All The Books I Can Read

1 girl….2 many books!

April Reading Wrap Up

on May 1, 2015

Total Books Read: 17
Fiction: 17
Non-Fiction: 0
Library Books: 0
Books On My TBR List: 3
Books in a Series: 7
Authors I’d Never Read Before: 9
Male/Female Authors: 1/16
Kindle Books: 9
Books I Owned or Bought: 4
Favourite Book(s): Prince’s Gambit by C.S Pacat and Northern Heat by Helene Young
Least Favourite Book(s):  What She Left by T.R. Richmond and Love At First Flight by Tess Woods
Books That Qualify For Challenges: 10

April was a bit of a slow reading month for me. I really struggled to find the desire to sit down and pick up a book a lot of times. When I did, I read a lot of enjoyable books (and a few ordinary ones too). But this sort of mirrors my problem around this time last year where I suffered a pretty big reading slump – which I documented here. To be honest I partially blame the return of Game Of Thrones. I read the books last year actually in an attempt to put aside books I felt I had to read and choose something I wanted to read but had felt I had no time for. Reading some 5000 pages was good, cathartic almost. But now that the TV series has returned I find myself forgetting things, having devoured them so quickly so I’ve been re-reading parts of the books. I also spend way too much time analysing everything and texting theories with my brother, who is equally obsessed. I’d like to read the books from start to finish again, I get the feeling there’s probably so much I missed the first time around or that makes more sense now. I used to reread a lot and fantasy is a great genre for that I find.

I’m behind on reviews – there’s no denying it. For the 17 books I read in April, I still have reviews to write for 6 of them and I still have a few to write for books I read in March. Some of them aren’t due out until May, June or even July but I try to avoid leaving long gaps between reading the book and writing the review or again, I forget things. The thing is it’s glorious autumn weather at the moment after a miserably cold week or two and although I know I should be sitting down writing reviews, I don’t want to. I’d rather be outside and take advantage of these few days of 23 and sunny while I can, before the temperatures dip again and the grey skies return. Once I start writing a review, I’m fine. I churn through it and get it done and posted. But for some reason, it’s actually sitting myself down at the laptop, opening up the page for a new review and starting where I have trouble! There’s a not-so-neat pile of paperbacks on my desk I must get to, plus I know there are several Kindle books as well.

The month of May does bring some exciting things though, including a couple of blog tours I’m thrilled to be taking part in – one for Season of Shadow & Light by Jenn J. McLeod and another for Northern Heat by Helene Young. Really I just need to get myself better organised and manage my time better! Let’s see if I can make that happen.

5 responses to “April Reading Wrap Up

  1. jstgeorge1 says:

    Yes, Game of Thrones can take over your life!!! I also loved Prince’s Gambit by C.S Pacat. Must pick up a copy of Helene’s latest asap.

    • Oh I know! Waiting for each new ep gives me far too much time to theorise lol. I think you’ll enjoy Helene’s new one, for me her books are always remarkably consistent in terms of standard.

  2. laura says:

    17 books is a pretty neat effort 🙂

  3. Im behind too, though mine were all due yesterday!

Leave a Reply

