All The Books I Can Read

1 girl….2 many books!

Review: So Far Into You by Lily Malone

on October 19, 2015

So Far Into You So Far Into You
Lily Malone
Harlequin Escape AUS
2015, eBook
Copy courtesy of the publisher via NetGalley

Blurb {from the publisher/Goodreads.com}

When she cut her viticulture degree short and moved home, Remy wasn’t thinking about anything more than making the next dollar for her pocket. Working two jobs to keep food on the table and a loan shark from the door, Remy and her mother slowly build a new life together. Then a freak storm tears through the Margaret River Wine Festival — and Seth Lasrey tears through Remy’s life.

Seth is old money. She is no money. He’s the boss. She’s his employee. He is society connections and expectations. She is threats and bad decisions and lost dreams. They seem to be so wrong they can only be right — until a costly mistake and a timely deception drives them apart. Remy picks up the pieces of her life and begins anew. The last thing she expects is Seth to show up in her small town in South Australia, bringing with him memories that she can’t escape and a damaged heart that she’s not sure she can resist.

I must’ve started a dozen books lately and abandoned them – not because they weren’t good, but they simply weren’t what I was looking for. I didn’t even really know what I was looking for until I remembered that I had nabbed this from NetGalley and it was probably time that I read it. Lily Malone writes fabulous contemporary romance set in Australia and from the moment I started this, I couldn’t put it down.

Seth and Remy come from very different worlds but there’s a definite likable chemistry between them from the very beginning. Remy is lots of fun but she desperately needs her job and she’s very serious about it as well. She’s attracted to Seth but she’s also cautious and wary, because she knows what will happen if anything goes wrong. He’s on the board and he’s one of the owners, he’s going to be fine. It’ll be Remy that will be out of work and in big trouble. Things were barely off the ground between Remy and Seth when they went horribly wrong, sabotaged in a neat two pronged attack that left both Remy and Seth with confused and troubled feelings about the other. Remy leaves, rebuilding a new life for herself in South Australia, a life that is threatened when Seth and his company turn up in the local area, making sure that Remy and her fledgling property is dependent on them.

I loved Remy and Seth. They were fun together, I enjoyed their banter and Seth was far more down to earth than I expected him to be. At heart they had a lot of similar interests and played off each other very well. What I really liked though, was the way that things played out in South Australia when they ran into each other again. Seth is under several misconceptions about Remy, fed to him after she left but he listens to her side of the story and believes her and better than that, he uses what he knows of Remy and what he sees, to judge for himself what really happened back when Remy was working for him. This was a refreshing change from having things drag out and allowed the story to move on at a good pace and give the two of them time to reconnect, get to know each other all over again. Even though Seth is in a difficult place having bought out the winemaker that buys Remy’s grapes and needs to make it more profitable, he still takes the time to listen to her concerns and takes an interest in how Remy gets involved in the community. Seth at times, seemed a bit removed from the smaller growers and I think that Remy was a good way for him to be able to connect with them and their needs. He has his board to answer to and he needs to make sure his business does well, but if his lower prices drive the growers out of business, then he’s going to be stuck, unable to make his product to the best of his ability. So there’s a need for balance and compromise and I think Remy helps Seth see the growers as more than just a cog in his business wheel as well. Remy is perfect because she’s a strong character who stands on her own two feet and is determined to free herself from something she considers to be hanging around her neck. Despite her strength of personality and her determination, there’s a hint of vulnerability to her as well.

I absolutely loved this book. Seth and Remy had me from the start and even though I don’t really drink wine (nothing against it, I just don’t drink much in general), I like reading about the process. It’s a huge part of many Australian states and I wouldn’t mind visiting the Margaret River area one day as well as some of the winegrowing regions in South Australia. I haven’t seen much of the country and there are lots of different areas I’d like to see where wineries are a big part. I remember the last time I did a winery tour, it was actually for a wine tourism course I did at university – it was close to 40 degrees and there was a lot of walking. I ended up with sunstroke! We learned a lot about the process that day too and I like hearing about the different growing techniques. I’m not sciency-minded so the actual winemaking tends to go over my head but the growing stuff interests me, as did the stuff Remy was doing with vegetable gardens in the local community. So even if you’re not a wine connoisseur and know nothing about wine (like me!), don’t worry. It’s not a huge part of the story, more just the backdrop for both our characters. It did make me wish I drank wine though, in a way!

I’ve read quite a few of Lily Malone’s books now….I think this is #4 and this one is my favourite. All of her books have been highly enjoyable and just getting better with each release. This one is a must for contemporary romance lovers.

9/10

Book #154 of 2015

aww-badge-2015

So Far Into You is book #62 of the Australian Women Writers Challenge 2015

 

 

 

2 responses to “Review: So Far Into You by Lily Malone

  1. Love Lily’s books too! Must add this to my reading list! 🙂

  2. […] are my favourites. I do like a man in a uniform 😉 The Vineyard In The Hills by Lily Malone (my review {note I read this when it was named So Far Into You}) Really enjoyed this one, set in the […]

Leave a Reply

