All The Books I Can Read

1 girl….2 many books!

Top 10 Tuesday 23rd December

on December 23, 2014

TTT

Top 10 Tuesday is a weekly bookish meme created and hosted by The Broke & the Bookish. This week our topic is:

Top 10 Books I Wouldn’t Mind Santa Bringing

  1. I’ll Give You The Sun, by Jandy Nelson. I’ve heard so many good things about this and read so many good reviews. I liked Nelson’s first book and this seems like something else I’d really enjoy.
  2. All The Light We Cannot See, by Anthony Doerr. This focuses on the Nazi occupation of Paris during WWII and 2 characters, one of which is a blind girl whose father makes her a model of the neighbourhood so that she can still go outside and be able to navigate her way around. I’ve heard spectacular things about this – everyone seems to love it.
  3. The Martian, by Andy Weir. This is not my sort of book, as a rule. I’m not really into things set in space etc, but I have to admit this does sound fascinating. It’s the story of an astronaut who was the first man to walk on Mars and now he’s trapped there for over a thousand days until the next Mars expedition arrives. I really, really want to read this.
  4. The Miniaturist, by Jessie Burton. I only just discovered this today actually but it sounds really interesting. Have added it to my wishlist!
  5. The Grisha Trilogy, by Leigh Bardugo. I actually read the first book of this series ages ago and I really liked it but never got around to reading the rest. I’d love to own them all because I definitely need to re-read #1 now before attempting the others. And they all look so good together.
  6. The 5th Wave, by Rick Yancey. I have the second book in this series, but I really need to read the first one.
  7. Faking It, by Gabrielle Tozer. The second in the Intern series. I read the first one and thought it was a really cute YA read. I’m looking forward to this one and it’s just been released!
  8. Let Me Be Frank With You, by Richard Ford. I love Richard Ford. I’ve read all of the 3 Frank Bascombe books but it was ages ago now, I want to read them again. Why don’t I get time to re-read anymore? Oh that’s right, too many new and shiny books. Like this one.
  9. Jamie’s 30 Minute Meals and Jamie’s 15 Minute Meals, by Jamie Oliver. My husband and I used to just buy food willy nilly and chuck whatever into the trolley. Turns out that’s how you spend over a thousand bucks on groceries each month. So we’re trying some meal planning and buying in bulk at a local meat place to save a bit of money. I love basically everything Jamie Oliver cooks (seafood aside) and I like his books. I really want these 2 to add to the others of his that I already have.
  10. The Interestings, by Meg Wolitzer. Meg Wolitzer was at the Melbourne Writers Festival although I didn’t actually go and see her. I’ve heard some really great things about her books and this one seems a good place to start. I like the sound of it.

Despite the fact that I have listed all of these books, Santa is unfortunately, not bringing me any books this year for Christmas but I can’t complain because he got me an iPad Air 2. However….fortunately for me, I don’t need the excuse of Christmas to get new books and I plan to get a few of these soon!

8 responses to “Top 10 Tuesday 23rd December

  1. michelletw says:

    What a great list. I have only heard of a couple of them.
    I don’t know that Santa will bring me any either.

  2. I can’t express how much I loved I’ll Give You the Sun and The Interestings. Both were just so good. Hope you get them and love them as much as I did!

  3. Ooh, I should’ve added The Miniaturist to my list as well, been wanting to check that book out since I first heard of it. I can’t wait to read All The Light We Cannot See and I’m hearing good things about The Martian and The Interestings. Hope some of these books make an appearance under your tree in a few days! 🙂

    My TTT

  4. Yes for I Gave You the Sun! I want to read that book too! Happy holidays! 🙂
    Top 10 Tuesday
    A Thousand Pieces of You

  5. Nice list of books!! I have The Interestings in my ‘to be read’ pile’ and am hoping to read it in 2015. Here is my TTT list for the week: http://captivatedreader.blogspot.com/2014/12/top-ten-tuesday-top-ten-books-i-wouldnt.html

  6. ChrissiReads says:

    What a fabulous list! 🙂 I hope you receive these books (at some point!) and enjoy them! 🙂

  7. curlygeek04 says:

    I want to read All the Light and The Martian. I’m really interested in Jamie Oliver’s cookbooks, I’ve never tried any but he sounds great. I need cookbooks that are easy and fast but healthy. Merry Christmas!

  8. Great list! There are so many here that I’m dying to read. I hope you enjoy them. I hope you get a ton of great books for Christmas. Here’s my wishlist.

    I still have a $30 giveaway to Amazon going so maybe I can help you get some of these books.

Leave a Reply

