All The Books I Can Read

1 girl….2 many books!

Top 10 Tuesday 13th January

on January 13, 2015

TTT

 

Top 10 Tuesday is a weekly feature created and hosted by The Broke & the Bookish and featuring a different book-related theme each week. Our topic for today is:

Top 2014 Releases I Meant To Read But Didn’t Get To

  1. Us, by David Nicholls. I have to admit, I tried to read One Day and only got a few dozen pages in before I just couldn’t go on with it. But I heard some seriously positive things about this one and I had a really pretty ARC copy sent to me. I was keen to give it a go, just didn’t find the time to fit it in before the end of 2014.
  2. Hard Choices, by Hilary Rodham-Clinton. I actually started reading this just before I came down with a super flu that flattened me out for a couple of weeks. I switched to lighter books and never made my way back to this one even though I was really keen to read it and absolutely had to have it the day it came out.
  3. The Marriage Game, by Elizabeth Weir. Historical fiction about Elizabeth the I that I was extremely keen to read. I think the problem was I scored it off NetGalley way before the release date and held off reading it until the release date was closer. And then I was swamped with other books.
  4. I’ll Give You The Sun, by Jandy Nelson. I heard so many really good things about this book, read many gushing reviews from fellow bloggers. I put it on my wishlist but never got around to actually getting it.
  5. All The Light We Cannot See, by Anothony Doerr. This one I’m blaming on my library and my fellow library patrons. I’m still 4th or so in line for this one, so could be a couple months before I can pick it up.
  6. The Silkworm, by Robert Galbraith aka J.K. Rowling. I read the first Cormoran Strike book, The Cuckoo’s Calling and was surprised by how much I enjoyed it (it’s the first J.K. Rowling book I’ve ever read). I had this on on my radar from early on but then I requested it from my library and wasn’t able to get out there to pick it up so I lost it and went back to the bottom of the queue. I have it now, so I’ll be reading it at some point in the near future.
  7. Afterworlds, by Scott Westerfeld. I’ve never read a Scott Westerfeld book but I’ve heard so many good things about different ones. This was going to be my first one of his but….somehow it just never happened.
  8. Leaving Time, by Jodi Picoult. I have a bit of a weird relationship with Picoult. I’ve only read a couple of her books and one of them I loathed so much I couldn’t even finish it and it turned me off trying another of her books for about four years. But then I read The Storyteller and absolutely loved it. And this one sounds pretty good so I’m keen to read it…just hoping it’s more like The Storyteller and not like the other one I read.
  9. Amnesia, by Peter Carey. Heard mixed things about this one. Some claimed it genius, others couldn’t get into it at all.
  10. A Sudden Light, by Garth Stein. I absolutely adored The Art of Racing in the Rain and I was excited to read this. It just didn’t end up happening, like so many other books. I hope to get to it pretty soon. Why are there so many books and so little time?

Just a few of the books I meant to get to in 2014 and didn’t manage! I’m sure there’ll be many more in 2015.

9 responses to “Top 10 Tuesday 13th January

  1. The only I’ve read is All the Light We Cannot See. It’s definitely worth it. It was a 3.5/4 for me. I love Jodi Picoult, and Leaving Time is the only one I haven’t read yet. And I saw Garth Stein live in the SF Bay Area a few months ago and picked up A Sudden Light. I’ll get to it – eventually.

  2. I just finished The Cuckoo’s Calling over my holidays and ended up really enjoying it as well! I’ve started The Silkworm (I had to put it aside to finish some review books, but can’t wait to get back to it) and still need to read The Casual Vacancy. I only read like the first chapter of Us, but, like you, I intend to go back to it, heard good things. I see you’re reading The Girl On the Train? That was my first book of 2015 and I thought it was really good. Hope you’re enjoying it!

  3. samoak says:

    Hard Choices is on my list as well. I have a hard time reading non-fiction though so I think it’s one that I’m just going to have to start and aim for reading a chapter or two every so often. Great list!

  4. ChrissiReads says:

    I really need to read All The Light We Cannot See. I’ve heard such amazing things about it. I hope you enjoy these books when you get to reading them.

  5. Daniel says:

    The Silkworm is on my list too, and I’m in the same boat with owning it. Interesting it’s the first JK book you have read (aka TCC that is), certainly different to her other novels, which I of course recommend.

  6. Kate W says:

    All the Light We Cannot See was almost a perfect book, in my opinion. Loved it.

    Us is on my list as well.

  7. There were plenty of books I didn’t get to read in 2014 too! I’d like to read the Silkworm.

  8. Cynthia says:

    Great list!! I read All the light we cannot see last year and loved it! I did this top ten list and I put Us and I’ll give you the sun on mine as well. I am very excited about them both.

  9. I’ve got Us on my TTT this week too. I think it sounds really good. I enjoyed One Day when I read it a few years ago. I’ve also got I’ll Give You the Sun on my list. I’ve heard great things too. I read Afterworlds last year and it was okay. Good but not great.
    My TTT!

Leave a Reply

