All The Books I Can Read

1 girl….2 many books!

Top 10 Tuesday 12th August

on August 12, 2014

TTT

Top 10 Tuesday is a weekly feature created and hosted by the girls at The Broke & The Bookish featuring a different bookish theme each week. This week….

Top 10 Books I’m Not Sure I Want To Read!

  1. The Luminaries, by Eleanor Catton. I bought this last year. It’s the winner of the 2013 Man Booker Prize and every now and then I go through this desire to read prize winners and the shortlists. I don’t know why, because most of the time it never works out. This book is ginormous and I read the first page not long after I bought it, went “Yep, no!” and put it back on the shelf and haven’t looked at it since. I’ve heard a few people get to the end, who invested a lot of time and were like “Bleugh”. So yeah. Not sure about that one.
  2. Wolf Hall, by Hillary Mantel. I’ve mentioned this book quite often on my blog. I’ve owned it for at least four years. Not long after I bought it, I started reading it. I got to page 30 and gave up because I was bored and there my bookmark has stayed ever since. It was my bookclub book a couple of months ago and I had such good intentions of going to give it another go but I just didn’t get to it. I have heard it’s brilliant of course (another Man Booker Prize winner, naturally) but you have to slog through the past 50-100p and I don’t know if I can be bothered anytime soon.
  3. The Rest of the Mortal Instruments Series, by Cassandra Clare. I don’t own all the books, but I think I have the first 4 or 5. I’ve read the first one and it was okay. But I think the problem is so much of this series has basically been spoiled for me everywhere that I just don’t know if there’s any point actually going and reading the rest of it myself when I already know a lot about it.
  4. The Rest of the Outlander series, by Diana Gabaldon. I read the first book at much urging a couple of years ago and was very underwhelmed. I didn’t love Jamie, like it appears pretty much everyone else did and there were several incidences in the book that just..didn’t sit well with me. I’ve told that the first book isn’t the best and you need to keep going but…just not sure I want to commit to that big of an investment.
  5. The Secret Diary of Lizzie Bennet, by Bernie Su and Kate Rorick. I was sent this for review and it ties into the Lizzie Bennet diaries on youtube but I haven’t watched that either and I have a really poor record of liking adaptations and manipulations.
  6. Every classic I’ve ever bought at some stage. I go through moods when I’m buying books. I’m swayed by a pretty cover or a great synopsis and sometimes, because I feel like I have gaps in my reading that I need to go back and fill. I don’t have a great relationship with classics but I keep collecting them because every now and then I find a real gem. But I tend to swing wildly between desperately wanting to read them and wondering what the heck they’re even doing on my shelves.
  7. Second Chance Summer, by Morgan Matson. Okay I’ve owned this for a couple of years and I absolutely loved Amy & Roger. So why haven’t I read it? Because all I hear about are how hard people ugly cried when reading this book. If a book makes me ugly cry unexpectedly, I’m okay with that. But I have to be in a certain mood to go into a book knowing that I’m most likely going to bawl my eyes out. And so far, I haven’t found that mood yet.
  8. The Signature Of All Things, by Elizabeth Gilbert. This is another book I was sent for review (months ago now) and I’ve never really been inspired to pick it up despite the fact that most things I’ve heard about it are extremely positive. I don’t know why, just doesn’t really grab me?
  9. One Plus One, by Jojo Moyes. Can anything live up to the amazingness that was Me Before You? I’m not really sure.
  10. This Is What Happy Looks Like, by Jennifer E Smith. I love the Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight but I’ve also read three other books by Smith and….didn’t really love any of them. Some of them I only just liked. I don’t know whether to keep trying, because there might be another TSPoLaFS or just give up.

I have a heap of other books on my shelves that I was desperate to read when I bought them and now they’ve been sitting there so long that my interest has waned. I keep them though, in the hope that interest comes back in the future.

6 responses to “Top 10 Tuesday 12th August

  1. Anne says:

    I say skip SECOND CHANCE SUMMER. If you liked Matson’s first book you’ll be disappointed.

  2. Hahaha, I DNFed The Luminaries so fast. The faux-Dickensian style was way too pretentious. Much rather read the real thing than a so-so imitation.

  3. Jess says:

    Like yourself I absoutely adored the Statistical Probablity of Love At First Sight… and although I’ve brought her other novels, I haven’t had any inclination to read them since that very first book buying spree.

  4. Cait says:

    I’m with you on Cassandra Clare, yep definitely. I’ve read 2 of her books and LOVE them, but I’m worried because they get sooo big and I don’t see a lot of mega-positive reviews for them. Which is sad. I want to like them!! I’ll get up enough courage to finish the series eventually. 😉
    Here’s my TTT!

  5. I tried one of Cassandra Clare’s books too and just did not enjoy it. Thanks for sharing 🙂

    Here are my Top Ten!

  6. I’m the same way about prize winners, especially the Man Booker. I know I don’t usually like super literary books, but I always think I might change my mind if I read a prize winner, and then I’m not a fan. I do really want to read The Luminaries though.
    Second Chance Summer is REALLY good, but it’ll make you cry like you said. I have to be in that mood too.
    My TTT

Leave a Reply

