All The Books I Can Read

1 girl….2 many books!

October Reading Wrap Up

on November 2, 2015

Total Books Read: 18
Fiction: 18
Non-Fiction: 0
Library Books: 0
Books On My TBR List: 0
Books in a Series: 10
Authors I’d Never Read Before: 9
Male/Female Authors: 0/18
Kindle Books: 13
Books I Owned or Bought: 9
Favourite Book(s): Every Move by Ellie Marney, So Far Into You by Lily Malone
Least Favourite Book(s):  Operation Foreplay by Christine Hughes, Wrong by Jana Aston
Books That Qualify For Challenges: 6

Well it’s been a while since I did one of these. In fact, scrolling back through my archives I haven’t done a wrap up post since April’s reads. Blogging kind of fell by the wayside in June for a few months but I’ve been attempting to get back to some sort of regular posting schedule in the last couple weeks. I’m not quite there yet as there are still a lot of external things going on with my husband’s health but hopefully in the next couple of weeks we should know more about what’s going to be happening.

I have still been reading but I’ve found my attention span a bit lacking and so I’ve been raiding iBooks and the like for the freebies. My tastes at the moment have been running to quick stories I can finish in one sitting and move on from and that is sometimes good, because you can score some really good freebies when there are deals and the book of the week but sometimes it’s bad because to be honest, there’s a lot of rubbish there and you kind of have to wade through and see what works for you and what just needs to be clicked into oblivion right away. I can’t tell you how many books I downloaded, started and then discarded because I disliked them intensely.

However it wasn’t all bleak – I did read a handful of really good books in October: After You, by Jojo Moyes the follow up to her wildly successful and utterly heartbreaking Me Before You, Charlotte Wood’s creepy The Natural Way of Things, the very sweet romance So Far Into You by Lily Malone and the brilliant Every Move by Ellie Marney which rounded out the Every trilogy which I loooved. So yay for the bright spots.

November is going to be fantabulous for at least one reason already. In just over a week, The Red Queen by Isobelle Carmody will arrive in bookstores and the Obernewtyn series will finally be complete. I’ve been reading these books since I was 14….which is, quite horrifyingly, almost 20 years. There are many who have been reading them longer than me. I cannot wait to see how it all ends and I’m hoping that my little local bookstore will have copies I can go and get on release day. In fact I’m going to drop in and ask if I pre-order it, will it be here on release day. And then I will spend however long it takes me to devour that 1000p behemoth without being disturbed. Well okay not really, because these days I have kids and stuff and they have annoying needs like food and whatever.

Onward to a good reading month and hopefully, more blog posts! My goal is to get at least 2 reviews up a week for this month. Let’s see how I go!

 

2 responses to “October Reading Wrap Up

  1. Kate W says:

    November is all about the new John Irving book for me!

  2. michelletw says:

    Good luck with the blogging this month and even more good thoughts for hubby’s health

Leave a Reply

