally906 says:

    Wishing you all the best for 2016 – your family has had a rough trot for a while – 2016 streatches out before you as clear as driven snow!

Leave a Reply

