All The Books I Can Read

1 girl….2 many books!

Reading Challenges 2015: Around The World In 12 Books Challenge

on January 19, 2015

around-the-world-2015

I’ve been meaning to write a sign-up post for this challenge and a couple others for a few weeks now but I just haven’t gotten around to it. I finally have some time to sit down and catch up on blog posts a bit (school holidays mean I’m constantly getting drinks, putting on movies, breaking up fights, etc) so this is the first one. I actually did this challenge in what I think was its first year and it was a bit different back then. So here we go!

The Around the World in 12 Books Challenge is hosted by the awesome Shannon over at Giraffe Days. There are several different levels and you can check all of those out on the sign up page here. I’ve given it a bit of thought and I’m going for broke in this one.

Seasoned-Traveller-2015-300x134

Rules:

Level 4: The Seasoned Traveller

– The Seasoned Traveller doesn’t do anything by half-measures: they go the whole hog and the more obscure the better!
– Read 12 books over the course of the year, each set in a DIFFERENT country
– Books selected should include ones set in Africa, Asia, Europe, Australia+New Zealand, North America and South America. The Middle East should be considered too
– You do not need to plan ahead but it might help you keep on track
– No re-reads
– Any genre is okay (including non-fiction) BUT books MUST be set in a specific country or region with a noticeable attention to the location or environment; some genre books won’t be much use for this challenge

Last year I read over 100 books set in Australia and I’m proud of the fact that I read a lot of local authors and books that showcase my country and the people in it. However, the rest of my reading was pretty limited, probably mostly American or British and I used to really enjoy reading more widely and visiting different places through literature again, so that’s why I’m getting back into this challenge. I want to explore new places again, read books set in all corners of the world.

 

One response to “Reading Challenges 2015: Around The World In 12 Books Challenge

  1. michelletw says:

    Good luck. Sounds like a great challenge

Leave a Reply

