All The Books I Can Read

1 girl….2 many books!

Top 10 Tuesday 22nd December

on December 22, 2015

TTT

Just a couple of days out until Christmas and this week’s Top 10 Tuesday topic (hosted by the Broke & the Bookish) couldn’t be any more perfect!

Top 10 Books I’d Like Santa To Bring!

  1. The Lake House, by Kate Morton. I really like the Kate Morton books I’ve read so far and this one was released a couple of months ago and I still haven’t gotten around to getting it yet. It’d be pretty sweet if it found its way into my Santa stocking!
  2. A Little Life, by Hanya Yanagihara. I saw this discussed recently on the ABC Book Club show and it sounded really interesting – and quite divisive so I really want to read it. It was shortlisted for the ManBooker this year. I could buy it on iBooks but it’s 650-odd pages and weirdly enough, the bigger the book the more I prefer reading it in print form.
  3. The Girl In The Spider’s Web, by David Lagercrantz & George Goulding. Colour me curious about this one.
  4. Six Impossible Things, by Fiona Wood. I’ve read Cloudwish by Fiona Wood, an Aussie YA author and it was absolutely brilliant. I loved it! I didn’t realise when I started it that her two previous books (Six Impossible Things and Wildlife) revolve around the same group of characters at a school. I own Wildlife but I haven’t yet read it and I want to get Six Impossible Things.
  5. The Iron Warrior, by Julie Kagawa. I’d like to find out how this all ends.
  6. All I Ever Wanted, by Vikki Wakefield. I read Friday Brown from Vikki Wakefield and this new one of hers came out earlier this year. I haven’t seen it anywhere and I haven’t done an online order in ages so I still haven’t acquired it yet!
  7. An Ember In The Ashes, by Sabaa Tahir. I’ve been seeing good things about this everywhere and a few people have pretty much said ‘you have to read this, why haven’t you read this yet?’. So I guess at some stage, I’m going to have to read this. Santa? Are you reading this?
  8. I Was Here, by Gayle Forman. Erm. Why haven’t I got this yet?
  9. The Mime Order, by Samantha Shannon. I really liked The Bone Season but I haven’t bothered to get the sequel yet because…..so many other books to read. By the time the next books come out in so many series’ I’ve forgotten what happened in the previous book and feel as though I have to start all over again….it’s a conundrum.
  10. The Beast’s Garden, by Kate Forsyth. I have loved all the books of hers that I’ve read and I desperately need to get this one too.

Well that’s my list for Santa…..although I do actually know that I’m not getting any books under my tree this year 😦 However I am getting money….and that’s almost as good because I can use it to buy these books!

Hope you all have a wonderful Christmas and Happy New Year! And may Santa bring you all at least one book you want to read, or the means to acquire one.

12 responses to “Top 10 Tuesday 22nd December

  1. Heather says:

    Great list! I wouldn’t mind The Lake House either – I love Kate Morton!

  2. I’ve nearly finished A Little Life – about a hundred pages to go (it’s 720 dense pages all up!) but I’ve had nearly a hundred pages to go for ages. It was surprisingly quick and gripping for about 500 pages and then the impetus just dropped. Still, I will finish it – just been reading The Red Queen (just as thick but much more exciting!!) and enjoying lighter fare lately, now that work has finished.

    I’ve been hearing great things about Fiona Wood – really need to check out Cloudwish! I have The Beast’s Garden plus the previous two fairytale retellings, but haven’t found the time to read them yet.

    Merry Christmas Bree!

  3. Sarah says:

    All I Ever Wanted is absolutely gorgeous – I read it about a month ago and loved it so much. Vikki Wakefield’s books do seem to be hard to find – I borrowed mine from the library but I haven’t seen them at the bookshop. Which is a shame, because they’re so good.
    Six Impossible Things is another one I really liked. I read it after I read Wildlife, and it’s quite lovely. Wildlife and Cloudwish probably link more strongly that Six Impossible Things and Wildlife, but it definitely helps to read them in order. I definitely preferred Six Impossible Things to Wildlife, and it was about equal with Cloudwish for me, but it had more of a sense of innocence than the others had, I think. Anyway, I’ll stop rambling. Great post!

  4. Rory says:

    I have the ebook of The Lake House, but I loved it enough to hope for the print version someday!

  5. Great list! I’d love to find The Lake House under the Christmas tree too, though preferrably the paperback as I have all of her books in paperback. I hope you find all of these books under the tree later this week. Merry Christmas! 🙂

    My TTT

  6. Lily Malone says:

    Happy Christmas to you too, Bree. Thanks for great reviews during the year, and your support for Aussie authors too 🙂

  7. Gwendolyn says:

    A Little Life made my list as well. I keep telling me I’ll get it at some point but dang it’s expensive! I don’t usually order books for myself online but I’m thinking I’ll have to in order to get my hands on that book. Happy Tuesday and Happy Reading!

  8. curiousdaisy says:

    A Little Life is so expensive. Santa should bring it for us all 😀 Happy reading! https://ireadboooks.wordpress.com/2015/12/22/ten-books-i-dnf-ed-in-2015/

  9. _giovannard says:

    I feel the same way about almost all of Gayle Forman’s books. Why haven’t I read them yet!? I’ve only read If I Stay. I need to get with the program!
    Happy Holidays!

    My TTT! 😀

  10. The only book I am familiar with and have read is The Lake House. It was very good.

    I hope you get all of these books from Santa.

    Merry Christmas!!

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    My Blog

  11. I hope you had a wonderful Christmas and a lovely time away with your family Bree.
    Happy book hunting with your xmas money!

Leave a Reply

