All The Books I Can Read

1 girl….2 many books!

My Summer Reading List

on December 16, 2015

As you read this, my little family and I are travelling 14hrs north of our home to spend 3 weeks over Christmas and New Year with my family. We chose to drive rather than fly as flights are not as cheap as they once were and now that we have two kids + my mother works a lot, it’s cheaper than flying up there and hiring a car. This allows us to be a little more generous with the luggage we pack too, so I’m taking a few print books as well as all of the stuff I’ve recently loaded onto my iPad. I thought I’d do a post about some of the books I’m looking forward to reading during my holiday!

 

Grass Is Greener

The Grass Is Greener, by Loretta Hill. I loooove Loretta Hill! Starting with The Girl In Steel-Capped Boots (still my fave) I’ve read probably 5 or so of her books and loved them all. She chooses such interesting locations and jobs for her characters and when I saw this one, I was super excited. I know it’ll be one of the first ones that I read.

Beside Myself

A long time ago, I can’t even recall how long actually, I began reading Ann Morgan’s blog A Year Of Reading The World where she aimed to read a book from every country in the world. I found her journey fascinating as she navigated some of the more difficult locations. That journey became her first book and this is her first novel. I’m really looking forward to reading this and it’s kind of exciting to see someone whose blog I have been following for a long time is now a published author.

River House

The River House, by Janita Cunnington. I requested this on a whim from NetGalley because of the lovely cover and just after, was asked to take part in a blog tour so sometimes things just work out. It’s set in Australia, beginning in the 1940’s and continuing through the decades, following a family. I quite like sweeping family sagas so this looks like it’s going to be right up my alley.

Things We Keep

The Things We Keep, by Sally Hepworth. Doing another blog tour for this one too. I read Sally Hepworth’s first novel, The Secrets Of Midwives and really loved it so I jumped at the chance to read this one. It’s about a 38yo woman who is suffering from early-onset Alzheimer’s disease.

For The Most Beautiful

For The Most Beautiful, by Emily Hauser. This doesn’t actually get pubbed until late January, well after I will return from holidays but I’m so intrigued that I think I’m going to be reading it well before that. It’s a ‘hidden tale of Troy’, from the time of the Trojan war focusing on women and I’m super excited about it. Super, super historical fiction.

Desert Flame

Desert Flame, by Janine Grey. This one arrived on my doorstep last week and so it’s being snuck into my suitcase. It’s a rural romance (obviously, with that cover!) but it’s set in outback NSW among the opal fields which I think sounds fun!

Stone Castles

Stone Castles, by Trish Morey. I recently read Cherry Season by Trish Morey and really enjoyed it. I’ve had this one on my iPad (nabbed it from iBooks a little while ago) so I’m definitely looking forward to reading it over the holidays.

Apart from the ones I’ve listed here, there are others that I have on my iPad, either via Kindle or iBooks that I might read, depending on my mood. I’ll also raid my Nan’s collection – she buys books, reads them once and then passes them on to my mother. I will probably find something in there I’ve been dying to read and not gotten around to. I go through everything she has bought since my last visit and mark inside the covers of ones I want with my name, so after my mother gets around to reading it, she remembers to pass it onto me. Ones I already own or don’t grab me she passes onto other friends and family after she’s done with them. Neither of them are interested in keeping books so I tend to benefit from that! In return I keep Nan up to date with new releases and what’s coming out so that she doesn’t miss any books by authors she likes. She has a tendency to forget what she’s already read, especially when publishers reprint with new covers so she tends to rely on me to keep track of what she’s already bought and read over the years!

What are you looking forward to reading over the summer break (or winter, if you’re in the northern hemisphere!)?

 

4 responses to “My Summer Reading List

  1. Kate W says:

    I’m really looking forward to Beside Myself as well 🙂

    Enjoy the road trip!

  2. michelletw says:

    I’m looking forward to Things we Keep, I am going to have to start looking at the pile to pack soon as well.
    I have All That Is Lost Between Us, Scent by Juliet Madison and Numbered by Amy Andrews & Ros Baxter…. I’m sure there’s more but I have trouble keeping up at the moment.

  3. Deborah says:

    I’ve been seeing the Sally Hepworth book about a bit and wonder what it’s like – so keen to hear your thoughts. I read Beside Yourself and enjoyed it… (though must write my review before it completely disappears from my mind!)

  4. I’m about to start Cherry Season. I adored Stone Castles.

Leave a Reply

