All The Books I Can Read

1 girl….2 many books!

Wrapping Up…. The Australian Women Writers Challenge 2014

on December 31, 2014

AWWW2014

As 2014 draws to a close, I thought I’d start wrapping up some of the components of my reading of 2014. This is the third year I’ve participated in the Australian Women Writers Challenge, which aims to shine a light on some of the fantastic female authors we have from this country. It hopefully redresses some of the gender bias which tends to skew towards publications reviewing and featuring male authors.

In 2014, I read 95 books that counted towards this challenge, which is slightly down on last year where I read 116 but I’m definitely still proud of my effort. As of today I have read 264 books for 2014, so that means that about 36% or just over one third of my reading is by Australian women authors. I try to read widely but I know I’m skewed towards romance/contemporary/YA however I did try to throw in some crime and non-fiction, the odd memoir. I think I can do better though and that might be a little goal for me next year. For example I didn’t log a classic by an Australian woman this year, so that might be a good place to start. I also didn’t read a lot of literary fiction either, so I’ve made a point to try and check a few titles out of my local library to get AWW2015 off to a good start. I will still obviously read a lot of contemporary and YA titles but hopefully I’ll be able to try a few new things next year and push myself out of my comfort zone a bit.

2014 was a good year – new books from favourites like Rachael Johns, Cathryn Hein, Helene Young, Jessie Cole, Fiona Palmer, Barbara Hannay, Monica McInerney, Kylie Ladd and Liane Moriarty. I also read plenty of fabulous books by new-to-me authors such as Ellie Marney, P.M Newton, Natasha Lester, Fiona McArthur, Gabrielle Tozer and Clare Atkins to name just a few.

Having farewelled the 2014 challenge, tomorrow I should have a sign up post up for 2015. I’m looking forward to taking part again.

2 responses to “Wrapping Up…. The Australian Women Writers Challenge 2014

  1. Lizzy says:

    What a fantastic effort, Bree, congratulations! So glad you’re continuing the challenge in 2015. I’ve just been over at Reading Sheilas blog and wondering what it would be like to listen to one of the free classics (e.g. Barbara Baynton) instead of reading. Are you into audio books at all?

  2. Belle says:

    Amazing! Well done. I’m not going to sign up for any challenges this year but hopefully I’ll still get a decent amount of AWW read 🙂

Leave a Reply

