All The Books I Can Read

1 girl….2 many books!

Top 10 Tuesday 26th August

on August 26, 2014

TTT

Top 10 Tuesday is a weekly meme created and hosted by the people at The Broke & the Bookish featuring a different books and reading theme each week. Today we are talking:

Top 10 Books I Really Want To Read But Don’t Own Yet

  1. Big Little Lies, by Liane Moriarty. I have been seeing this book everywhere and I already know quite a few people that have read it and seriously loved it. It’s been heavily promoted overseas and has already propelled Moriarty to the top of the best seller’s list. In fact I’ve seen much more about it coming from the US publisher than her local Australian publisher. I’ve read quite a few of Moriarty’s other books and really enjoyed them so I cannot wait to read this one.
  2. Landline, by Rainbow Rowell. This is Rowell’s fourth book and all 3 of her others have been faves of mine so I definitely need to read this one and soon!
  3. Isla And The Happily Ever After, by Stephanie Perkins. Who hasn’t been waiting for this one since Anna and Lola?
  4. The Silkworm, by Robert Galbraith/JK Rowling. I read the first Cormoran Strike book, The Cuckoo’s Calling when it was revealed that the writer was actually JK Rowling. As a confirmed non-Harry Potter reader, it was my first Rowling book and I found it a pretty good read. I read the first one from my library and I’ve requested this one but I’m 18th in the queue so I think it’ll probably be a little while.
  5. We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves, by Karen Joy Fowler. Every year I pick out a few books from the longlists of various prizes in an attempt to work my way up to one day maybe tackling a whole list. Basically it never happens – I might read one, two if there’s some sort of literary miracle. This one was one of the books I picked to give a go from this year’s Man Booker longlist.
  6. Razorhurst, by Justine Larbalestier. Another book that was released to much talk and praise recently and I’ve never actually read anything by Larbalestier. 1930’s, mob bosses, Sydney: what’s not to like?
  7. When The Night Comes, by Favel Parrett. This is Australian author Parrett’s, second book and it’s actually released today and will be launched later this week at the Melbourne Writer’s Fest. It’s set in Hobart around a young girl named Isla who one day sees a supply ship to Antarctica docking. There’s a sailor from the ship who befriends Isla’s mother and shares stories of Antarctica, where he comes from in Denmark, etc. I love anything that features Antarctica in any way, so I was always going to want this one! And Favel Parrett writes so beautifully.
  8. This House of Grief, by Helen Garner. Another fantastic Aussie author with a new release. This House of Grief tackles the very real Robert Farquharson case that gripped the nation in recent years, playing out the characters in the courtroom with the search for truth and justice. I’m very interested to read this.
  9. Since You’ve Been Gone, by Morgan Matson. Yes, I still haven’t read Matson’s second book even though I’ve owned it for years, because I know it will make me ugly cry. Now I need to buy this one, which was released a couple of months ago. I’m pretty sure I’ll end up reading this one way before Second Chance Summer.
  10. The Bone Clocks, by David Mitchell. Another I picked out from the Man Booker list – looks super interesting and the version I’ve seen is beautiful.

So there are my 10 Books I Want To Read But Don’t Own Yet. To be honest, some of these I may get from the library but I’ll definitely be ordering some of them at some stage. I am a bit behind in my reading at the moment so I haven’t actually purchased a new book for a while….but that never lasts long!

13 responses to “Top 10 Tuesday 26th August

  1. Maggi Andersen says:

    Liane and I were at university together. She had a remarkable unique writing voice then. Good to see her doing so well.

  2. persephonenich says:

    I was given Big Little Lies for my birthday recently – and can’t wait to read it. Great list!

  3. ChrissiReads says:

    I have read a few of the books on your list. I really liked Big Little Lies. Liane Moriarty is a great writer!

  4. Isla And The Happily Ever After is also my my list 🙂 Great list!

  5. Belle says:

    I really want Isla too, and I’ve been meaning to get Since You’ve Been Gone since it came out!

  6. The House of Grief sounds excellent, but Bone Clocks is the one I’m after!

  7. ISLA ISLA ISLA. GET IT GET IT GET IT.
    Haha it’s undeniably the best Perkin’s book! 😀
    I also need to read Landline & Since You’ve Been Gone ^.^

  8. I’ve only read two of the books on your list, but I really loved them! Isla and SYBG are both incredible contemporaries and I cannot wait to hear your thoughts on them!

    – Tabitha @ Tabitha’s Book Blog | My TTT

  9. I actually JUST picked up Isla so it just missed making my list. I still have to read it though and can’t wait!!

    Nicole @ The Quiet Concert

  10. I just finished reading Isla last week and wow it was worth the wait. SO SO GOOD! Both Landline and Since You’ve Been Gone didn’t make my list but should have done because I want to read them both so much! Great list! 🙂

  11. curlygeek04 says:

    I’m with you on Landline, The Silkworm, and anything by David Mitchell. The Larbalestier book sounds good too…

Leave a Reply

