All The Books I Can Read

1 girl….2 many books!

Top 10 Tuesday 16th December

on December 16, 2014

TTT

Top 10 Tuesday is a weekly feature created and hosted by The Broke & the Bookish. This week the topic is:

Top 10 Books I Read In 2014

  1. A Song Of Ice And Fire series, by George R.R. Martin. I finally got around to reading these earlier this year. Actually they helped get me through a very bad reading slump. I could sing their praises for paragraphs but everyone out there pretty much already knows how good they are. After I read the books I watched Game of Thrones seasons 1-4. The series is good – very good. But the books definitely help to really flesh out some of the characters, the relationships, the politics etc. I found that I understood much more having read the books.
  2. Every Word, by Ellie Marney. Quite probably the best YA book I’ve read in a long time. A clever story set in Melbourne, with teens who speak and act in a believable manner and realistic family relationships. And the chemistry between Mycroft and Rachel…woah.
  3. Deeper Water, by Jessie Cole. Beautiful writing and a moving story. It’s a hard book to describe, hard to do its poetry justice but it’s a story of isolation and sexual awakening. Absolutely one of the best written books of 2014 and one of my favourites.
  4. Island Of A Thousand Mirrors, by Nayomi Munaweera. This was a heartbreaking story of the Sri Lankan civil war and portrayed one of the most sympathetic insights into martyrdom I’ve read. It made me understand why some make this horrible choice.
  5. Nona & Me, by Clare Atkins. Another Aussie YA book. This one is set on a remote community in the Northern Territory and details the deep friendship of a young white Australian girl and an Indigenous Australian girl. They are so close they are family but then the Indigenous girl moves away and when she returns, they are teenagers. Much has changed and both struggle to reconcile the now with their closeness in the past.
  6. This House Of Grief, by Helen Garner. A deep look into a devastating tragedy that rocked Australia, the death of three boys who drowned in a dam after their father drove his car into it on the way back from an outing. Was it deliberate, the work of a man furious at his ex-wife for ending their marriage? Or did he really black out at the wheel in an unfortunate spot, like he claimed. This book is fascinating and very well done.
  7. Isla & the Happily Ever After, by Stephanie Perkins. Cute and fun. Stephanie Perkins makes me feel all of the feels.
  8. Big Little Lies, by Liane Moriarty. This book sucked me in right from the beginning. It’s such a well constructed tale of the politics of the school gate and how it escalated into a death. Liane Moriarty just gets better with each book she writes.
  9. Terms & Conditions, by Robert Glancy. I read this one so long ago I’d almost forgotten about it! But it was so cleverly written (like the terms and conditions of a contract with subclauses and footnotes, etc) and a great story. Definitely something quite different and very enjoyable.
  10. The Old School and Beams Falling, by P.M. Newton. The first two books of a series featuring a female police officer working a difficult beat in Sydney. Chosen for her Vietnamese heritage, it’s mostly ignored that Nhu “Ned” Kelly was born here and doesn’t speak the language or embrace the foreign culture. Set in the early 90s in a time of corruption, this is a series that pulls no punches.

I read many other really stellar books in 2014, some that I would include in this list were it Top 20 or 30 Tuesday. The ones I’ve chosen in the Top 10 are all there because they showed me something different, went that extra mile somehow or managed to stir up more in the way of thoughts and feelings.

5 responses to “Top 10 Tuesday 16th December

  1. Great list! Been hearing so many wonderful things about Stephanie Perkins’ books, I really need to get around to them (I read a short story by her though, and it was really cute xD)

    My TTT

  2. curlygeek04 says:

    I haven’t read any of these books, except for the first 3 Ice and Fire books — did you read the entire series this year? I keep hearing Big Little Lies is great.

  3. Stephanie Perkins makes me feel all of the feels too. Isla was such a wonderful conclusion to those books. 🙂
    My TTT!

  4. Sue Holmes says:

    I loved Stephanie Perking. Great list 🙂

  5. Pragya says:

    I haven’t read any of those and some I have never heard of but will be checking them all out now.

    Here’s my list – http://wp.me/p21FJY-1QB

Leave a Reply

