All The Books I Can Read

1 girl….2 many books!

Top 10 Tuesday 5th May

on May 5, 2015

TTT

Top 10 Tuesday is a weekly bookish meme created and hosted by The Broke & the Bookish and featuring a different topic each week. Today we have:

Top 10 Books I Will Probably Never Read

Harry Potter

1. The Harry Potter novels, by J.K. Rowling. I know. I know. How can I be a reader and have never read these? How can I be a reader and have zero interest in reading these? It’s a question I get asked a lot. In fact when the movies came out so many people said to me, oh you like books, you must’ve read the ones these movies are based on and they were gobsmacked when I said nope, I haven’t. I’ve never read a single page of a Harry Potter novel. I don’t own any of them. And to be honest? I have no intentions or desire to ever read them. I do however, have two sons who will turn 7 and 4 this year so it’s possible at some stage that I’ll be roped in to reading them with my boys. My husband and I will always foster a love of reading in our boys so if one of them or both of them express an interest in these, I will buy them for my boys and read along with them if they wish.

War & Peace

2. War & Peace by Leo Tolstoy. To be honest, this one is only a “might” never read. I do own it, I’ve owned it for a few years and I’ve read Anna Karenina and really liked it. It’s not totally out of the question that I might settle down with this one day far into the future but it’s not on my radar for anytime soon.

Ulysses

3. Ulysses by James Joyce. Nope.

Fifty Shades Darker

4. Fifty Shades Darker (and Fifty Shades Freed) by E.L James. I’ve read the first one. That’s enough.

Wolf Hall

5. Wolf Hall by Hilary Mantel. I know, this is supposed to be awesome, it won a Man Booker and so many people love it. And then the next one won a Man Booker too. But I’ve attempted it twice now and it’s like the most efficient sedative I’ve ever seen. I begin reading and fall almost immediately asleep. In two attempts I’ve made it no further than 35 pages. I’ve recorded the adaptation so let’s see how that goes instead.

Luminaries

6. The Luminaries by Eleanor Catton. Another Man Booker winner I bought and attempted to read. This is one brick of a book and I think I only read the first page before I went ‘Nope’ and put back on the shelf. Not saying I’ll never read it but it looks unlikely.

Dragonfly In Amber

7. Dragonfly In Amber (and the rest of them) by Diana Gabaldon. I read Outlander at the urging of several people who love it like its their firstborn. I didn’t really get it. So long, so rambly, so much wife beating and attempted rapery and Jamie is so boring. No desire to read any more.

Portrait of a Lady

8. Portrait Of A Lady by Henry James. I went through a stage where I wanted to read this so much so I got myself a copy and eagerly began reading. Didn’t take long before I realised that I was reading the words and turning the pages but I wasn’t actually taking in anything. I’ve tried a few times and each time it hasn’t managed to grab me.

Matthew Flinders Cat

9. Matthew Flinders’ Cat by Bryce Courtenay. I bought this when it was published in about 2001 or 2002 or something. Since then I’ve moved five times and although it’s made its way with me through five houses in two different states, I’ve never once opened it up. I think I only ever pick it up to pack it and then unpack it each time we move house. I can’t even remember why I bought it because I don’t own any other Bryce Courtenay novels.

In Search Of Lost Time

10. In Search Of Lost Time by Marcel Proust. Nope.

This was actually harder than I thought because there’s only a couple here that I could say are definite, absolute no. The rest I may try again at some stage in the future, it may just about being finding the perfect time for that particular book.

 

13 responses to “Top 10 Tuesday 5th May

  1. Kate W says:

    Snap on so many of these. I have read Portrait of a Lady and plan on tackling War & Peace but Harry Potter? Not interested.

  2. Louise Reynolds says:

    Wolf Hall was deadly for me. Ditto Proust.

  3. ChrissiReads says:

    I can totally understand why you wouldn’t want to read many of these books. I don’t think I’ll ever get around to War and Peace.

  4. Maggie says:

    Harry Potter isn’t all it’s cracked up to be! I read all but the last book, which I quit reading and gave away. By the time the last book came out, I just didn’t give a sh*t any more! I can see why kids love them though! Happy reading! 🙂

  5. Lots of people are saying they don’t want to read the rest of the Outlander series!
    Interesting list!
    My TTT: http://simplybookishthings.blogspot.com/2015/05/top-ten-tuesday-5-ten-books-ill.html

  6. Beth Whatley says:

    I find a lot of prize winning novels REALLY aren’t what they’re cracked up to be. Last year I read The Goldfinch, and was really bored by it. Basically they’re novels about pretentious characters who do shocking things, usually involving drugs, theft or murder… Yeah no.
    Beth x
    http://www.thequietpeople.com

  7. Danni Mae says:

    There are a TON of people on Top Ten Tuesday saying they’ll never read Harry Potter. Don’t worry! You’re not alone!

  8. bookgeeking says:

    I was surprised how many people are saying they have not read HP, I started it as a teenager so I was in the right age group, but a few years younger or older and the hype would have already started which can turn some people off. I do love it, it will forever be my favourite series, but I understand that it is not for every one. 🙂 nice list

  9. I love Harry Potter, I grew up with the books, but I can understand that it’s not for everyone. Fifty Shades of Grey is on my list, I can’t even make it to the first book of that trilogy! I’ve never read the Wolf Hall book, but I saw the BBC adaptation and that was really good.
    My TTT: https://jjbookblog.wordpress.com/2015/05/05/top-ten-tuesday-3/

  10. Cait says:

    I would never ever pick up 50 Shades. Just, nope…doesn’t even appeal and, eghh. Just NOPE. I never read Harry Potter growing up! I’m reading them now and liking them, but I don’t feel like a “true” bookworm sometimes because they weren’t part of my childhood. >_<
    Here’s my TTT!

  11. Lillian @ Mom With a Reading Problem says:

    I read and loved Outlander, but that’s the problem. I loved it so much that I’m afraid to read the rest! I read 50 shades, but I regret BIG TIME!!! It makes me cringe just thinking about her inner goddess crap 😉

  12. Harry Potter is totally on my list too! It is nice to see a fellow non-HP person in the book world. 🙂 I put it last on my list, just hoping readers wouldn’t give up on me as soon as they saw it!

    Here’s my take on this week’s TTT: http://insearchoftheendofthesidewalk.com/2015/05/05/top-ten-tuesday-ten-books-i-will-probably-never-read/

  13. Louise King says:

    Have to agree with all of those. I haven’t read Harry Potter either and I won’t go near Joyce. As for Wolf Hall – forget it, blahhhh. Good list!

Leave a Reply

