All The Books I Can Read

1 girl….2 many books!

Blog Tour Author Guest Post: Posie Graeme-Evans

on April 10, 2015

Wild Wood

This post is a part of the Wild Wood blog tour put together by Simon & Schuster AU. For a complete list of the tour spots, see the banner at the bottom of this post and for my review of Wild Wood, check back later today.

Now I’d like to welcome the author of Wild Wood, Posie Graeme-Evans to my blog.

***

Writing is not a process I analyze when I’m doing it, it seems more dreamlike than anything else; as hypnosis is described in “Wild Wood” – mind awake, body asleep – that’s what writing feels like to me sometimes.

And though I distrust the word “organic” – because it comes freighted with so many clichés – perhaps it does best describe how I write. I start with something that won’t go away, and gradually a story appears from the mist at the back of my head. Baggy, shaggy, full of false starts and abandoned tank traps, one day, it will have grown enough bones to stand up on its own (mix those metaphors!)

For instance, with “Wild Wood”, Bayard’s first person voice came first and it was so clear that, through him, I had a way into the past of the Scottish Borderlands; I trusted where he led me from the first time I heard him speak*, though I’d never written from a man’s perspective ever before. (*Who was it said, “Writing is a form of Schizophrenia”?)

Similarly, in the “present” – London, 1981, in the lead-up to the wedding of Charles and Diana – Jesse also arrived in a rush. She was so different and, I think, so brave, that I grew very fond of her. But the unlikely link between the two times turned out to be a legend from the isle of sky, one I’d heard at Dunvegan castle twenty years ago. I re-shaped and re-thought that strand and it became a lens through which I could see both times running together.

But it isn’t only the legend that gave me ground to stand on with two such different story drives; it’s common humanity. Jesse and Bayard, in the end, want the same things – as I think we all do. To love and be loved, to know where where you belong (though Bayard’s ahead of Jesse on that score, he’s just not too happy about it) and to rediscover that it’s possible to hope. There’s also the little matter that surface reality isn’t all there is. I find that rich, and intriguing, and a great, great source of story.

 ***

Thank you Posie for providing more insight into your wonderful story.

Wild-Wood-Blog-Tour-hor-v1

Don’t forget to check back later today to read my review of Wild Wood! For now I’ll leave you with the book trailer

Leave a Reply

