All The Books I Can Read

1 girl….2 many books!

Top 10 Tuesday 23rd September

on September 23, 2014

TTT

Top 10 Tuesday is hosted weekly by The Broke & the Bookish featuring a different literary topic each time. This week:

Top 10 Books On Your Fall Spring Reading List

  1. Hello From The Gillespies, by Monica McInerney. I love this author – I got to meet her when she was back in Australia for the launch of her last book and I got to tell her all about how it made me ugly cry. I’m really looking forward to a new book from her although I’m sure this one will be an emotional rollercoaster as well!
  2. Us, by David Nicholls. I received a copy of this one recently and it looks really intriguing. I’m interested to see how I find it because the other book that I attempted to read by this author, which a lot of people really seem to love, was a DNF for me.
  3. The 5th Wave The Infinite Sea by Rick Yancey. I wanted to read The 5th Wave when it was released but never actually got around to it. I received a copy of the second book for review this week so I’m going to use that as a really good excuse to go and pick up the first one and read them both together.
  4. The Woman Who Stole My Life, by Marian Keyes. I love her books and I’m excited about her new one coming out this year.
  5. Night Of A Thousand Stars, by Deanna Raybourn. I love Raybourn’s Lady Julia novels and I’m a little sad that they seem to have come to an end now that she’s switched publishers. Apparently this book, her last for MIRA does have some sort of closure for Lady Julia fans so I am interested to see what that is. Also I’m excited to read her forthcoming books for her new publisher, which are going to be Victorian mysteries I think.
  6. Amnesia, by Peter Carey. This is kind of a shameful confession, but I’ve never actually read a Peter Carey novel, although I have seen a movie made from one of his novels (yes, I know that doesn’t count). This one is sitting on my shelf at home and it sounds absolutely fascinating and I can’t wait to start it.
  7. Big Little Lies, by Liane Moriarty. I am dying to read this still!
  8. The Rosie Effect, by Graeme Simsion. Who didn’t love The Rosie Project? Am looking forward to finding out how Don copes with impending fatherhood.
  9. I Am Number Four, by Pittacus Lore. I received a copy of the most recent book in this series, The Revenge Of Seven and I’ve heard some pretty decent things about it so I figured it was time to start this series.
  10. Elizabeth Is Missing, by Emma Healey. I’ve heard some really interesting things about this and I have added it to my request list at my local library.

I always like to go back and look at my previous season’s Top 10 and see how I did. From my winter list, I read 5/10 of the books on my list which for me, is pretty good! Lists never work well for me because I never know what’s going to be turning up or whether or not things will be available. I’ve been buying a lot less from overseas and trying to stick to buying locally although that can get rather difficult when your town doesn’t even have a bookshop anymore. If, when the time comes to make a summer list and I look back on this one, I’ve read 5/10 I’ll be happy.

7 responses to “Top 10 Tuesday 23rd September

  1. I’m looking forward to The Rosie Effect too! I didn’t list it in my list this week as I don’t know when I’m going to get around to it, but I’m excited xD I’m also curious about Nicholls’ Us seeing as it was longlisted and all 🙂

    My TTT

  2. writenote1 says:

    Some great books there. I think you’ll love Big Little Lies.

    I must be the only person who has not read The Rosie Project!

  3. curlygeek04 says:

    Five out of ten on your last list is better than I did! I’m looking forward to Rosie Effect and Night of A Thousand Stars too. I’m jealous you got a copy of Us, hope you enjoy it!

  4. Lucy says:

    Looks like a great Spring reading plan to me! Us is also on my list, and you’ve got me very interested in The Gillespies. Hope you read Big Little Lies…so good! And yes yes yes to The Rosie Effect and Yancey’s series.
    Happy reading 🙂

  5. I still haven’t read The Rosie Project, but I definitely want to. I also need to try one of Liane Moriarty’s books, they all sound amazing. I’ve had them on my wish list forever.

  6. Sophia says:

    I’m looking forward to The Infinite Sea too. I don’t have Little Big Lies or Elizabeth Is Missing on my list but they’ve both been on my radar. The Rosie Effect is a brilliant sequel – Don is such a character!

  7. Great list 🙂
    I’ve heard of a lot of these before, adding them to my TBR now.

Leave a Reply

