All The Books I Can Read

1 girl….2 many books!

December Reading Wrap Up & 2014 Year In Review

on December 31, 2014

Total Books Read: 15
Fiction: 15
Non-Fiction: 0
Library Books: 1
Books On My TBR List: 2
Books in a Series: 7
Authors I’d Never Read Before: 9
Male/Female Authors: 0/15
Kindle Books: 10
Books I Owned or Bought: 2
Favourite Book(s): Riverboat Point, by Tricia Stringer, Whiskey Rebellion, by Liliana Hart
Least Favourite Book(s):  The Summer I Turned Pretty, by Jenny Han
Books That Qualify For Challenges: 4

A quiet month to finish off the year – just 15 books read (actually its 14 atm but I’m 3/4 of the way through one that I will finish today, so I’m counting it in advance). I took a week off reading from Dec 22-29 just to do Christmas and family stuff and enjoyed the break. Now I have lots of exciting new books to read to kick off 2015.

And now for  2014 totals:

Total Books Read: 264
Fiction: 250
Non-Fiction: 14
Library Books: 23
Male/Female Authors: 33.5/230.5

At the beginning of the year I set myself a pretty lofty goal of reading 300 books, because I’d read more than 300 in 2013. However it didn’t take long for the pressure of that to begin to get to me and by halfway through the year I’d revised it down to 250. I’ll stick with a number like that for 2015. As you can see, my reading is still weighted pretty heavily towards females, over 85% of books I read are by women. It’s something I’ve tried to improve a little in recent years and I feel I’m making inroads – I average almost 3 books a month by male authors, a few years ago it would’ve been less than 1. I also averaged around 2 books per month from my local library which I feel would be down on recent years as I read more ARCs and books on my kindle/iPad. That’s also not a reflection of how many books I borrowed from my library either – I probably borrowed 2-3x that number and had to return them unread due to other people having requested them or running out of renewals on them. Some I have on my list to borrow again at some stage, others I’ve forgotten about or lost interest in.

In 2014, I read 95 books on my kindle/iPad (probably 90 on the kindle, 5 on the iPad) which is a really high volume of usage. It’s four years old now and getting a little slow so I probably find that I will replace it with reading on the iPad because I can use iBooks as well as Amazon, etc. I took advantage of a lot of the free iBooks where they give you the first in a series for free, etc and some of them have been good fun.

I haven’t thought much about goals for 2015 yet – I’ll take a few weeks to decide that. Hope you all had a very productive and enjoyable reading year for 2014.

4 responses to “December Reading Wrap Up & 2014 Year In Review

  1. Happy reading in 2015 Bree!!! Can’t wait to read your thoughts on the books you read 🙂

  2. michelletw says:

    That’s still an amazing year in reading. I set my goal the same as last year too and failed miserably. Life gets in my way. 🙂
    And I broke my reader.

  3. Lily Malone says:

    Always enjoy your reviews. Happy New Year, Bree.

  4. Happy New Year, Bree! All the best for 2015–and plenty of books to read 😀

Leave a Reply

