All The Books I Can Read

1 girl….2 many books!

October Reading Wrap Up

on November 1, 2014

Total Books Read: 29
Fiction: 27
Non-Fiction: 2
Library Books: 6
Books On My TBR List: 6
Books in a Series: 13
Authors I’d Never Read Before: 14
Male/Female Authors: 3/26
Kindle Books: 6
Books I Owned or Bought: 7
Favourite Book(s): Nona & Me by Clare Atkins, My Story by Julia Gillard.
Least Favourite Book(s):  Temptation by K.M. Golland
Books That Qualify For Challenges: 11

October was definitely a good reading month! I spent the first 8 days of it still on holidays and somehow managed to maintain the reading mojo when I arrived back home. It helped that I had lots of exciting books waiting for me when I got back, things that I couldn’t wait to read! I also had the freedom to read a lot of it in whatever order I wanted as a lot were library books that I’d been waiting to come in for me. I had less review books this month which meant that I could find time for other reads.

I read two really good non-fiction books this month, which is unusual for me – Helen Garner’s account of the strange and tragic case of Robert Farquharson called This House Of Grief and Julia Gillard’s My Story. Normally non-fiction/biography/memoirs are a bit of a struggle for me and I tend to read them in bits and pieces while I read other fiction books but I read both of these in record time.

In amazing fiction, Clare Atkins’ Nona & Me is a definite highlight. It’s set in a remote Aboriginal community in the Northern Territory and features the strong relationship that some of the ‘white’ people form with the Aboriginal families and how as teenagers, this familial bond can be harder to maintain. I absolutely loved this book – it’s beautifully written and it’s a story that really makes you see things from a different perspective.

In terms of books that I have that I’m looking forward to reading in November… Atlantia by Ally Condie, A Sudden Light by Garth Stein, Amnesia by Peter Carey and Us by David Nicholls are topping my TBR at the present moment!

NaNoWriMo starts today and although I’ve taken part every year since 2006, I have to admit I haven’t given it much thought this year. I’m still not sure whether or not I’m going to participate. There was one year in the past where I didn’t start until the 3rd day and still managed to finish successfully – I’ll just have to wait and see how I feel here throughout the day and if anything strikes.

Leave a Reply

